Sweet as chocolate cake, A lovely blog award

I woke up one  morning and before I did anything else I checked online what was going on with the world. I was very happy to read that the lovely Julianna, host of the delicious blog Foodie On Board had nominated me for One Lovely blog award! It made me jump out of bed with a smile, what a way to start the day! Julianna’s blog is full of unique and inspirational recipes and beautiful pictures. I often get stuck (and hungry) reading through her diverse recipes such as Quinoa salad with saffron, drunken figs and pistachios and Pumpkin pie with Orange trim, it all looks and sounds delicious.

I love to blog and I love to read other blogs and I can’t say enough that I never thought I would find such a great community and network. Thank you Julianna, I am so pleased to accept!

 

one-lovely-blog-award1

 

There are so many talented foodies out there and I am so happy to be part of the blogging community and meet fellow foodies!

 

I might be better at listening than talkign about myself but here are seven things about myself:

  • I adore foraging and growing my own veg, saying that it is actually M who grows and me who cooks, isn’t that great team work?!
  • If I don’t have anything on for the day I love to eat cheese with raw onion. The combination is delicious and the result is a a breath that most likely could kill a dragon, so that is reserved for visit free days around the house!
  • I love to cook with things I have never cooked before, my latest discovery is Freekeh that became a risotto type(ish), delicious dish, see recipe here.
  • I am a walking mosquito magnet and have always been. If there is a mosquito, even just one within a mile radius it will find me.
  • My most enjoyable and memorable holiday read is Jay Rayner’s A Greedy Man in a Hungry World, a brilliant look at the food industry on a global scale. It makes you stop and think about what you buy and eat!
  • My favorite author is Oscar Wilde. I just love his style and language and his novels are just ever so slightly wicked but I will actually read pretty much anything.
  • If I could only eat one type of food for the rest of my life I would choose sushi

 

Here are the bloggers I would like to pass this award on to, if you have time and if you haven’t seen them please have a look and I hope you will be as inspired as I am reading them! I actually picked 8 blogs, there are so many to choose from, 7 seemed impossible! There are many more worth mentioning but these always inspire, they cover a lot of foods and even if you don’t want to cook, head over and enjoy some mouth watering pictures!

 

Mel, Ediblethings

Ngan, Ngan Made It 

Hilda, Along the Grapevine

Angie, The Novice Gardener 

Prudy, butter basil and breadcrumbs 

Patty, PATTY.NGUYEN

Sebby, Articuleat

Saucy, Saucy Gander

 

The rules for the award:

  1. Add the “One Lovely Blog Award” image to your post
  2. Share seven things about you.
  3. Pass the award on to seven nominees.
  4. Thank the person who nominated you.
  5. Inform the nominees by posting on their blogs.

 

 

 

Comments
23 Responses to “Sweet as chocolate cake, A lovely blog award”
  1. Congrats: ) yup awards always motivates

  2. Congratulations on the award, Petra! It’s well-deserved as you are one lovely blogger with a very lovely blog! 🙂 You and I have a lot in common, including a love for foraging and growing and trying out new food item. And unfortunately for both of us, we’re two mosquito magnets! Thanks for nominating my blog! ❤

    • petra08 says:

      hi Angie

      ha ha oh I am sorry we share the mosquitoes! It is amazing how they always find you! Glad we also share the foraging, growing and cooking. I was gutted as discovered the other day that the fox cubs had completely destroyed my sweetcorn plants! They have simply vanished! Hopefully the garden is now fox proofed and the rest of the veg should be safe 🙂

      • Oh, no! Last year I had resident groundhog. Posted his photos on my blog, too. Completely demolished my peas, lettuce, and cabbage. He may be back. Not sure what’s nibbling at my pansies. I start everything late this year hoping he’d move on to greener pastures. I can only hope. If not, I have to cage up my plants.

      • petra08 says:

        it is always a balance, things are now caged up, we tried to make it look as natural as possible, will put some pics up on the blog 🙂 I hope your groundhog has moved on!

  3. saucygander says:

    I’m a mosquito magnet too! Alas. We also share a love of trying new food items, isn’t it fun? 🙂 Congratulations on the very well deserved award, and thank you so much for the nomination!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Saucy

      Thank you 🙂 I love your blog and you use a lot of spices I don’t use on a regular basis, I love to read about it and lovely pics! I didn’t know there are so many mosquito magnets among us, best make a dish with lots of garlic and see if that helps! 🙂

  4. Nancy says:

    Congratulations on your One Lovely Blog award, Petra! So nice to learn a little more about you through your facts. 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Nancy

      Thank you 🙂 I have to admit it did take me a while to find 7 things that I thought might be remotely interesting 🙂

  5. Hilda says:

    Congratulations on the award and many thanks for the nomination. It seems gardening, foraging and cooking go hand in hand – not to mention blogging. I have got maybe a little too ambitious in the garden this year and the talk of critters makes me nervous. Almost as nervous as another drought. If I disappear for any time, I am probably hauling water.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Hilda

      I hope you won’t get affected, I will miss the sweetcorn but have to admit that the fox cubs are very cute! 🙂 and I hope no drought this summer for either one of us 🙂

  6. Patty Nguyen says:

    Congrats, Petra! You have a wonderful blog your award is much deserved! 😀

  7. Emma says:

    Congratulations 🙂 I too attract mosquitos from miles away, whats up with that…lol

  8. sarahgiebens says:

    Congratulations!! I could eat sushi for the rest of my life too 😀 And the mosquitos… I know what you mean but if my mom is around, she’ll be the unlucky 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Sarah
      How great to have a super mosquito magnet with you 🙂 I have a friend like that, I still get bitten but not quite as much!
      Thank you and yes I miss having a good sushi place nearby and always indulge when I can! 🙂

      • sarahgiebens says:

        My mom doesn’t like her “role” that much :p
        A good sushi place really is great! I’m lucky to have one. It is by far the best sushi I have ever had!
        Maybe you can start your own sushi place 😉

      • petra08 says:

        Hmm I have to admit I have never thought of having my own sushi place 🙂 I think I might be more inclined to love having them nearby and you are so lucky 🙂
        And no my friend doesn’t like it either, she got more bites than me but I still got bitten! Together on holiday we have an impressive arsenal and it doesn’t always help 🙂

      • sarahgiebens says:

        Oh yes you are totally right about that! It’s way more fun to have a sushi place nearby than to own one…
        Now I have this vision of you guys with a lot of anti mosquito weapons and a uniform :p

      • petra08 says:

        hi Sarah

        you make me laugh!:) that sounds a lot more fun than reality!

      • sarahgiebens says:

        Glad I could make you laugh 😀

Leave a Reply

