Crispy duck hash

Sometimes I have a serious lack of inspiration of what to cook for dinner. Today I needed something in the supermarket and as I was wandering about I saw some free range duck! Too good to pass on, it was duck for dinner, the legs to be more precise.

 

I love crispy duck but after reading some recipes I have worked out a healthier way to cook them and still getting that crispy texture. They cook for quite a while so it is perfect when you are doing other things around the house. One duck leg is enough per person if you are serving the duck as a hash or a salad but if you are serving the duck as a main meat use 2 duck legs per person.

 

Rosemary infused crispy duck

preparation time 5 minutes

cooking time 2.5 hr

oven 150C or 300F

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 duck legs
  • 1 bunch of rosemary
  • oil
  • salt & pepper

Rinse the duck legs and pat them dry. Rub them with oil and add salt and pepper all around. Place the rosemary in a roasting tray and place a non stick baking paper below to catch the fat in and to save the dishes as it is so much faster to clean.

Place in the oven and just leave them there for 2.5 hours.

 

I got started a little late so I did a starter with gravlax, cured salmon. On the news today was a new recommendation that we should eat not five a day of fruit and veg but ten. That could be a bit of a challenge but I thought I had better load up the veg. I mixed some Greek natural yogurt with garlic and added some lime zest and we ate it with the salmon.

 

01April_SalmonStarter

 

I wanted to make crispy duck hash and again, I felt that I should load up on the vegetables! I might have gone a little crazy here but duck is so rich it worked together.

Prepare the vegetables and when the duck is done let it cool whilst the vegetables are cooking.

 

Cooked crispy duck legs 01April_CookedDuck

 

Crispy duck hash 

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 15 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 cooked crispy duck legs
  • 3 medium potatoes
  • 1 onion
  • 2 broccoli florets
  • yellow pepper
  • zucchini
  • 1 tsp black sesame seeds
  • 1 tsp paprika powder
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • salt & pepper to taste

I did use vegetables I had in the fridge. Chop all the vegetables.

01April_ChoppedVeg

 

Put a little oil in the pan and start by pan frying the potatoes. Add the spices and when the potatoes are just about cooked, this should take 5-8 minutes add the remaining vegetables.

 

Potatoes cooking 01April_Potatoes

 

Continue to cook on high heat for the remaining time and turn every now and then. When the veg are cooked turn the heat off, use two forks and pull the duck. The skin will be crispy and the meat will be fall of the bone tender, just like crispy duck.

 

01April_CrispyDuckHash

 

 

I found some cucumber cress among the micro herbs at the veg monger. They have quite an impressive selection at a very low cost. I used the cucumber cress for garnish, it tastes just like cucumber! If I find seeds I might try and grow some, unless it is just tiny cucumber plant leaves. I liked the crispy duck with the soft vegetables and the hint of spices. I ate it with the last of the garlic yogurt sauce, it was a nice dinner.

 

Comments
2 Responses to “Crispy duck hash”
  1. Corina says:

    It sounds beautiful. I love duck but unfortunately my husband doesn’t so I rarely cook with it.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Corina

      Thank you 🙂
      Mine is quite the same, the crispy duck is the only one I cook 🙂 Maybe it is the slow cooking and the crispiness..

Leave a Reply

