Smoked mackerel with baked potato and discovering a boat wreck!

The weekend was so lovely, warm and we had a quiet day on Sunday. We ate a late breakfast, were pottering around in the garden and taking it easy. In the afternoon we headed for our favorite beach. The beach is almost always empty but this day there was a kite surfer. I have always wanted to try it but when I felt the water I wasn’t so sure anymore, it was cold! Still, it looked like a lot of fun!

 

31March_Windsurfer

 

 

The tide was very low and all of the sudden we saw a boat wreck. You would never have known it was there if it the tide wasn’t so low. I was so excited I walked faster to get there before the tide would turn and cover it again.

 

31March_Wreck

 

It is a big wreck and could it have been the remains of a once proud viking ship? Either way getting over there I didn’t realize but all of the sudden I realized my feet were sinking in the mud! Not too far but the shoes were a mess!

 

As part of my fish eating spree I had a smoked mackerel in the fridge. They are the perfect fridge food as it keeps for a couple of days and goes with pretty much anything. I had a request to have the mackerel with potatoes in some shape. After some thinking I decided to make a coarse mackerel pate to go with them. one of my friends, Andy makes the best jacket potatoes so inspired by Andy I did a very crispy skin on the potatoes and it was delicious.

 

I started with the potatoes as they took the longest time. The potatoes we bought were so large I cut them in half lengthwise to make the cooking time shorter.

 

Baked potatoes with crispy skin

preparation time 5 minutes

cooking time 60 minutes

oven 170C or 340F

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 baking potatoes
  • oil
  • salt & pepper

Rinse and pat dry the potatoes. Cut them in half lengthwise. Add oil, salt and pepper to the potatoes and bake them  until they are soft. If you have a microwave it will be faster and you can finish the potatoes off in the oven to make the skin crispy, it will be a lot faster.

 

Bakes potato 31March_BakedPotatoes

 

Coarse mackerel pate 

preparation time 15 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 2-3 

Ingredients

  • 1 smoked mackerel
  • 1 celery stalk
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 bunch of parsley
  • 1/2 yellow pepper
  • 1 avocado
  • 1/2 lime, juice and zest
  • 3 heaped tbsp Greek yogurt (more if you like)
  • salt & pepper

Bone the mackerel and break it up gently with a fork. Chop the celery, pepper, parsley and the onion before adding it to the mackerel with the yogurt and the lime, zest and juice. Mix it and taste with salt and pepper.

 

31March_MackerelFilling

 

Mackerel bring so much flavor and the baked potato with it’s crispy and salted skin was great together, a perfect combination for a weeknight meal.

Comments
2 Responses to “Smoked mackerel with baked potato and discovering a boat wreck!”
  1. Corina says:

    I really love the sound of your baked potato filling. I also like to add oil, salt and pepper when baking the potatoes as it does make them go lovely and crispy in the oven.

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Corina

      I hadn’t even thought about doing that before but it was delicious! Potato and smoked mackerel was a great combination 🙂

Leave a Reply

