A very foodie Canterbury festival and venison sort of Rydberg

Biff Rydberg is a classic Swedish dish, invented and served, supposedly at Hotel Rydberg for the first time and it is as simple as it is good. There are four main components, cubed beef, fillet is most often used, cubed potato, onion and egg yolk. This dish is comforting and rich and lately I have been thinking about it. Before I bought any beef it was time for the Food and Drinks festival in Canterbury.

The food festival was quite big and we piled in the car with friends to get there early. All the food wasn’t ready by the time we arrived but it gave us plenty of time to have a look around and decide what to buy and what to try. I love food festivals, the smells, finding new products to try and to have a chat with the producers is one of my favourite ways to spend my time.

 

Food was cooking everywhere and we were debating what food to try first, there was plenty of options. We looked at the stalls and my first serious stop was The Margate Smokehouse. They didn’t have my favourite, the smoked Shitake mushrooms but I got some smoked chestnut mushrooms, they have a deep smoky flavour.

 

Smoked chestnut mushrooms 27Sept_SmokedChestnutMushrooms

 

I was very pleased with my purchase and a stall with bottles caught my attention. It was the sloe gin bottles that looked so pretty.

 

27Sept_SloeGin

 

I didn’t buy any but I got a bottle of their raspberry vinegar and am plotting how I can incorporate it in to a dessert.

 

There was some amazing fungi, I have never seen cauliflower fungus before and it looked sponge like. I didn’t get any but afterwards I did regret that as I have never cooked with it before.

 

27Sept_CauliflowerFungus

 

 

They had an impressive selection and these pied blue looked so good.

 

27Sept_BlueFungus

 

 

I saw some pickled walnuts, I have never had them before and after trying some I think it might be an acquired taste, it was like nothing I have tried before and well, the jury is out on that one.

 

27Sept_PickleWalnuts

 

I went past the BurgerBros to see what they had to offer. They were happy as always and told me to come back in a couple of hours as they were smoking pigs cheeks.

 

27Sept_BrugerBros

 

 

Pigs cheeks are a delicacy and I couldn’t wait to try one. We went to Pork & Co and I had some pork & mac, a great combo.

 

27Sept_PulledPork&Mac

 

I bought some venison steaks from Turner’s Game, they will start selling their meat on October 22nd at The Farm Shop, Sturry Hill and I now know where to get my game meat.

 

I went back to the Burger Bros and the pigs cheeks were ready. They were worth waiting for! It was served in a Burger Bros biroche bun with truffle mayonnaise and it was totally delicious, smoky and fall apart tender. The truffle mayo set it off beautifully. I am hoping that it will be a regular feature on the menu!

 

27Sept_SmokedPorkCheek

 

I checked out some hot sauce, this was the best, from Carrington Foods, their hot one had a mighty kick but it was full of flavour.

 

27Sept_CarringtonsChilliSauce

 

There were some great ideas and I liked this one in particular.

 

27Sept_HomeWineTasting

 

 

I saw some naga chillies, sadly for display only by the Kent Chilli Farm, I would have loved to buy a couple.

 

27Sept_NagaChillies

 

After a duck wrap, some wine and cider later it was time to head home. We had a brilliant time I will make sure to go again next year.

 

I decided to use the venison steaks for a venison version of Biff Rydberg, biff means beef in Swedish. I didn’t stick to the original recipe completely but here is my venison version.

 

Venison sort of Rydberg

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 35 minutes 

oven 180C or 360F

serves 2 -3

Ingredients

  • 2 venison steaks
  • 3 potatoes
  • 1 onion
  • 1 orange pepper
  • smoked chestnut mushrooms
  • 2 egg yolks
  • cucumber
  • 1 avocado
  • 2 spring onions
  • oil for cooking
  • 1 small knob of butter
  • salt and pepper to taste

Trim and dive the venison. Set aside until ready to cook. Peel the potatoes, cut them in to chunks and par boil for 5 minutes. When ready mix the potatoes with oil, salt and pepper, mix and cook in the oven until cooked through and crispy, about 30 minutes.

Chop the onion and pepper and pan fry soft. Cook the mushrooms and add salt and pepper. Chop the cucumber and avocado. Add salt and pepper to the venison and pan fry in a hot pan with a little oil and butter until browned, then place in the oven for 7 minutes with the potatoes, remove and let rest for 5 minutes before serving.

 

Frying diced venison 27Sept_Venison

 

Venison sort of Rydberg 27Sept_VenisonRydberg

 

Venison was a perfect meat for the Rydberg, leaner and healthier than beef, and what a great foodie day.

 

 

 

Comments
2 Responses to “A very foodie Canterbury festival and venison sort of Rydberg”
  1. What a wonderful dish, have never heard of it before. Are the egg yolks raw? Just wondered. I love a runny egg yolk.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Suzanne
      Yes they are completely raw and delicious! The original is delicious as well, I just had to change the recipe a little! 🙂 Thank you! x

Leave a Reply

