An unexpected treasure – local truffle

I love to buy local produce and discover everything that grows in the region. Summer always brings so many delicious treats but I was very surprised when I found a small bowl of truffles for sale at the fishmonger! They were picked about seven miles from here (and not in France, that we can see on a clear day), so very local indeed! I just had to buy one! I gently carried my treasure home thinking of what to make.

 

18May_Truffle

 

I decided to pair the truffle with eggs, simple and classic. I placed the truffle in a jar with the eggs, truffle can get through the egg shell and add flavor by just being placed next to the truffle.

 

18May_TruffleEggs

 

I chopped up the left over barbecue meats and potatoes, see recipe and marinades here and pan fried it.

 

18May_Hash

 

I chopped up some vegetables and then fried the egg white in a very thin layer. I saved the egg yolk. I made an egg roll with the hash inside, added the vegetables and added thinly sliced, locally foraged truffle on top!

 

18May_EggHash

 

It was a lovely brunch and what a way to start the day!

 

 

Comments
6 Responses to “An unexpected treasure – local truffle”
    • petra08 says:

      hi Dimple

      Thank you 🙂 I was really happy about it and wonder if I can train my dogs to find truffles but I am not sure they would be interested! 🙂

  1. Corina says:

    How lucky! I’ve never used fresh truffle but I’d love to have a go.

  2. Lucky you! I’ve never made anything with fresh truffle, but if I ever get my hands on any I will try that egg flavoring technique. Thanks for sharing!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Ada

      I have never bought one myself, too expensive and this was a bit of a bargain, I carried it home so carefully! 🙂

Leave a Reply

