Mezze inspired chorizo stuffed pork loin with squash hummus

My friends were talking about how they had a great Lebanese meal when they were last in London. I have to admit that it gave me food envy, I have no idea where the nearest Lebanese restaurant would be here and they are so plentiful in London! I thought I would make some dishes myself but my thoughts of a more traditional mezze came to a halt during my inventory. I had some pork tenderloin that needed eating so I decided to let myself be inspired by mezze flavours and spices, give Spanish food a nod as I had some gorgeous chorizo that M picked up on his latest travel to Spain. I spoke to my friend Mrs E who thought mezze sounds good and a full on mezze night is coming up later.

 

The squash would take the longest so I started with that. We got some seeds from the neighbours for little round squashes and they were incredibly plentiful. I have had a bit of a hard time thinking of how to cook them when I remembered a butternut squash hummus that I made a while back. I was sure the little round squashes would be perfect, they are slightly more dense in texture but delicious.

 

Round squash hummus

preparation time 5 mins

cooking time 35-40 mins

oven 180C or 360F

serves 2-4 or as a dip

Ingredients

  • 2 small round squashes
  • 1 good pinch of cumin
  • 1 pinch of ground coriander
  • salt
  • 2 tbsp oil
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup of cooked chickpeas
  • 2 tbsp tahini
  • the zest and juice of 1 lemon
  • olive oil, about 1 dl or 1/2 cup, more if needed
  • lemon infused rapseed oil
  • salt to taste
  • sundried, garlic infused cherry tomatoes

The squashes are so hard I had to bring out my biggest vegetable cleaver to cut them up.

 

01Oct_Squash

 

I removed the seeds, cut them up and tossed them in the oil and spices before placing them in the oven to roast.

 

01Oct_RoastedSquash

 

Place all the ingredients in the blender and mix until smooth. Add more oil if it is too thick. Spoon some sundried tomatoes and oil on top before serving.

 

01Oct_SquashHommous

 

Chorizo, apple and feta stuffed pork tenderloin

preparation time 15 minutes

cooking time 4 minutes to brown + 12 minutes in the oven

oven 180C or 360F

serves 3-4

Ingredients

  • 1 pork tenderloin
  • 1/2 crispy apple
  • 1/2 block of feta cheese, about 100 gr or 3.5 oz
  • a piece of chorizo
  • string
  • salt and pepper

Trim the pork tenderloin and cut along.

Cut up the apple, crumble the feta cheese and chop the chorizo fine before pan frying it crispy. Drain on a paper towel.

 

01Oct_FryingChorizo

 

Mix with the feta and apple. 01Oct_Stuffng

 

Stuff the pork loin and tie it up with string. 01Oct_StuffedPorkLoin

 

When the squash has 20 minutes left to cook pan fry the pork loin all around before adding it to the oven.

 

01Oct_CookedStuffedPork

 

It is fig season so I prepared a couple of figs, it was a mezze after all! I cut a cross in the top and stuffed them with goats cheese, added some cracked pepper and placed them in the oven for 20 minutes.

 

01Oct_Figs&GoatsCheese

 

There is something magic about figs and goats cheese together. When it was cooked I gave it a drizzle of balsamic glaze before serving.

 

01Oct_BakedFigs

 

I sliced a tomato and placed chunks of feta cheese on top, I added some hot sauce and baked it covered in tin foil for 20 minutes with the figs and the squash.

 

01Oct_BakedFeta

 

The feta cheese was delicious like this and next time I will add just a little more hot sauce.

 

The last dish was a tabbouleh inspired salad with bulgar wheat.

 

A crunchy tabbouleh inspired bulgar wheat salad 

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 10 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup bulgar wheat
  • 1 bunch of mint
  • 1 bunch of coriander
  • 1 dl  ot 1/2 cup finley cubed watermelon
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup fine chopped green pepper
  • 2 spring onions/scallions

 

01Oct_BulgarWheatToMix

 

 

Mix and garnish with some coriander and serve. I didn’t add any oil or lemon juice, it was so delicious on it’s own.

 

01Oct_BulgarWheatSalad

 

It wasn’t strictly a mezze but it hit the spot!

 

 

Comments
4 Responses to “Mezze inspired chorizo stuffed pork loin with squash hummus”
  1. acasadisimi says:

    wow!!! delicious! greetings from Italy!
    Simi

Leave a Reply

