Beef burger with pomegranate salsa, carrot slaw and butternut fries

I knew when I woke up that I wanted a burger for dinner. This was my first thought after checking the weather. I am not sure why or how this would be related (it might be the grey and cold day outside but the thought of a burger popped up in my head. I usually go to Burger Bros to get my fix, they do big and juicy burgers that hits the spot.

 

The Tijuana burger from Burger Bros 22March_Tijuana

 

The only problem is that they aren’t open every day and for some reason I couldn’t wait. It helps that we have a good butcher with mince meat that is “burger perfect”. Once I got my mince and a butternut squash for some fries I went home. I would have liked some biroche buns to go with the burger but no such buns seemed available to buy and well, with my baking being less than average there was no way I would even attempt making them myself.

I did have a lovely loaf of fresh sour dough bread and thought this would be perfect.

 

All burgers, no matter how good they are need accompaniments to complete the flavours.

When it comes to burgers I always think of fries. I don’t eat them very often but every now and then it can be delicious. I made butternut squash fries in the oven this time to go with the burgers. I did a spice mix and roasted them. A nice and healthier option to regular fries.

 

02Dec_Butternut&Spice

 

Good buns are essential, I like a garlic mayonnaise, tomato and onions, lettuce and well, the options are endless. I had a pomegranate that I thought would be perfect for a pomegranate salsa. I have never used pomegranate seeds before for a salsa but they are very fresh and have a great crunch.

 

Pomegranate and avocado salsa

preparation time 10 minutes

cooking time 0 minutes

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 pomegranate
  • 1 ripe avocado
  • 2 spring onions/scallions
  • 1/2 shallot onion
  • 1 red chilli
  • 1 tbsp yuzu juice
  • juice for 1/4 lime
  • 1 heaped tsp agave nectar
  • 1/2 tsp cracked black pepper
  • a pinch of sea salt

Seperate the pomegrante seeds from the shell and set aside. I didn’t use the juice in the salsa as I didn’t want it to be too wet. Peel, remove the stone and cube the avocado. Finley chop the shallot, the chilli and slice the spring onion. Remove the chilli seeds if you don’t want it too hot.

 

02Dec_SalsaIngredients

 

Add the lime juice, the yuzu juice and agave nectar and taste with salt and pepper. Set aside until you are ready to eat.

 

02Dec_PomegranateSalsa

 

 

Carrot slaw

preparation time 5 minutes

cooking time 0 minutes

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 carrots
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 2 tbsp cream
  • 1 tsp grated ginger
  • cracked black pepper

Peel and grate the carrots. Place in a bowl with crushed garlic, the grated ginger and cream. Taste with black pepper and set aside until serving.

 

02Dec_CarrotSalw

 

No burger is complete without mayonnaise. It is one of those matches made in heaven. I like a little mustard on my burger as well so I added grainy mustard to the mayonnaise instead of smooth for an extra mustard flavour.

 

Garlic & mustard mayonnaise 

preparation time 5 minutes

cooking time 0 minutes

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 tbsp white wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp mustard, I used a grainy mustard
  • 1 1/2 dl or 3/4 cup rapeseed oil, or vegetable oil
  • 1 garlic clove
  • a bunch of chopped parsley

Separate the egg yolk from the egg white. Save the egg white for something else and place the yolk in a bowl. Add the mustard and vinegar, mix the ingredients and add the oil, a little at the time whilst whisking. Add more oil if the mayonnaise isn’t set enough. Chop the parsley and crush the garlic before adding it and the mayonnaise is ready.

 

02Dec_GarlicMayo

 

I added salt, pepper and barbecue spice to the minced meat. To make the burgers taste like a burger I made them quite thick and added a slice of cheddar cheese whilst cooking.

 

02Dec_Burgers

 

I cut the sour dough bread in quite thin slices, lightly toasted it and added mayonnaise, lettuce, sliced onion, the salsa and served with the carrot slaw and the butternut fries.

 

02Dec_Burger&Co

 

I liked the thinner bread as I almost always only eat one part of the buns as it tends to fill me up and it did hit my burger spot. The pomegranate salsa added a very satisfying crunch, I will add a little more chilli next time for that extra kick!

 

 

 

 

Comments
One Response to “Beef burger with pomegranate salsa, carrot slaw and butternut fries”
  1. Mr Fitz says:

    loving that! butternut fries? cool!

Leave a Reply

