Pineapple roasted pork belly and sage roasted potatoes

The cold weather has finally arrived and I got my woolly hat and my thick winter jacket out. Somehow it feels like walking around with a friend, the jacket is like a duvet and the woolly hat warm and snug. Each season has it’s comforts.

I had some chicken lined up for dinner but after some thinking it was more a day for pork belly. Fruit and pork is a great combination, I usually make a plum jam but I wanted to experiment and today I decided to use a pineapple. My Mexican friend taught me to grill pineapple and eat it with salt and cayenne pepper and that sounded good to me with the pork.

 

Pork and sage is another classic combination. I like the flavour of both but am not so keen on them together. I wanted to make roasted potatoes and decided to use sage here instead. I rubbed each potato with a little oil, salt and added a sage leaf. I opened the tin foil during the last 30 minutes of roasting to crisp up the skin. I roasted them with the pork belly for about one hour and ten minutes or until soft.

 

07Dec_Potatoe

 

I didn’t have time to let the skin dry out so I did a quickie. I boiled water and poured it over the skin and then dried it with paper towels as well as I could.

 

Pineapple roasted pork belly 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 30 minutes + 2 hours

oven 250C or 480F or 180C or 350F

serves 3

Ingredients

  • Pork belly, 500 gr 17 oz
  • 1 medium sized pineapple
  • 1 sprig of sage
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tbsp sea salt
  • 3 dl or 3/4 cup orange juice
  • 4 dl or 2 cups of water

Gravy

  • 1 tbsp butter
  • pepper to taste
  • 1 tbsp of sugar

Peel and cut the core from the pineapple. Sprinkle with sea salt and cayenne pepper. Turn the pineapple over with the spiced side down.

 

07Dec_Pineapple

 

 

Rub salt and cayenne pepper in to the skin of the pork belly.

 

07Dec_ScoredPork

 

Place the pork belly on top of the pineapple and place in the oven for 30 minutes.

 

Turn the oven down after 30 minutes and pour in the orange juice mixed with water. Let it cook for another hour and a half. I could smell the cooking meat and fresh notes of pineapple and orange.

 

07Dec_RoastedPorkBelly

 

Let the meat rest for at least fifteen minutes before slicing it. Pour the cooking juices in a pan with 1 tbsp of sugar and reduce to half. Add the butter and whisk it in, it will thicken the orange gravy and make it nice and glossy.

 

Melt some butter in a pan and pan fry the sage leaves crispy. Scatter them over the sliced meat.

 

07Dec_SageLeaves

 

07Dec_SlicedPork

 

Serve with steamed spinach, some garlic cream, the gravy and the roasted potatoes.

 

07Dec_PorkDinner

 

The crackling didn’t crackle quite like I had imagined but the meat was tender and soft. Some of the crackling was great and the pineapple was so juicy, slightly tart and sweet at the same time. It was perfect on a dark and cold winter night and there was even a little treat left over for the dogs and afterwards we all chilled out on the sofa.

 

I am bringing this dish to Angie, The Novice Gardener‘s Fiesta Friday. Angie is co hosted by Margy, La Petitie Casserole and  Juju, Cooking with a Juju, both inspirational cooks!

FoodFiestaFriday

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
14 Responses to “Pineapple roasted pork belly and sage roasted potatoes”
  1. alifemoment says:

    Delicious recipe, I love the adding of the pineapple on the pork belly!

  2. Mr Fitz says:

    Reblogged this on Cooking with Mr Fitz and commented:
    That’s reads good to me ..

  3. This sounds delicious! Am wondering if this would be sweet enough with just the pineapple and I omitred the sugar?

    • petra08 says:

      hello

      it works well without the sugar, I just wanted it a little bit sweeter but agave nectar would work as well 🙂 I hope you like it!!

  4. Ginger says:

    This looks amazing! I love sage, too, so this one’s is for keeps 🙂

  5. Jing says:

    I’m going to try this tomorrow! Looks so delicious!

  6. This is the perfect meal! I just love everything abut it. So comforting.

  7. I do love fruits with pork… but never had the chance to eat it with pork… it sound and it looks super yummy! Thanks for being at FF!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a Reply

