Fillet of beef rice paper rolls and a truffle honey glazed gammon

A month ago a new market opened. Sadly I rushed off one day too soon and on the actual market day I was away. It is a monthly market and this time I made it! The reason why I thought it was so important is that it is an artisan food market. This Friday past I finally made it. It is the first Friday of every month and having gone, I will do my best to be around for the next one.

 

There was a range of stall holders, exotic meats, butchers, cakes and cookies, tapenade and olives, breads and well you get the picture! It wasn’t large but it had more than enough to fill my shopping bag! One of the stalls was Laurie Wakenham, a Canterbury butcher that had some very good looking meat. I haven’t had beef for quite a while and I could not resist some amazing looking fillet. I wanted to make beef canapes of some sort and a little would go a long way! I wasn’t sure what I was going to make but I was sure I would think of something. I picked up some locally produced vegetables, a couple of the most amazing cookies and I bought some gammon as well. I was intrigued to find smoked shitake mushrooms, it had never occurred to me before to smoke mushrooms so I felt I had to get some.

 

05April_SmokedMushrooma

 

Honey truffle glazed gammon 

I cooked the gammon that night. The butcher who sold it to me said he boils the gammon, cuts the rind off and then makes a honey glaze. I thought that sounded just like my kind of food and I gently poached it in barley simmering water for an hour. I added carrot, onion, celery, garlic, star anise ad a cinnamon stick to the water for flavor. When it was cooked I cut the rid off as advised and glazed it with honey flavored with truffle. It just melted in my mouth and the little that was left was eaten with much anticipation as brunch the next day!

 

04April_Gammon

 

The meat was juicy and the truffle honey was delicious with the gammon.

 

After much deliberation and even consulting with a foodie friend regarding the beef I decided to make rice paper rolls. They are very light and you can put basically anything in them. Usually the filling would be rice noodles, vegetables, mint and prawns. I wanted to use the beef so I made a slightly more unconventional filling. I did another batch of watercress pesto, see recipe here and this time I added a chilli as well and it gave it a very nice heat kick without taking over the flavor from the watercress.

 

Beef filled rice paper wraps

preparation time 20 minutes

cooking time 3-5 minutes

serves 4 as a canape/starter

Ingredients

 

  • 2 thin slices of beef fillet
  •   watercress & chilli pesto
  • mint leaves, 2/wrap
  • 1/4 grated carrot
  • 1 avocado
  •  2 spring onions
  • 1 celery stick
  • 1/4 fresh mango
  • 1 piece of cucumber
  • 1 chilli
  • mushrooms, I used smoked shitake mushrooms
  • oil for the beef
  • salt & pepper for the beef
  • rice paper wrappers, dried

The first thing I did was to start the preparations, this is key for this dish as it can’t hang around for too long.

Start by cutting the celery, the avocado, the mango, the spring onions and the cucumber julienne, match stick size. De seed the chilli and cut it fine and slice the end of the spring onions.

 

05April_Veg

 

Peel and grate the carrot.

 

Rub oil on to the meat and then salt and pepper. Place in a hot pan and sear on the outside. Take it off the heat and set aside. Once cooled slice it for the wraps.

 

Bring water to the boil and place in a bowl. Dunk one rice paper at the time and place on a chopping board. Take it up as soon as it is soft.

Place 2 mint leaves on the rice paper and then watercress pesto.

 

05April_Mint&Pesto

 

Continue with the other ingredients but make sure not to put too much filling on or they won’t close.

 

05April_Filling

 

Fold over once, do half a roll, fold in the sides and finally close, I find this the easiest way to do it. I sliced the shitake mushrooms thinly and pan fried them.

 

Dipping sauce 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp mirin
  • 1/2 chilli chopped fine
  • thinly sliced spring onion
  • grated fresh ginger

Mix everything and serve. Sprinkle over the cooked shitake mushrooms. If you don’t have shitake mushrooms use button mushrooms. The ginger and the chilli added so much flavor, next time I will serve the dipping sauce with a spoon so I can spoon some in the wrap!

 

05April_RicePaperRolls

 

I did 2 each for us and that was a perfect snack. This is a dish that is all about preparation, once that is done they just need to be assembled and they are ready to serve!

 

I am bringing these to the lovely Angie, host of the lovely blog The Novice Gardeners blog challenge Fiesta Friday. I think it is good party food and perfect for sharing! I have also added this to Karen, the host of the all inspiring blog Lavender and Lovages blog challenge Cooking with Herbs.

 

FoodFiestaFridayCookingWithHerbs

Comments
14 Responses to “Fillet of beef rice paper rolls and a truffle honey glazed gammon”
  1. Hilda says:

    So generous of you to bring not one but two delicious dishes to Fiesta Friday. Poaching the gammon with those spices is noteworthy – and those rice rolls with spicy beef filling are amazing. Great party food!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Hilda

      thank you for your very lovely comment and I am glad you liked it! 🙂 I will do a lot more of the rice paper wraps this summer I think!

  2. Patty Nguyen says:

    Your rolls look great, Petra! I always spoon dipping sauces into my wraps, too! 😀

  3. chefjulianna says:

    Hi Petra! Your rolls are wonderful! I think this is perfect party food. I’m so glad that you have brought this to the party and would like to try your recipe. But since they are here in front of me, I’m going to load up my plate right now! 😀 Wow!

  4. ediblethings says:

    Beaytiful photos, as always Petra. I doscovered that you can still crisp the skin of a gammon for crackling, after you’ve removdd it. You need to salt a d spice it as normal, but it does take ages – almost as long as the joint itself.
    Did you buy the truffled honey at the same market? It sounds amazing

    • petra08 says:

      hi Mel

      Thank you 🙂 Aha, I didn’t even think of making crackling (unusual for me) and will for sure next time!! 🙂 I bought the truffle honey at another market, I can’t remember where but it is just gorgeous with cheese as well!

  5. WOW! Petra, this looks amazing and with such WONDERFUL ingredients too! Thanks for linking up to Cooking with Herbs! Karen

    • petra08 says:

      hi Karen

      thank you, I am so glad you like it 🙂 The mint wasn’t integrated too much but added a lovely flavor! Thank you for hosting Cooking with Herbs, it is brilliant 🙂

  6. saucygander says:

    This sounds absolutely swoon-worthy, that honey gammon!! I wish I could actually reach through the screen and try some of your rice paper rolls, since I can never say no to them! 😀

    • petra08 says:

      hi Saucy

      thank you 🙂 I am so glad you liked it. We did eat a lot of that gammon ham and the little that was left over quickly went the following day! 🙂 The chilli pesto was better than I thought in the rice paper rolls, I might need to get some more beef and make some more!

  7. Ngan R. says:

    I love rice paper wraps (spring rolls with fresh seafood mostly), and your beef rolls looks delicious! I bet they made for quite a satisfying meal. This is definitely a great item to bring to a party!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Ngan

      I love them too, they are so light and still so satisfying. I have only had them with prawns before but beef was delicious 🙂

Leave a Reply

