Ramen salmon and halumi burger

Ever since I heard of a ramen burger I have been so curious to try one. I have never found them on any menu but one day I came across this blog and decided to make one myself. It seemed waiting to find one on a menu was a long way off. I had never even thought I could make them but this was a truly simple and it was finally my turn!

I wanted a seafood burger and opted for salmon as it is delicious and has lots of flavour, I thought it would be good with the noodles inspired by seafood ramen.

 

I followed the recipe above except I didn’t have a flavour pack so I added salt, pepper and sesame seeds to the noodles. The sesame added a slight nuttiness that I liked.

 

Noodles 09Oct_Noodles

 

Added sesame seeds to the boiled noodles

09Oct_Noodles&SesameSeeds

 

Noodles for shaping the “buns” 09Oct_NoodlesInCup

 

Pan fried noodle buns 09Oct_FryingRamenBuns

 

I did try one and as they might not be as pretty and professional looking they were delicious. The outside was crispy and the inside soft and chewy.

 

Salmon burgers

preparation time 15 minutes 

cooking time 5-8 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 250 gr or 8.8 oz salmon fillet
  • a piece of fresh ginger, about 1.5 cm or 0.6 inch
  • coriander
  • 1 red chilli
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp corn flour
  • salt & pepper

Cut the salmon in to fine cubes. Add the other ingredients and mix.

 

09Oct_Salmon

 

09Oct_ChoppedSalmon

 

Mix and shape the salmon in to patties. Pan fry and keep warm whilst pan frying the halumi.

 

09Oct_SalmonBurger

 

Mix a sauce, 1.5 tbsp low fat yogurt, 1 tbsp half fat creme fraiche, 1 tsp wasabi paste, 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper, salt to taste to go with the burger and serve with lettuce and sliced fresh tomato.

 

09Oct_RamenSalmonBurger

 

I am glad I made the burgers as I finally got to eat some. I am quite sure I will make them again, it is so interesting but I will add more interesting spices to the noodles and I would make a spicier sauce but it was still good.

Comments
10 Responses to “Ramen salmon and halumi burger”
  1. andy says:

    O God Petra !!! ❤ i am drooling !

  2. Ada Ivanov says:

    ohh! i’m going to make this recipie one of this days 😉

  3. acasadisimi says:

    Mmmmmmm…..Yummy!!!

  4. I’ve heard about this, Sarah and Spice did a mac and cheese bun. I love your ramen bun, and with the salmon burger, just perfect.

  5. I’ve been hearing a lot about the ramen burgers too, Petra. Didn’t realise they were so easy to do – thanks for the heads up – I love your combinations with the salmon and the halloumi and sesame too!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Selma

      It never really occurred to me that I could do them at all, mine didn’t have the nice uniform shape but it worked and it was a nice contrast between the crispy and the soft noodles. 🙂

  6. dosirakbento says:

    I only read about this today, twice! Both on wordpress blogs 🙂
    Makes me quite curious to try it out 😛

Leave a Reply

