Skirt steak and spaghetti squash with roasted cobnuts

I love seasonal eating and there are a few spaghetti squashes ripe in the garden, one of my favourite vegetables. Cob nuts came in to season last week and I can never resist them. The season is short so best make the most of it! Cob nuts are a part of the hazelnut family and I love them peeled, sliced and toasted. One day I will find a cob nut tree and pick lots but until then I will have to buy them at the veg mongers.

 

Cob nuts 28Aug_Cobnuts

 

Peeled, sliced and toasting in a dry pan 28Aug_ToastingCobnuts

 

I set them aside until the food was ready to serve.

 

I picked the spaghetti squash with a pairing knife and cooked it whole for an hour at 160C or 320F.

 

28Aug_SpaghettiSquash

 

The butcher had a skirt steak, I have never cooked one before and I knew I had to buy it. You can either cook it low and slow or very quickly. I didn’t have a lot of time so In opted for the quick cooking in a hot pan. Skirt steak is long and flat and it is full of flavour. I trimmed the visible fat off.

 

28Aug_SkirtSteak-un-cooked

 

Heat the oil in a frying pan until hot, add salt and pepper to the flank steak and flash fry it, about two minutes on each side and then let it rest for 5-10 minutes.

 

28Aug_SkirtSteak-resting

 

Just before serving I cut it against the grain and we ate the whole steak in one go!

 

28Aug_SlicedSkirtSteak

 

 

I cut the spaghetti squash in half, removed the seeds from one half as it was a big squash and used a fork to get the “spaghetti” strands out of the shell. I mixed the squash with tomato, cucumber and the dry roasted cob nuts.

 

28Aug_SquashToServe

 

I don’t eat red meat very often but this was delicious. I think skirt steak is my new favourite cut and I will make sure I buy it again when I see it next! The spaghetti squash made for a light meal and the cob nuts added a nice flavour and texture. Some garlic butter brought it all together. Eating seasonal produce can be such a treat!

 

 

Comments
2 Responses to “Skirt steak and spaghetti squash with roasted cobnuts”
  1. Steven says:

    I’ve missed your blog. I got away from the food blogs and into the photography ones for a while.

    I don’t which I want to try first, your new tofu recipe or this one. Spaghetti squash has just arrived int the markets here.

    • petra08 says:

      I love photography! I still have so much to learn. Thank you for your comment, let me know how you get on, the crispy tofu is very light. I love spaghetti squash and I could just cook and eat it as it is! It was great paired with the skirt steak! 🙂

Leave a Reply

