Fresh sardines, roast baby beetroots with whipped avocado and feta

I come from Gothenburg where fish is plentiful and very, very fresh. Despite this there is a saying that in Gothenburg they only eat mackerel, salmon and cod. I have discovered I am not far off it but I do like a few more kinds of fish and sardines is one of them. I was very happy when I spotted fresh sardines at the fishmonger. They were filleted and looked simply irresistible, I knew I had to get some for dinner. I love them cooked simply with fresh lemon and new potatoes. A bunch of baby beetroots and a couple of avocados and I knew what to make!

 

I started on the baby beetroots as they would take the longest to cook.

 

Roast beetroots

preparation time 5 minutes

cooking time 40-50 minutes

oven 180C or 360F

serves 2-4

Ingredients

  • 2 good handful of baby beetroots or 4 full size ones
  • salt & pepper
  • olive oil

If you are using full sized beetroots you might want to peel them, the baby ones has such thin skin I didn’t bother peeling them.

Cut them in to thin wedges, beetroot takes quite a while to cook and everything else cooked so quickly I didn’t want to wait too long for them. Place them on a non stick baking sheet, sprinkle with salt and pepper and olive oil before roasting.

 

16July_BeetsForRoasting

 

Next I peeled the new potatoes, they were so incredibly large and boiled them with dill.  I rinsed the sardines, patted them dry and placed them on an oven tray, skin side up with a sprinkle of salt, pepper and olive oil. They would cook in about 4 minutes under the grill so they went in last.

 

16July_SardinesToCook

 

I had avocados and feta cheese and decided to make a “sauce” on the side. This was super quick and easy and lots of flavor.

 

Whipped feta cheese and avocado

preparation time 5 minutes

cooking time 0 minutes

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 2 ripe avocados
  • 1 red chilli
  • 1/4 lemon, juice only
  • 1/2 yellow onion
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 block of feta cheese

Scoop the avocado flesh out and place in a blender. Give the chilli a rough chop, dice the onion and add with the crumbled feta cheese, the lemon juice and the buttermilk. I crushed the garlic clove to avoid getting a big piece in my mouth in case it didn’t blend but you could give it a rough chop and add as well. Blend until smooth and there is air in the avocado and feta.

 

16July_WhippedAvocado&Feta

 

 

I raided the veg patch and got some spinach and French beans that I steamed for just a few minutes,

As the beetroots were almost done I put them at the bottom of the oven and turned the grill on. I placed the sardines under the grill whilst draining the potatoes and started to set the table.

 

I plated the sardines with the greens and some lemon wedges

16July_Sardines&Veg

 

 

The beetroots were done 16July_RoastedBeets

 

It was a lovely evening so we could eat dinner outside sipping chilled cava.

 

16July_SardineDinner

 

After dinner we strolled down to a pub on the seafront and listened to a great African band, I love summer by the sea!

 

 

 

 

Comments
2 Responses to “Fresh sardines, roast baby beetroots with whipped avocado and feta”
  1. Pang says:

    This is such a wonderful way to make fish even tastier 🙂

  2. I love fresh sardines especially in the summer! And with beetroot even better! What a delicious healthy meal 😉

Leave a Reply

