Messing with a classic, a new take on lobster bisque

What is wrong with the classics? The dishes that have made it, sometimes through centuries. The truth is there is nothing wrong at all with the classics and they are called classics for a reason. It is only my inability to follow a recipe to the tee that makes me change pretty much any recipe I come across. This time I wanted to make lobster bisque. I did read quite a few original recipes and no surprise at all, they are all quite the same. I didn’t manage at all to follow any of them so I invited the neighbours and began to experiment. There is nothing like a bit of pressure and I know they would be honest. I also had other nibbles just in case.

 

Lobster bisque with crumpet

preparation time 10 minutes

cooking time ca 30 mins + 10 mins

serves 4 as a starter

Ingredients

  • the shell from 1 cooked lobster
  • 1 knob of butter, about 20 gram or 0.7 oz
  • 1 carrot
  • 1 celery stalk
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 chipotle chile
  • 1 tbsp tomato puree
  • 1/2 tsp Szechuan peppercorns
  • 1 bayleaf
  • 1 stalk dried thyme
  • 2 tbsp Shaoxing rice wine
  • 2 litre of water or 10 cups

For the bisque

  • 1 shallot onion
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup lobster cooking liquid
  • 1.5 dl or 3/4 cup light cream
  • trimmings from the lobster meat, any lobster butter, roe and remaining cooking juices still in the lobster
  • salt to taste

Garnish

  • Dill
  • lobster meat, chopped
  • toasted crumpet

Remove the meat from the shell, take care of any remaining cooking juices in the lobster. Remember to take out the butter from inside the lobsters head. I know I have said it before, it doesn’t look very attractive but it has a great flavour.

 

20Nov_LobsterMeat

 

Set the shells aside for cooking. 20Nov_LobsterShells

 

Melt the butter in a pan and add the lobster shells. Let them fry for a few minutes before adding the chopped onion, celery and carrot.

 

20Nov_SearingShells&Veg

 

20Nov_ChoppedVeg

 

After a few minutes I added 2 crushed and roughly chopped cloves of garlic, the chopped chipotle chile, the Shaoxing rice wine and the Szechuan peppercorns.

 

20Nov_AdditionalSpices

 

Add the tomato purée and let it cook out for a couple of minutes before adding the bayleaf and the thyme.  Last add the water, bring it to a boil and leave without a lid until about a quarter remains. This should take about 30 minutes.

 

20Nov_ReducingStock

 

Strain the lobster and vegetables and discard everything except the chipotle chile. Save the liquid.

20Nov_StrainingLobsterStock

 

Chop a shallot onion 20Nov_ChoppedShallotOnion

 

Pan fry the shallot onion and the chipotle chile in a little butter. Add the lobster cooking liquid and let simmer for 5-8 minutes. Place the soup in a blender with the lobster meat trimmings and the lobster butter. Save the cooking liquid saved from when you took the meat out of the lobster if there was any. Place everything in a blender and whizz until smooth. Rinse the pan and place the bisque back in the pan. Set the heat on simmering, add the saved cooking liquid and taste with salt. Chop some of the lobster meat and toast a crumpet. Lately I had a bit of a crush on crumpets and I thought it might go well with the bisque. It is usually eaten toasted with melting butter on top but it isn’t sweet at all and it has sort of a chewy texture. I only used the top bit of the crumpet and broke it down to use for garnish.

 

There is so much cream a little soup goes a long way and I decided to serve it in espresso cups. Pour in the bisque, add the lobster meat, the crumpet and the dill before serving.

 

20Nov_LobsterBisque

 

I sliced the lobster tail and made my lobster and parmesan canapés, see recipe here.

 

20Nov_LobsterCanape

 

It was a great use of the whole lobster. The Szechuan peppercorns and the chipotle chile added a nice heat without overpowering the lobster flavour in the bisque. I will make it again, it was worth messing with a classic!

 

I am bring my bisque to Angie’s fun filled Fiesta Friday, the foodie party made for sharing! Her two co hosts this week is, like last week, Tracy, Scratch It and Stephanie, The Cozy Cook. Tracy brought some delicious and fresh looking whipped feta and arugula and Stephanie brought a hearty looking crock pot beef stew! Head over to their blogs and have a look!

FoodFiestaFriday

 

 

 

 

Comments
22 Responses to “Messing with a classic, a new take on lobster bisque”
  1. soullfire says:

    Never had this dish, but it looks delicious.

  2. Tracy says:

    Messing with? No way- improving is more like it! Looks amazing! Happy Fiesta Friday! 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Tracy

      ha ha thank you! 🙂 It worked well and between us I was so relieved, especially when the neighbours made those sounds that means it was good whilst eating it! Happy FF! 🙂

  3. I really love bisque whether lobster, crab or shrimp. I think you have stuck with the classic method of prep but have given it your signature and made it contemporary, Beautifully done.

  4. Stephanie @ The Cozy Cook says:

    Whoooaaa… I lovee thiiiisss! The idea of serving it in espresso cups is genius, I’m a sucker for creamy soups (BIG time…) so I’ll have to adopt that idea! I love that you got creative with the recipe too, anyone can google lobster bisque and like you said, many soup recipes are very similar so it’s so great that yours is unique. I’ve always wanted to try Lobster Bisque so I’ll keep this recipe in mind when I take the plunge! 🙂 Happy Fiesta Friday!!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Stephanie
      Thank you 🙂 It was easier that I anticipated for some reason! If you like creamy soups this is a great one to try! I had some stock left over and I used crab meat for that one instead of the extra lobster and it works just as well! 🙂 Happy FF!

  5. chefjulianna says:

    Oh my! As always, Petra, this is beyond divine! I would make this in a heartbeat! LD

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julianna
      I am so glad you like it. I won’t discard away the lobster shells any more they are way too delicious for that! 🙂 x

  6. Jing says:

    I love lobsters and that cream soup looks absolutely delicious for absorbing the taste of the onions and lobster meat!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Jing
      Thank you so much. Lobster is a treat and they are so fresh here it is amazing! The cream just highlighted the flavours, so naughty but delicious! 🙂

  7. I use to make a shrimp bisque and your recipe has stimulated my taste buds 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Judi
      I love shrimp bisque. The lobster here is so cheap I couldn’t help myself but a mix of the two I am sure would be fab as well! 🙂

  8. Love love love lobstwr bisque. It’s been a long time since I made it from scratch. The French add cognac and flambé the shells before making the stock:))) This looks so delish!!!!!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Joanne
      Thank you! I did look at the flambé method but didn’t in the end, this was so easy and so tasty! I saved some of the stock and added crab and that was great as well. 🙂

  9. ninoalmendra says:

    Wow, one of my favorite soup. Sad to say I never had the chance to make it from scratch. I’m sure your version of lobster bisque is way more delicious from the one I had onboard. =)

    • petra08 says:

      hi Nino
      Thank you! I am sure no matter what you cook it is delicious! 🙂
      I was quite pleased and my guests seemed very happy so a bit of a relief!

  10. A Home Cook says:

    Would you believe we had a lobster last week, for the first time in years. If only I’d seen this by then.

    • petra08 says:

      Oh no! Well, next time 🙂 If the lobster is fresh you can always freeze the shells and use them later, great with shells from crab and/or prawns as well 🙂 Maybe next time!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] A New Take on Lobster Bisque from Petra @Food Eat Love. […]



Leave a Reply

