A prawn bake with a cheesy courgette bechamel

Whilst the work is going on with the kitchen I haven’t stopped buying food. The majority of the food I had bought was for freezing and I guess that was a sign of my cooking withdrawal setting in. The kitchen isn’t finished yet but I can now cook! I had a bag of frozen prawns and some leftover cheese, what a perfect combination for a prawn bake, like a fish pie but with only prawns.

 

A cheesy prawn bake 

preparation time 20 minutes 

cooking time about 15 minutes or until browned

oven 225C or 440F

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 bag of frozen peeled prawns, 350 gram or 12 oz

Courgette bechamel

  • cheese for the bechamel, I used cheddar and brie but anything you prefer
  • 3 heaped tbsp plain flour
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • milk, I used about 2 dl or 1 cup
  • 1/2 large courgette/zucchini
  • dill
  • fresh spinach
  • salt & white pepper

The mash

  • 4 white potatoes
  • milk
  • salt & white pepper

Start with the mash. As I was using cheese and butter for the bechamel I wanted to make it light and healthy and only used semi skimmed milk. Peel the potatoes and cut them in to chunks. Boil  them soft.

 

Whilst the mash it boiling make the bechamel. I usually thicken my sauce with corn starch but I wanted to make it thick as I was mixing it with the courgette and the frozen prawns would have water in them as well so I made a roux, a mix of four and butter as a base.

I started by peeling the courgette and removing the seeds.

 

29June_Courgette

 

I then steamed the courgette soft and placed in the blender and set aside until ready. This is a great way to add more vegetable to your food and it works with butternut squash as well.

I melted the butter and added the flour, it needs a minute or so to cook out and make sure that there won’t be any taste of “raw” flour. I then added milk whilst whisking it smooth. Once I had the consistency I wanted to added the courgette.

 

29June_BechamelWithCourgette

 

I re heated the sauce, grated the cheddar cheese and chopped up the brie.

 

29June_cheese

 

29June_GratedCheese

 

Once the sauce is hot take it off the heat and let cool slightly before adding the cheese. Stir until melted and add the dill. taste with salt and pepper.

 

29June_DillInBechamel

 

When you are happy with the flavor add the spinach leaves and put the lid on whilst making the mash.

 

Place the prawns in an ovenproof, buttered dish. Pour over the sauce and add the mashed potatoes. Place in the oven and bake for about 15 minutes or until the mash has nice, browned tops. Everything is already cooked and if you cook it for too long it might risk the prawns overcooking.

 

29June_PrawnBake

 

There is a lot of vegetables in the dish already so I didn’t have a salad on the side. It looked a bit like a mess on the plate but it was pure comfort food! I didn’t miss the fish as there was plenty of prawns and I was so happy I had raided the freezer!

 

29June_PrawnBakeServed

 

It is not the prettiest food I have made but it was delicious so I am, very last minute, bringing this to the Fiesta Friday party! I just don’t want to miss out 🙂 It is a great place to meet other bloggers, have a look around and get inspired! Fiesta Friday is hosted by the very talented Angie, host of the blog The Novice Gardener. Angie hosts this every week and we are all so happy to join her!

This week Fiesta Friday is co hosted by two very talented bloggers, have a look at their blogs and if you are like me it will make you drool just a little at some of the very delicious looking recipes! Elaine,  foodbod, and Prudy, Butter, basil and Breadcrumbs.

I am hoping that I will have more time for the next party to bring something a little more exciting, but for this time I am bringing a big bowl of comfort.

 

FoodFiestaFriday

Comments
10 Responses to “A prawn bake with a cheesy courgette bechamel”
  1. That seriously looks so yum! My family would love this. Bookmarked, Petra! Will make, definitely. Thanks for sharing this. 🙂

  2. wow, looks delicious! It’s a keeper:)

    • petra08 says:

      hi Olga

      Thank you! It was so easy and such comfort food 🙂 I hope you will like it if you make it!

  3. chefjulianna says:

    OMG, Petra! I am all over this!! My kind of food! 😀

    • petra08 says:

      hi Chef Julianna
      Thank you 🙂 It was soooo nice to be able to cook again and I was in need of something homely and fairly light! But anything with cheese makes me happy! 🙂

  4. This looks delicious, love the cheesy creamy goodness add the prawns and you have a great comforting meal.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Suzanne
      Thanks 🙂 It was a lovely combo and prawns are always good! And am happy they worked so well with the cheese 🙂

  5. skd says:

    My my !!! This looks beautiful👍

Leave a Reply

