Rösti loaded with cod and lobster and a Cinderella moment

I haven’t posted as many blog posts lately as I would like to. It seems that life has been turned up a few notches and if time keeps going this fast I will be 90 years old in no time! There has been some amazing events, a few trips to Dublin and I always meet such great people there! My lovely friend Sarah did something amazing and unexpected, she gave me a spare ticket she had to the Hermes silk ball! See some great pics here.  I dusted off my best frock, booked a time at the hairdresser, the lovely Jazz, based on high street here in Deal, who took one look at the dress and created the most amazing “dirty geisha” hairstyle!

 

P.

 

It was a fantastic party, there was entertainment, a fortune teller with a charming accent who was spot on, food, drinks and plenty of Hermes patterned silk! The food was amazingly presented and as delicious as it looked!

 

Desertd3

 

Sarah, thanks a million, it was a true Cinderella evening!

 

There has been work on the kitchen and it is now almost done so I am back cooking! In celebration of this I wanted to make something special and when I saw this lobster at Deal Direct fish I knew I had to buy it. I have to admit that I had picked another one but the fish man said something like “oh no” under his breath and picked “a nice and heavy one”. He is the expert and it was the best tasting lobster I have ever had!

 

18July_Lobster

 

I picked the meat out. First I took the head of gently. Then the claws. I then placed the “body” on the side and gave it some gentle pressure until you can hear the shell crack. Once that is done you can just open the shell and take out the full tail. Cut along the top of the tail and remove the intestine.

You can eat the red, that is the roe and gently scrape the top inside of the head, there is so much flavor there. Either give the claws a gentle tap with a heavy knife and split or use a nutcracker to get the meat out, delicious!

 

18July_PickedLobster

 

Set the meat aside until you are ready to serve.

 

Rösti

preparation time 15 minutes

cooking time 40-45 minutes

serves 3

Ingredients

  • 4 potatoes
  • 1 small leek
  • 2 spring onions
  • 1/2 red pepper
  • salt, 1/2 tsp
  • white pepper to taste
  • 1 tsp paprika powder
  • 1 tbsp black sesame seeds
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup grated cheese

Slice the leek. this was the first one we have grown here!

 

18July_Leek

 

Slice the spring onion and chop the red pepper fine.  Peel the potatoes and grate them. Mix with the spices and the onions and pepper.

Add oil in a pan and heat up. Add the potatoes and take the heat down to medium.

 

18July_RostiMix

 

Place a plate and something heavy on top and let cook for 20 minutes.

 

18July_CookingRosti

 

After this flip the rösti over with the help of a plate and place back in the pan and cook for another 20-30 minutes or until it is soft.

 

When you have turned over the rösti  poach the cod. I used dill flowers to add flavor. They are usually used to cook langoustines or crayfish in Sweden for the crayfish parties held at the end of August/early September every year, a great way to celebrate crayfish season! As I grew up by the sea we eat langoustines instead of crayfish but we still party! Dill flowers have a lot of taste so a little goes a long way. I added salt to the water and once boiled I added the cod and turned the heat off. Let stand under lid 10-15 minutes or until the cod is flaky.

 

18July_DillFlower

 

 

I steamed some French beans and placed on top of the cooked rösti together with the cod and lobster.

 

18July_CookedRosti

 

18July_LoadedRosti

 

I served it with a sauce made of avocado, a squeeze of lemon and Greek yogurt with garlic. When the food was ready it was a lovely evening and the sky was clear.

 

18July_dinner

 

18July_Sky

 

When we had just finished the meal black, stormy clouds were blown in and there was a storm in no time. I think we were at the edge of it but a massive downpour made us rush inside. We were only nursing the last of the wine chatting about the week gone past so it was a good time to head inside.

 

The rösti, the cod and the lobster worked so well I am bringing this to the groovy foodie party Fiesta Friday, hosted by the lovely and very talented Angie, have a look at her blog The Novice Gardener here. This time Angie has 2 wonderful co hosts, Hilda with her blog Along the Grapevine and Chef Julianna with her blog Foodie on Board. Both are truly inspiring and be aware, reading will not only inspire you, it will leave you hungry! If you have cooked something bring it along for a great party!

FoodFiestaFriday

Comments
16 Responses to “Rösti loaded with cod and lobster and a Cinderella moment”
  1. Oh my, a Hermes ball? Sounds so posh! Would have loved to come along :-).

    This rosti with lobster sounds so, so….yum, Petra! I’m kinda drooling everywhere right now. You’re making me very hungry!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Angie
      Thank you!
      I was so lucky to get a ticket and such an amazing evening out! 🙂

      The rösti and the lobster worked very well together and it was nice eating it watching the storm roll in!

  2. Hilda says:

    Two elegant evenings and real gourmet fare each time. Lucky you. At least when you are 90 you will have some great culinary memories. I’m glad you found some time to join us at Fiesta Friday.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Hilda
      Thank you 🙂 I am sure I will have lots of delicious memories but hopefully it is a long way off still! 🙂

  3. Ngan R. says:

    All looks delicious! So glad you had fun at the ball – that spread did look appetizing too!

  4. chefjulianna says:

    Wow Petra! How lucky are you that you got to go to a Hermes ball! I think you must lead an enchanted life 😀 ! And your dish is enchanting too. We can always count on you to bring something gorgeous and original! Thanks so much for bringing this to FF! 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi chef Julianna
      Thanks 🙂 This was for sure one of the most amazing evenings and I am sure it will be up there for a very, very long time 😉
      Glad you liked the dish, I wasn’t sure how to marry potatoes and lobster but it worked out well.

  5. saucygander says:

    Two great stories in one post- a fairy tale ball, and an elegant dinner! I love how you have photographed the lobster, and good trick of cooking the rosti under a weighted plate! I always wondered why mine tend to fall apart… 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Saucy
      Thank you for your lovely comment 🙂 The lobster was very photogenic 🙂
      Weighing down the rösti makes it more compact and yes, it stays together more easily!

  6. Noony says:

    You look lovely and what a great friend Sarah is for gifting you that ticket. I’ve never had rosti but just say seafood and I’m there!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Noony
      I was amazed when Sarah asked me to come and how could I ever have said no?! It was truly fantastic and an experience.
      I love seafood and decided to eat much more of it and much less meat from now on! It makes me feel so much better! 🙂

  7. Aha, lobsters are GOOD!

  8. Wow, this looks so delicious. The ball sounds fantastic.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Emma
      I am so sorry I just saw your comment.. Thank you 🙂 The ball was amazing and I was so incredibly lucky to get a ticket! And the lobster was great, isn’t it always?! 🙂

Leave a Reply

