Shitake and fig vinegar dumplings

I saw some fig vinegar at Isaura’s, the cafe and deli down the road. It tasted just as amazing as it looked and it made me think of dumplings. I don’t know why but the combination sounded too good to miss. It was Easter and we were invited to our neighbors for Easter dinner and what better to bring than my experimental dumplings. It was a a gamble but I was quite sure it would work out.

 

Fig Vinegar 19April_FigVinegar

I wanted to make vegetarian dumplings and settled on shitake mushrooms and black skinned tofu. To counter the sweetness of the tofu I added some salty cheeses, feta cheese and parmesan. Shitake mushrooms have more texture and flavor than button mushrooms.

 

A shitake mushroom 19April_ShitakeMushroom

 

Shitake and fig vinegar dumplings  preparation time 15 minutes  cooking time 8 minutes  serves 5 as a starter  Ingredients

  • 8 shitake mushrooms
  • 1 piece of black skinned tofu, sliced
  • 1/2 pack of feta cheese
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup fine grated parmesan cheese
  • 1 small handful of pistachio nuts
  • 2 tbsp fig vinegar
  • chives
  • cracked black pepper
  • 1 tbsp cream

For the mushrooms

  • 1 tbsp cooking oil
  • 1 tbsp mirin
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce

Chop the chives fine. Crumble the feta in to a bowl and add the grated parmesan cheese. Chop the shitake mushrooms fine.

 

19April_ShitakeMushrooms

 

Place the mushrooms in a pan and when it is starting to heat add the oil, fry briefly and then add the soy sauce and mirin. When the liquid has cooked in let cool slightly and add to the mixture.

 

19April_BowlofIngredients

 

The black skinned tofu looked almost like the shitake mushrooms when chopped.

 

19April_BlackTofuChopped

 

I didn’t pre cook the tofu, just simply added it to the mixture and mixed everything, taste with the fig vinegar and cracked black pepper.

 

Place a teaspoon of filling on each dumpling skin.

19April_DumplingFilling

Wet the edges with water and crimp the dumplings.

 

19April_RawDumplings

 

Make a dipping sauce by chopping chilli fine and add to equal measures of soy sauce and rice wine vinegar, finish by grating some fresh ginger in to it.

 

Dumplings19April_CookedDumplings

 

This was an Easter dinner so I boiled some quails eggs soft and served them with a pinch of truffle salt.

 

19April_QuailsEggs

The dumplings came next as a starter and E had made Mexican chicken with delicious rice and salsa.

 

19April_MexicanChicken

Another neighbor had bought some cheese, I can’t think of any better way to end the lovely meal.

 

19April_CheeseBoard

I had too much cheese, the third helping of the chicken and some delicious wine made me feel like I had a food baby but it was such a great evening!

Comments
2 Responses to “Shitake and fig vinegar dumplings”
  1. I LOVE dumplings, and your recipe is so unique. It begs to be tried! 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Angie

      me too! and since I have discovered that they are not that difficult to make I can’t seem to stop 🙂 I loved the addition of the fig vinegar, it is just beautiful 🙂 and I am sure it would go with some of your lovely foraged foods!

Leave a Reply

