Lobster and avocado ravioli

I was out power walking this morning. The weather didn’t seem to be able to decide, it was sunny but raining, cold in the wind and warm in the few rays of sunshine. It was still beautiful and it is a great way to start the day. On the way home I passed the fishmonger and I saw some lobsters. They haven’t had any for a while so I got really excited and asked the lovely fishmonger to keep one for me.

I went home and had a shower and then couldn’t wait any longer, there were still quite a few left and I bought not the biggest but a heavy one.

 

07Oct_Lobster

 

I had some wonton wrappers left and I knew I wanted to make ravioli. The dumpling skins makes great ravioli, it is very thin, delicious and cooks in two minutes.

I knew I wanted something creamy with the lobster in the ravioli but I didn’t want to use cheese. Lobster has a very delicate flavour and I find it easy to overwhelm the flavour. In the end I decided that avocado would be a creamy but healthy match. I had a couple of figs that needed using so I decided to use them as well. I cut them up and pan fried them in a little oil with black pepper, honey and sesame seeds.

 

07Oct_Figs

Set aside until you are ready to plate up.

 

Lobster and avocado ravioli

preparation time 25 minutes

cooking time 2 min

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 lobster, cooked
  • wonton skins
  • 2 avocado
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup of frozen green peas
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1 small garlic clove

garnish

  • toasted hazelnuts
  • beurre noisette
  • a parmesan crisp, see an example recipe here. I added some black sesame seeds

Start by picking the meat from the lobster. Don’t forget the “butter” in the head. It doesn’t look like much but it has the most amazing flavour.

 

Lobster tail 07Oct_LobsterTail

 

Cut out the lobster intestine, if you make a fairly shallow cut along the tail you will find it and it is easy to remove.

 

Whole picked lobster 07Oct_PickedLobster

 

Make the avocado and pea mash. Peel and de seed the avocado, place it in the blender. Rinse the peas under hot water, drain and add to the peas with the lemon juice and a crushed garlic clove.

 

07Oct_Avocado&PeaMash

 

Place a wonton skin and add some lobster “butter”.

07Oct_LobsterButter

 

Add some lobster on top. 07Oct_RavioliWithLobster

 

Last top with the avocado. 07Oct_RavioliFilling

 

Wet the edges with water and place and another wonton skin on top. Try to squeeze out as much air as possible and make sure they two wonton skins are “glued” together.

 

07Oct_FilledRavioli

 

The ravioli will cook in two minutes. Add them to boiling water and they are ready when they float. Plate up the ravioli, add the garnish, I picked some herbs from the greenhouse, they are still producing and it feels a little like extending the summer.

 

07Oct_RavioliDinner

 

I am bringing this to Angie’s always happening Fiesta Friday. If you have cooked something please join us! This week Angie has two talented co hosts, Hilda, Along the Grapevine where she has some great recipes, I especially love to follow her foraging and making in to something delicious! The other host(ess) is the lovely Julianna, Foodie on Board who’s food seems to tickle my taste buds,making me so hungry just reading about and looking at the tempting images!

FoodFiestaFriday

Comments
26 Responses to “Lobster and avocado ravioli”
  1. A slam dunk once again, Petra! It’s amazing how you can come up with these amazingly creative recipes that prove to be successful. This one is no exception. It’s brilliant to use avocado to add creaminess to the ravioli!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Angie
      Thank you! You really made my day! Am so glad you like it!! The avocado worked really well and it made the meal a lot lighter, i.e I could eat some extra ravioli guilt free. 🙂

  2. Nancy says:

    My, oh my, Petra. You’ve made my mouth water…literally! These ravioli look absolutely delicious. I love the flavor combination!

  3. Hilda says:

    What a wonderful place you must live in to go for a walk of any kind and pass someone who sells lobster. If I had that, I would take a walk every day. And I would make those delicious ravioli. Beautiful pictures. And thanks for your kind words. Have a sweet weekend.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Hilda
      It is a lovely place to live and I feel very lucky 🙂 Glad you like the ravioli and the pictures! Have a lovely weekend x

  4. I love ravioli and this lobster and avocado ravioli sounds amazingly delicious! Thank you so much for bringing this to FF!

  5. What a gorgeous, gorgeous dish Petra! Sounds amazing!! My mouth is watering, even though I just had lunch 🙂

  6. Your recipe sounds delicious Petra and a great way to use lobster but I will stick to using frozen lobster tails 🙂

  7. Lisa says:

    Wow, Petra! Beautiful post! I will surely match up some of my Dad’s avocados with this lobster! Happy FF!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Lisa
      Thank you. I am still jealous of those avocados, they look amazing and I bet they will be great with lobster 🙂

  8. I am so jealous. I love lobster, but we don’t have access to fresh ones. This dish has so many layers of flavor and is beautiful!

    • petra08 says:

      Thank you. I am sure it would work with frozen lobster as well, or fresh prawns or crab if that is easier to get. I never bought fresh lobster until I moved here, it is so much easier to get and cheaper when I can get it from the fishermen. 🙂

  9. Corina says:

    What a beautiful recipe. I’ve never cooked lobster at home before but this is a lovely thing to do with it.

  10. chefjulianna says:

    This is gorgeous, Petra! What an exotic ravioli! Your recipes just keep making me drool! 😀

  11. Wow, what a stunning dish!

  12. ninoalmendra says:

    Nicely Done, Petra! It really looks tempting and love the way you plate it.
    Congrats for being featured! You deserved it! And Thanks for bringing this one. =)

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Nino
      Thank you. It really made my day reading the extraordinarily kind comments 🙂 Glad you liked the plating! Thank you for stopping by and Happy FF!

  13. Sandhya says:

    Lobster and avocado together! What a delicious combination! Thank you for this recipe. You have a great blog.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Lobster and Avocado Ravioli from Petra @Food Eat Love. […]



Leave a Reply

