Ginger poached salmon with mushroom rice

I love mushrooms, on their own, as a side dish, stuffed, in salads… you name it! I have always loved mushroom rice and thought there must be a way to get more mushroom flavor in to the rice than just cooking them separate and then mixing them. I have to admit I have actually thought this every time I have a curry and it was time to experiment. I got some white button mushrooms, some jasmine rice as I was in the mood for some white rice. Usually I would go for brown or black but the jasmine rice on the shelf seemed to tempt me this time!

 

Salmon seemed like a good match. I wanted a very light dinner so I brought chicken stock to a boil and added chunks of ginger. I brought it boil for a few minutes and let it stand for about 10 minutes when preparing the rice. I rinsed the salmon and set aside.

 

Mushroom rice 

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 30 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 dl jasmin rice
  • 4 dl water
  • 1 star anise
  • salt
  • 1 handful of spinach
  • 2 spring onions

Brush and slice the mushrooms. Place the rise with the water, salt, star anise and mushrooms in a pan and bring to boil.

 

30May_MushroomRice

 

Let it simmer for 10 minutes and then turn the heat down but keep the lid on and let stand until the water is gone, another 10-15 minutes. If there is a lot of water bring it to a boil again until all the water is gone. When 5 minutes remain add some trimmed french beans and the washed spinach leaves, put the lid back and it will wilt the spinach and cook the beans.

 

When the rice is boiling bring the chicken stock to a boil, add the salmon and turn the heat off. Let stand until you are ready to eat.

 

Before serving remove the star anise from the rice. Take the beans out and, I only did them on the rice as I didn’t want to use another pot, and place them on a plate. I added some olive oil and a pinch of sea salt.

 

30May_Beans

 

Mix the spinach in to the rice with the spring onion before plating up. I toasted some cashew nuts and sesame seeds to sprinkle on top.

 

30May_Cashew&SesameSeeds

 

It wasn’t the most colorful dinner but quite quick and light, very nice after some heavy foods during my travels.

 

30May_SalmonDinner

 

I had an avocado that needed eating so I added this last minute, mixed with some creme fraiche, garlic and freshly ground black pepper. Cooking the mushrooms with the rice gave the rice much more mushroom flavor and the star anise, spinach and spring onion added lots of flavor and texture and I will cook my rice like this again.

 

Comments
4 Responses to “Ginger poached salmon with mushroom rice”
  1. acasadisimi says:

    looks delicious! i love salmone! thanks for sharing!
    Simi

  2. Corina says:

    Beautiful presentation – I’d love this too.

Leave a Reply

