A prawn starter and plaice with clarified goats butter and fresh horseradish

The Black Pig butcher opened early this summer and ever since we have been able to get great produce. Instead of breakfast I decided to go there and get some nice bacon and a couple of sausages for brunch. I had some spaghetti squash  left over and I thought it would go with the bacon and sausage instead of potato hash brown.

 

I pan fried the squash and cooked the bacon and sausages in the oven. Last I pan fried an egg to place on top.

 

30Aug_Brunch

 

I cut up some fruit to finish the brunch and to set myself up for the day, it is all about balance!

 

30Aug_Fruit

 

The rest of the day was spent, finally, writing blogs, catching up on reading others blogs, a long walk on the beach and some shopping for dinner. I wanted to eat fish and got a couple of plaice, caught locally and fresh as can be.

 

30Aug_Sole

 

I got some prawns for a starter and a leek from the veg patch.

 

Prawn starter with crunchy rye bread crumbs

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • a large handful of shell on prawns
  • a piece of leek
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1/2 slice of dark rye bread
  • 1/2 garlic clove
  • zest of 1/4 lemon
  • 1 tsp oil for cooking
  • 1 tsp sesame seeds
  • 2-3 tbsp low fat yoghurt
  • black pepper to taste

Peel the prawns and chop the leek fine. Cube the avocado and crush the garlic. Mix with the yoghurt and cut the bread fine.

 

30Aug_StarterIngredients

 

Heat the oil in a frying pan and add the bread, sesame seeds and a few twists of the black pepper. Pan fry until toasted, the bread is ready when it is crunchy.

Plate up the prawn mixture and add the toasted breadcrumbs on top.

 

30Aug_PrawnStarter

 

 

I boiled some potatoes, carrots and some more of the leek, when it was 7 minutes left I added the bok choy in a steaming basket on top. I cooked the fish in  the oven at 170C or 340F for 20 minutes.

I didn’t add anything to the fish, I just cooked it on a non stick paper and it came out perfect.

 

30Aug-CookedSole

 

I got some goats butter at the market, there is a guy selling it and it is strangely addictive. I clarified it and added some grated fresh horseradish before serving.

 

30Aug_SoleDinner

 

It is simple cooking, more abut timing as overcooked fish is a truly unattractive proposition, allowing the flavors to work together. The horseradish compliments the fish rather than overpowering it. It is a very traditional Swedish combination.

 

I am bringing this to Angies rocking foodie party Fiesta Friday. Angie is the host of the great blog The Novice Gardener. It is full of inspirational recipes and mouth watering pictures!

FoodFiestaFriday

Comments
6 Responses to “A prawn starter and plaice with clarified goats butter and fresh horseradish”
  1. That sole looks absolutely stunning! Nothing like letting the flavour of good ingredients, stand on their own!

  2. Hilda says:

    The horseradish and goats butter sounds like a lovely touch. I bet the whole thing was delicious. I love this kind of recipe, one that leaves an impression of flavours I can remember and put them to use in my own cooking.

  3. Jody and Ken says:

    Are the prawns already cooked? I drop the ball when writing recipes all the time, so I read through a couple of times and still couldn’t figure it out. Thanks. Ken

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Ken
      Thank you for stopping by! Yes they are North Sea prawns so cooked on the boat when caught! I will write is next time! Thanks for spotting it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

