Pancetta wrapped prawns and lamb kebabs

I love to barbecue. Our new garden invites to sitting outside, weather permitting and I can’t stop myself at any given opportunity to cook outside!

The sun was out the other day and I knew it was barbecue time! I headed to the market and got some lovely king prawns, responsibly sourced and from the Mediterranean. I got some lamb mince from the butcher and headed home, it was time to eat.

I had cooked stuffed prawns previously under the grill but this time I cooked them on the barbecue.You can see the recipe here. I changed the recipe slightly, no salt and with some more chilli, garlic and some added black sesame seeds. I wrapped them in wild garlic and pancetta.

 

Prawn filling 13April_StuffedKIngPrawn

 

 

Prepared prawns 13April_StuffedRawKingPrawns

 

Wrapped prawns on the barbecue for cooking.

 

13April_PrawnsOnBBQ

 

Cooked prawns 13April_BBQPrawns

 

We ate them as a starter and they were delicious and they were even better with the wild garlic.

 

Lamb kebabs

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 10 minutes 

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 600 gram or 21 oz lamb mince
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 pack of feta cheese
  • 1 chilli
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 6-8 lemon grass stalks
  • salt & pepper

Mix the lamb with and egg and crumbled feta cheese. Chop the chilli fine and add with the zest of the lemon. Last add the spices and make sure it is mixed, shape kebabs around lemon grass stalks.

 

13April_LambKebabs

 

 

The sun was really warm and even the dogs came out to bask in the lovely weather.

 

13April_SunbathingDog

 

The kebabs came out crispy on the outside and the feta cheese and the lemon flavor with the lamb worked.

 

13April_LambKebabsCooked

 

I did barbecue some sausages and lamb chops as well and when we ate the dinner with a crunchy salad I put some pineapple on the barbecue that we ate with cayenne pepper and sea salt.

 

13April_Pineapple

 

As you cook the pineapple it releases it’s juices and it is perfect with the hot and salt and I had managed to cook a three course meal on the barbecue! I am hoping for a long, hot summer and plenty of barbecue time.

 

 

 

 

Comments
9 Responses to “Pancetta wrapped prawns and lamb kebabs”
  1. Hilda says:

    We look forward to eating outside too. Not happening yet, but soon I hope. Your dishes look so good.

  2. Ngan R. says:

    Wow, Petra, both the prawns and the kebabs look awesome! I would be like your dogs, too, basking in the sun, after eating my fill of these mouthwatering eats.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Ngan

      thank you for your lovely comment 🙂 it was a lovely barbecue and yes I was almost tempted to lay down on the lawn myself!

  3. bacon doesn’t make anything better, said no one, ever! Looks delicious.

  4. alifemoment says:

    They look delicious 🙂

Leave a Reply

