Lamb chops with fruity bulgur wheat

Should you mix fruit with savoury dishes or not? Some hate it and some love it. I have a friend who just hates it and every time she does encounter it she will do a loud explanation (again) about why this is wrong. Whilst she is doing that I think it is a lovely combination. Sometimes the tartness, and/or sweetness of fruit compliments the fish or meat very well. I was thinking of what would go well together whilst roaming through my fridge finding half a pomegranate and half a pineapple that both needed to be used. I had lamb chops for dinner and decided that there should be a way to merge these flavours.

In my clearing out mode I also came across some endive and a piece of stilton and I decided to make a salad. Last week I bought walnut oil from Isaura’s Fine Foods down the road. It is a treasure of lovely foods and different treats.

 


NoixOil

 

The walnut oil is just perfect with salads but I also love it on pizza, who would have thought and don’t ask me why I decided to try this! Toasted nuts and sesame seeds are a delicious addition that brings out the nuttiness of the oil.

 

Endive and stilton salad 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • lettuce leaves
  • 1 head of endive
  • 1 small handful of pecan nuts
  • 1 tsp sesame seeds
  • stilton cheese
  • walnut oil
  • balsamic glaze
  • sea salt and pepper

Rinse and tear the lettuce leaves. Slice the endive. Toast the pecan nuts and sesame seeds. Crumble the stilton in to the leaves and sprinkle over walnut oil. Taste with a pinch of sea salt and a twist of pepper. Add the toasted nuts and sesame seeds and last the balsamic glaze. It is such a simple but delicious salad.

 

09Nov_Salad

 

We don’t have many parsnips but we did grow a few. They looked amazing and we finally decided to pull some up. Much to out surprise they seemed very large from above but they were more round than parsnip shaped. Despite this they looked just fine so I decided to roast them with some carrots.

 

Honey roasted root vegetables 

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 25-35 minutes

oven 180C or 360F

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 parsnips
  • 1 carrot
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp runny honey
  • 1 good pinch of cumin seeds
  • black pepper

Peel and cut the parsnip and carrot. I cut them quite fine as I wanted them to cook quite quickly. Place the vegetables in a bag or a bowl, add the remaining ingredients and make sure they are completely coated. Place in a roasting tray and bake until soft.

 

Whilst the parsnip and carrot was roasting I peeled the pineapple, added some cayenne pepper and salt and roasted it with the vegetables. Roasting the pineapple makes it juicy and it brings out the sweetness.

 

09Nov_Pineapple

 

I prepared some bulgur wheat and picked the seeds from the pomegranate.

 

When the root vegetables were almost ready I added salt and pepper to the lamb chops and pan fried them in a hot pan. They were so thin they didn’t need a lot of cooking, just a good all around searing.

 

09Nov_LambChops

 

I added the pomegranate seeds to the bulgur wheat and mixed it. I placed it in a bowl with the pineapple and the roasted root vegetables on top. A sprinkle of good olive oil finished it off.

 

09Nov_VegAndPineapple

 

I prepared some garlic butter to go with the lamb chops and we finished all of it.

 

Comments
8 Responses to “Lamb chops with fruity bulgur wheat”
  1. Mr Fitz says:

    Lamb chops are great

  2. Ginger says:

    I love bulgur – and that combo sounds perfect!

  3. I love the combination of sweet and savory! What a wonderful meal!

  4. Arl's World says:

    I have never had lamb chops but these look delicious!! Love the combination with fruit and salad.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Arl
      Lamb chops are delicious little nuggets of the best meat! They cook in no time and taste delicious. And the meat goes very well with the fruit 🙂

Leave a Reply

