Two kinds of spiced chicken wings and blue cheese dressing on Black Friday

The American tradition Black Friday seems to have hit the UK big time. I saw some crazy shoppers chasing a bargain, stopping at nothing. I can’t remember there having been such a frenzy here before, this is usually reserved for Boxing day, or when IKEA opened in Edmonton in 2005. I didn’t go to the shops I have to admit but I have been thinking about chicken wings for a while and thought why not make an American dinner as a nod to Black Friday.

 

Chicken wings are a humble ingredient that can be so delicious. I like the crispy skin and the soft meat inside. Chicken wings can take a lot of flavour and this time I wanted to make two different kinds.

A while back I had promised to bring chicken wings as a starter to a friends, she had cooked a wonderful Lebanese dinner for us so I thought I would bring some Lebanese seven spiced chicken wings. The only problem was that I couldn’t find any chicken wings. The butcher had a few, not enough and there were none even in the supermarket.

Ever since I have of course been thinking about chicken wings. I had never used Lebanese seven spiced wings but it sounded like a nice combination and I knew I had to try it. Yesterday I found lots of chicken wings and as Black Friday was descending upon the UK I decided to make an American dinner.

When we go to the US on holiday there is always a trade off, I get a full day of shopping and then we have dinner at Hooters. As anyone knows what you eat at Hooters are chicken wings, naked (that means not breaded), spicy with blue cheese dressing and celery sticks.

 

I got about one and a half kilo of chicken wings. I got a bit carried away as this was enough for four! Still I cooked them all as they are nice to eat heated up or even cold.

 

I ended up deciding to make two kinds of spiced wings, one inspired by the Lebanese seven spice. I didn’t have any allspice but I had all the rest. I didn’t follow the measurements exactly but here is a traditional recipe. I didn’t have any ground ginger so I used fresh, here is my Lebanese seven spice mix inspired mix.

 

Lebanese inspired spice mix 

  • 1 tsp crushed black pepper
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp grated nutmeg
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp grated ginger

Mix all of the ingredients and coat half of the chicken wings.

 

29Nov_LebaneseInspiredSpiceMix

 

The other spice mix was more like I would have just done, slightly more traditional and I did a glaze as well.

 

Garlic and ginger spice mix

  • 1 tbsp grated ginger
  • 4 crushed garlic cloves
  • 1 1/2 tsp sesalt
  • 1 tsp crushed black pepper
  • 1 tsp paprika powder
  • 1 dried chilli
  • 1 clove
  • 1 tsp Szechuan peppercorns
  • 1 heaped tsp runny honey
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil

Mix everything and coat the other half of the chicken wings.

 

29Nov_TraditionalSpiceMix

 

Turn the heat in the oven up to 200C or 400F and roast the chicken wings for 30-40 minutes. They are ready when the skin is crispy and they are cooked through.

 

Whilst the chicken is cooking make the glaze for the garlic and ginger spice mix.

 

Hot sauce glaze

  • 2 tbsp hot sauce
  • 1 tbsp runny honey

Let boil for a few minutes and then pour in to a small bowl and set aside.

 

29Nov_Glaze

 

The glaze will have a thick consistency and is easy to brush on.

 

No chicken wing dinner is complete for me without the blue cheese dressing and vegetables.

 

29Nov_Veg

 

Blue cheese dressing

  • 75 gr 0r 2.6 oz blue cheese, I used Stilton
  • 2 tbsp low fat creme fraiche
  • 2 tbsp double cream
  • zest and juice of a lime

Cut up the cheese and add the creme fraiche and cream to a blender.Blend until mixed. I like a few lumps of cheese in the mix but you can mix until it is smooth if you wish. Add the lime zest and juice, mix and taste, I did with some celery.

 

29Nov_CeleryAndDip

 

It worked a treat!

 

I brushed the garlic and chilli chicken with the hot sauce glaze.

 

29Nov_GlazedChickenWings

 

I added some  pomegranate seeds and dinner was ready.

 

29Nov_Wings&Pomegranate

 

The spice mixes were so different, I liked both of them but I do have a weakness for chilli and garlic. We made an impressive dent in the chicken wings, all of the vegetables went and so did most of the blue cheese dressing.

This was a much better way enjoy Black Friday than any shop frenzy, perhaps age is making me comfortable..

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
14 Responses to “Two kinds of spiced chicken wings and blue cheese dressing on Black Friday”
  1. Ginger says:

    I know what you mean about all that Black Friday craziness … so much better to stay at home and have chicken wings!! They look absolutely delicious, perfect for the colder weather 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Ginger
      Thank you 🙂 It was a lot calmer. I might have a go at Cyber Monday from the comfort of my desk but am not sure. I might get stuck on to the leftovers instead!

  2. Good looking chicken wings!

  3. soullfire says:

    Yum yum! I’m amazed at how so many people can devolve into such primitive behavior just to get a “discount” on a store item. You’d think it was a battle for some essential items needed for survival rather than just some materialistic goodies.

    The store only encourage such behavior, and now more and more stores are opening on Thanksgiving in the US, forcing employees to work instead of being with the family.

    • petra08 says:

      I completely agree, sad behaviour. Real time out is becoming the ultimate luxury, leaving little time to take care of the people around us.

  4. Jing says:

    Hey you made chicken wings too 😉 I love the chili and sweet taste on crispy chicken wings! What is the hot sauce you are using here? I used to buy a whole box of chili wings from the local store and ate all in one meal, although I promised I would only eat half….

    • petra08 says:

      hi Jing
      I did 🙂 I bought sooo many we simply couldn’t eat them all despite a good try!
      I make my own hot sauce but any hot sauce that you usually use I am sure would be lovely. Next time I will make more glaze 🙂

  5. wow Petra, these looks amazing! made me very hungry. hope all is well. x

  6. Mr Fitz says:

    Stunning! You gotta love chicken wings..

  7. Do those wings look good! Yum Petra!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Naina
      Thank you! I got a bit carried away and made enough for dinner again tonight! Perfect with mushroom gravy and mash! 🙂

Leave a Reply

