Tart with crème patisserie and lots of fruit

A friend called with a lovely invite for a Sunday lunch, one of those mid afternoon, full on three course lunches that starts with, perhaps a g&t! I offered to make a starter or a dessert and this was greeted with great enthusiasm, even if underlined that I shouldn’t feel obliged. I thought it would be good to make a dessert as I almost never make them.

I got so excited I even decided to bake, well sort of. I wanted to make a fruit tart. I love fruit for dessert and this is a great combination with crème patisserie and plenty of fruit.

 

I got the recipe for the shell in this book. It is a great book but in Swedish, link here.

 

12Oct_CookBook

 

I don’t bake very often but next time I will add some hazelnuts for extra flavour and texture. It was good but I thought it needed something extra. This was a standard base. I baked it but I didn’t blind bake it so the edges fell down ever so slightly in places. It still worked. Once the pastry was baked I added some chopped dark chocolate. I just placed it on the freshly baked pastry and brushed it over as it melted. I like that little hint of chocolate with the fruit.

 

12Oct_ChocolateAdded

 

 

Whilst the pastry was baking I made the crème patisserie, it is so easy to make it just requires some patience. I used 5 tbsp of corn flour instead of the additional two eggs and I find that that works just as well, see an example recipe here.

 

12Oct_VanillaCustardAdded

 

For the cake I had the following fruits

  • figs
  • mango
  • grapes
  • strawberries
  • raspberries
  • pomegranate
  • dried corn flowers for decoration
  • apple juice and agar agar for a glossy finish

 

I rinsed and cut the fruit before loading it on to the cake. I finished by brushing the fruit with the apple juice mixed with agar agar (it needs to be heated) and scattered over some dried corn flowers.

 

12Oct_PartCake

 

12Oct_Cake

 

It is one of my favourite desserts that I actually make myself and it always works!

 

 

 

Comments
6 Responses to “Tart with crème patisserie and lots of fruit”
  1. Thats a gorgeous tart and I love that you loaded with fruit. The combination of the buttery pastry, creamy filling and fruit is divine.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Suzanne
      Thank you! I always try to sneak in as much veg and/or fruit as possible and this time I could unashamedly load on as much fruit as I had available! 🙂

  2. Tracy says:

    Wow!! This is sooo beautiful! What a perfect Sunday lunch desserts!

  3. Whoa Petra! That is a beautiful, loaded tart! Love all the fruits you have added! Looks amazing.

Leave a Reply

