Sea bass with black bean sauce and wasabi mash

I have had a bit of a dry spell lately when it comes to cooking. This is quite unusual for me but there is a lot going on and a lot on my mind at the moment. I will share more about that in another blog but I haven’t even thought of something new and yesterday I got a bit tired of not cooking anything new, I took to my selection of cookbooks and picked one at random for inspiration. The E&O cookbook by Will Ricker was full of great recipes and in the end sea bass with black bean sauce caught my interest. Sea bass is plentiful at the moment so this looked perfect. If you are in London and have time, go to E&O, the food is innovative, fresh and delicious.

 

In between lacking in foodie inspiration there has been a lot happening here in Deal as well. It was regatta and carnival week and everyone came out to celebrate. The weather was lovely and the carnival hosted so many beauty queens they shipped them by the bus load! It was quite a unique sight!

 

BeautyQueens

 

 

It was breakfast time when  felt the need for inspiration and I decided to start the day with fried eggs and vegetables. A nice and light way to start the day.

 

02Aug_Eggs

 

The black bean sauce recipe is from E&O but I changed it, I doubled the amount of chicken stock, I added the fresh chilli at the start of the cooking and I added 1/2 tbsp of soy sauce as well.

 

Black bean sauce 

preparation time 10 minutes + soaking of the black beans

cooking time 25-30 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 24 hr soaked black beans
  • fresh ginger
  • garlic
  • chilli
  • oil for cooking
  • shaoxing rice wine
  • chicken stock
  • 1/2 tbsp soy sauce

Rinse the beans and let them drain. De seed the chilli and slice. Peel and cut the ginger julienne very fine, chop the garlic fine.

 

02Aug_ChoppedVeg

 

The garlic chives and some of the chilli was for decoration in the end.

Heat the oil in a frying pan or a wok and add the ginger, chilli and garlic. Fry for a few minutes until the oil is infused.

 

02Aug_Frying

 

Add the shaoxing rice wine and boil down to about half. Add the black beans and chicken stock and reduce until the sauce is thickened.

 

We picked the last of the broad beans and I made a pesto to go with the fish.

 

Broad bean pesto 

preparation time 15 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 2-4

Ingredients

  • fresh broad beans
  • 4 basil leaves
  • 3 tbsp grated comte cheese
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 pinch of sea salt

Shell the broad beans and place them in the mixer with the basil leaves. When they are mixed add the oil, grated cheese and sea salt.

 

02Aug_BroadbeanPesto

 

Whole sea bass

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 15 mins 

oven 180C or 360F

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 whole sea bass
  • shredded fresh ginger
  • sliced, de seeded chilli
  • chopped garlic
  • olive oil to sprinkle over

I bought the sea bass whole so I scaled and gutted it. if you are scaling the fish yourself an old lady I used to know taught me to do it under running cold water. It does stop the scales from going everywhere making it a lot easier to clean afterwards.

Cut the skin and fill with chilli. Stuff the bass with the ginger, chilli and a little garlic.

 

02Aug_Seabass

 

Cook the bass for 15 minutes, it should then be perfectly cooked but if you have a slightly bigger bass it is ready when it feels a bit firm to the touch and the flesh flakes and is white all the way through.

 

I had steamed some bok choy and some French beans and served the bass with wasabi flavored mash. The beans and the sea bass was very light together and the flavors were a great match. I was worried the beans might be a bit heavy but they were very light and went very well with the mash.

 

02Aug_SeabassDinner

 

I haven’t really cooked anything interesting lately but I loved the beans, the bass and the mash so much I decided to take this to the funky foodie party Fiesta Friday! I of course also don’t want to miss out! Fiesta Friday is hosted by the funny, witty and super talented cook Angie, have a look at her beautiful blog here. Angie is joined by two other bloggers, the talented and inspirational Saucy@SaucyGander and the versatile cook Margot@GatherandGraze, she has some awesome looking cakes and cookies on her blog.

 

FoodFiestaFriday

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
10 Responses to “Sea bass with black bean sauce and wasabi mash”
  1. Corina says:

    Sea bass is one of my favourite fish. This sounds really lovely.

  2. What a beautiful summertime meal – it looks so light and fresh… but filled with flavour! The broad bean pesto is inspiring (as well as being such a pretty colour!) and something I can imagine complementing many a dish through the summer. Thanks so much for bringing this along to Fiesta Friday this week Petra – lovely to see you here! 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Margot
      Thank you 🙂 The broad bean pesto was lovely, such a shame I made it from the last back of broad beans but I will make more for next year!
      Thanks for co hosting the always fun Fiesta Friday! 🙂 x

  3. acasadisimi says:

    wonderful post Petra! kisses and hugs!
    Simi

  4. chefjulianna says:

    Oh, I just love sea bass, Petra! Your recipe sounds so creative and enticing. I love the idea of all of these flavours together! Yummy!! 😀

  5. saucygander says:

    Ooh I don’t think I’ve ever made black bean sauce from scratch, but the result looks so good, I’ll do that soon. I think everyone goes through periods where it’s harder to find foodie inspiration, but it looks like you are making delicious food nonetheless. Great to see you at this week’s Fiesta Friday, hope you enjoy the party! 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Saucy
      I have never done a black bean sauce either from scratch but it was so easy! 🙂
      Thank you for your lovely comment x

Leave a Reply

