Cod with poached, broken egg yolks the day after the barbecue

We had all sorts of weather this weekend, glorious sunshine, storms and torrential rain. Our neighbors hosted a barbecue and after monitoring the weather it was finally decided to have the barbecue on the Saturday and what a great choice! The sun was shining, it was very warm and a gorgeous day.

We all brought something and I was asked to bring a pork belly. I started the morning by dry roasting the spices,see recipe here.

 

09Aug_RoastingSpices

 

It was a big barbecue so we got a just shy of  five kilo pork belly, by far the biggest I have ever cooked. The smell from the spices is so great and I love how it fills the house. The barbecue started at 2 pm and I was running just slightly late as the crackling took longer to crackle than expected but it was worth the wait.

 

09Aug_CookedPorkBelly

 

09Aug_Crackling

 

It was a lovely barbecue, there were the usual suspects, sausages and hamburgers, chicken, chicken and vegetable kebabs, some lovely salads, bread and desserts. The barbecue was fired up three times and we took a final goodnight at 11 PM. Needless to say it was a fantastic afternoon, evening and early night! Cleaning up after the barbecue I spotted a bowl of whipped cream and as no one wanted it I brought it home to make some mousse, it would be a shame to waste it.

 

I thought we might need a meat free day after the barbecue so I got a lovely and very large piece of cod! I kept cooking simple. I started with the mousse and I did two kinds, a raspberry and lychee and a strawberry one. I have to admit that the strawberry one was quite boring but we loved the lychee and raspberry one! I put them in the fridge to set whilst cooking dinner.

 

Fresh lychees 10Aug_Lychees

 

Thyme poached cod with poached egg yolks 

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 25 minutes 

serves 3

Ingredients

  • 850 gram or 1.9 pound of cod or any other firm white fish
  • 4 sprigs of thyme
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup of salt
  • 1 bayleaf
  • 6 egg yolks

Cut the cod in to pieces, this was quite a lot of fish but I thought we might need it. Add water to a large pot and add all of the ingredients except the egg yolks. Bring to a boil and the turn the heat off. Let stand with the lid on for about 25 minutes.

Just before serving poach the egg yolks. They need very little cooking time, just a few minutes in simmering, salted water.

 

I boiled potatoes and made some guaccamole whilst the cod was cooking.

 

Guaccamole 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

Ingredients

  • 3 ripe avocado
  • 2 tbsp Chillify Hot sauce
  • 5 cherry tomatoes
  • lemon juice from about 1/4 lemon
  • 1 garlic clove

Mash the avocado, add the hot sauce, the lemon and the crushed garlic clove. Chop the tomatoes and add them, set aside until you are ready to eat.

 

10Aug_Guaccamnole

 

Just before serving break the egg yolks on top of the cod, serve with  salad, boiled potatoes, steamed spinach and the guaccamole.

 

10Aug_Cod&EggYolks

 

We finished the meal with the mousse. I will make the lychee and raspberry mousse again, the combination was great.

 

10Aug_Mousse

 

I almost never make dessert but this was worth it. It is all about balance, healthy fish dinner and well, a more indulgent dessert!

Comments
6 Responses to “Cod with poached, broken egg yolks the day after the barbecue”
  1. I wouldn’t have mind being invited, that pork sounds great. I love the sound of the cod with egg yolks too, simple and stunning.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Caroline
      I would love to have you over one day and talk food and blogging 🙂 Pork belly is always a treat and the cod was a bit of a relief the day after 🙂

  2. Corina says:

    It sounds really delicious and something I’d never have thought to try if I hadn’t seen it here. I love the combination of the yellow yolks with the white fish.

  3. wow, the cod with poached egg sools really fancy,
    the bbq pork belly looks mouthwatering too, i guess you should work your butt in gym right after that calories fest my friend, lol

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Dedy
      Oh you are right, pork belly is so naughty and yes will probably need weeks of training but it was worth is! 🙂 And the cod was perfect the day after, nice and light 🙂

Leave a Reply

