Ship O’hoy, it is a fish fest with pot roasted potatoes

My quest to eat more fish and less meat has allowed me to build a nice relationship with my fishmonger. He is a jolly and kind fella, he looks a little like Father Christmas and he generously shares his knowledge about all things fish. When I went there today he had a lot of fish to choose from and I couldn’t quite make my mind up. I actually sort of was just staring, trying to get inspired enough to think of a dish. After about five minutes whilst the lovely fishmonger was serving other clients as well as entertaining me with some terrible but charming jokes I still didn’t have a clue.

 

In the end I was boring even myself and decided to actually just go for it! I took one of each fish I had been looking at! The gurnards looked incredibly fresh and I am not even sure if I have even had this fish before and I was sure I have never cooked it.

 

08Aug_Gurnards

 

 

In total I got one gurnard, one red mullet, one mackerel and some delicious hake. I have only ever cooked mackerel so I was quite pleased with my catch.

 

08Aug_Fishes

 

Fish goes so well with potatoes and I needed something that added texture so I did pot roasted potatoes, again inspired by my friend Ian.

 

Pot roasted potatoes 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 25 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 6 small potatoes
  • 1 tsp mustard seeds
  • 1 tbsp sesame seeds
  • salt & pepper
  • oil for cooking

Rinse and dry the potatoes before cutting them in half. I had to take a picture of them as they are such a humble but important ingredient.

 

08Aug_Potatoes

 

 

Heat the oil in a pan with a lid and add the mustard seeds as soon as the oil is hot. When they start to pop add the potatoes, cut side down, add salt, pepper and sesame seeds and put the lid on and cook on medium heat. Cook for 10  minutes before turning and cook on the other side for 10 minutes, finish by turning the heat up for 5 minutes just before serving.

 

I asked the fishmonger to gut the red mullet and then I stuffed it with rhubarb and a small knob of butter before giving it a sprinkle of salt and pepper.

 

08Aug_StuffedMullet

 

 

I used the rest of the rhubarb for the mackerel.

 

08Aug_PreparedFish

 

I added salt and pepper and sprinkled extra virgin olive oil on top of the mackerel and the hake. I placed some butter on top of the gurnard and placed them all on an oven roasting tray and roasted them for 13 minutes 180C or 360F, just enough to cook everything through but the red mullet and the gurnard were small.

 

The foxes has been very active in the garden at night, they demolished two crops of sweetcorn, they did what looked like jumping up and down on the French beans and they seemed to have rolled around on top of the spaghetti squash. Despite all this we have plenty of little round squashes. I steamed a couple whole to serve with the fish.

 

08Aug_Courgette

 

The potatoes were ready at the same time as the fish.

 

Pot roasted potatoes 08Aug_PotRoastedPotatoes

 

Besides the many kinds of fish it was a simple meal. We ate it with some low fat yogurt mixed with Chillify hot sauce and crushed garlic.

 

08Aug_FishPlate

 

The potatoes added a crunch together with the mustard and sesame seeds, the fish added it’s mild flavor, the squashes were tender and the yogurt sauce added some heat. I wanted to make a crumble for dessert but as we were so greedy we ate everything and all we could muster was some fresh fruit.

 

I am bringing this to Angies fun filled foodie party Fiesta Friday! Angie is the hostess of the fabulous blog The Novice Gardener. Angie is joined again by Saucy@SaucyGander and Margot@GatherandGraze, both inspirational and very talented bloggers, well worth visiting but be ready to get hungry!

 

FoodFiestaFriday

 

Comments
15 Responses to “Ship O’hoy, it is a fish fest with pot roasted potatoes”
  1. dosirakbento says:

    Those round squashes look cute.

  2. Kaila511 says:

    I loved the stuffed fish picture, and the presentation at the end is absolutely beautiful. Thank you for sharing! Happy FF, and have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

  3. wow, wat a festive seafood and veggies platter
    i pnce had theis kind of fish, grilled in robata styly,
    pretty pricey but i guess it’s worth with the prize

  4. Yum, I love seafood! This looks like a gorgeous dish 🙂

  5. chefjulianna says:

    Wow, Petra! What a lovely platter you have prepared for us. There really is nothing better that fresh fish! I can’t even imagine foxes in my neighbourhood, frolicking in my garden! Where I live, I have to contend with black bears and coyotes! 😀

    • petra08 says:

      hi Chef Julianna
      wow black bears and coyotes sounds as if it could be a challenge! 🙂 We have lots of foxes here and I think there are 2 large fox families around!
      I love fresh fish and am glad you liked it too. 🙂

  6. saucygander says:

    What a catch! That looks like a fabulous fish dinner with the different types of fish. We all need a jolly fish monger who looks like Father Christmas, especially if they can give good advice about choosing and cooking fish. This fish dinner is probably one of the healthiest choices at Fiesta Friday this week, phew, thank you for sharing! 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Saucy
      ha ha I think everyone should have a fishmonger like that! 🙂 I will pluck up the courage one day and take a pic!
      Fish is healthy and I am trying to eat more of it 🙂 Thanks for co hosting the always fun FF!

  7. What a great idea to try out a whole range of fish in this way… to find which you enjoy the most! I seem to always go for the same 2 or 3 types of fish, that I know so well, but it’s not terribly adventurous and I must be missing out on so many great flavours! Thanks so much for sharing this inspiring post with all at Fiesta Friday this week! 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Margot
      Thank you 🙂 I am the same with buying the same kind of fish again and again, sometimes for a reason and sometimes I guess it is just habit! It was nice to get some different fish and they were all very small so perfect for tasting 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Ship O’hoy, it is a fish fest with pot roasted potatoes from Petra @Food eat Love. In Margot’s words, “[Petra's] indecision at the fishmongers was the impetus for her preparing one amazing Fist Fest. Her pot roasted potatoes looked like the perfect side, too.” […]



Leave a Reply

