Balsamic vinegar and honey glazed prawns with baked goats cheese and apple

A friend once said that cheese is a food group on it’s own. I am not quite sure that is completely right even if it should be but it is certainly one of my biggest weaknesses in life! There are so many different cheeses, flavors, textures, smells in an almost never ending variety and I love almost all of them. I would almost always choose cheese over a sweet dessert. Lately I have been trying to be a little healthier and I am substituting my full fat cheddar cheese for low fat cheese and some other cow cheeses for goats cheese. Having been to Ireland on  regular basis I have come across some delicious, locally produced, goats cheese, especially hard and ever since I have eaten more and more of it.

 

Ever since I read the Cheese Please challenge I knew I wanted to give it a go! This time it is cheese and fruit and I thought I would go for something savory. I had some prawns and wondered if I could use them with the cheese. I looked through my fridge and fruit bowl and came up with an eclectic mix of ingredients, an apple, cooked prawns and goats cheese. I thought I would use these to create a savory dish but I always find the balance between cheese and seafood a delicate one but so lovely when it works.

The Cheese Please challenge is created by Jane from Fromage Homage, a beautiful blog with plenty of cheese! the challenge this month is hosted by Sarah host of the blog The Garden Deli,m she always has great ideas and tips about gardening and growing.

CheesePlease

Goats cheese and honey baked apple with balsamic and honey glazed prawns

preparation time 15 minutes

cooking time 15 minutes in the oven, 10 minutes to cook the glaze

Oven 220C or 430F

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1/2 dl or 1/4cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup runny honey
  • 1 pint of shell on prawns
  • 1 red chilli
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 thin apple slice, core removed, skin on
  • yellow pepper
  • goats cheese
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

Shell the prawns and set aside until you are ready. Slice the apple in 2 thick slices.

 

06Sept_RawApple

 

Core the apple and place goats cheese and honey on top. I had a lovely goats cheese log and I cut two thick slices off.

 

Goats cheese log 06Sept_GoatsCheeseLog

 

Add honey and cracked black pepper on top.

 

06Sept_Apple&GoatsCheese

 

Bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes. 

 

 

Whilst the apple and goats cheese is baking chop up the chilli, garlic and yellow pepper fine. Heat oil in a frying pan and add the chopped vegetables. Fry briefly and add the balsamic vinegar and honey. Reduce to a glaze.

 

06Sept_FryingForGlaze

 

06Sept_GlazeBubbling

 

Toss the prawns in the glaze and add on top of the baked apple and cheese.

 

06Sept_BakedApple

 

Garnish with more chilli and some greens. 06Sept_Prawns

 

The apple was really firm and tart, the goats cheese soft and the prawns had a nice zing. Much to my surprise it worked and it was really delicious, a successful experiment.

 

 

Comments
5 Responses to “Balsamic vinegar and honey glazed prawns with baked goats cheese and apple”
  1. Sarah says:

    What a great combination of flavours – I love the idea of baking the goat’s cheese and apples together… must try this soon! And thank you for adding your recipe to the Cheese, Please! challenge this month – a fabulous entry.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Sarah

      I am glad you like it 🙂 many thanks and am very happy to be a part of the Cheese Please! challenge! Cheese makes everything better! 🙂

  2. skd says:

    Amazing combination of flavors. Your dish is a winner all the way. My vote goes for this 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Goats cheese and honey baked apple with balsamic and honey glazed prawns from Food Eat Love […]

  2. […] a lovely dish of Goat Cheese and Honey Baked Apple with Balsamic and Honey Glazed Prawns was added to the table by Petra from Food Eat Love. Petra says in her post that this was an […]



Leave a Reply

