Spicy Chipotle chile pork adobo the Philippine way

The weather after a rainy Christmas Eve has been beautiful but stormy. The other night I was listening to the winds sweeping around the house blowing anything loose around creating banging noises. The winds are cold but dressed in warm clothes a walk on the beach was fantastic! The sea is quite sheltered here but the waves had been building up and were quite impressive.

 

28Dec_Waves

 

I think I have completely overindulged in food and wine over Christmas and I have a craving for healthy foods and exercise. Beach walks always makes me feel better but I also have a new favourite soup, I actually eat it for breakfast and I feel so much better for it. I have done this three mornings in a row and it makes me feel a lot less bloated and lighter. It is light, filling and delicious. It can of course be lunch or dinner as well and I have decided to exchange at least one meal/day with this soup for as long as I can eat it. I don’t usually eat soup for breakfast but now I love it.

 

Spicy rice noodle soup

preparation time 2 minutes 

cooking time 8 minutes 

serves 1

Ingredients

  • 4 dl or 2 cups of chicken broth
  • 1 carrot
  • 50 gr or 1.7 oz vermicelli rice noodles
  • 2 tbsp sliced leek
  • 1 tbsp hot sauce
  • garnish, this could be tomato, sliced spring onion, fresh herbs, a little cooked turkey or ham as examples

Peel the carrot and cut julienne. Slice the leek. Heat the broth and add the carrot and the leek, add the hot sauce and boil for 3 minutes. Add the rice noodles (this is the kind that should boil for 5 minutes) and the soup is ready when the noodles are. If you have rice noodles that should just soak place them in the bowl and  pour the hot soup over, eat when the noodles are soft.

 

27Dec_NoodleSoup

 

Feeling better after my somewhat strange choice of breakfast I felt my foodie spirits lift and I was ready to cook a recipe I had seen that looked delicious.

The recipe is Adobong Tadyang, short ribs of beef cooked the Philippine way. Adobo is a Philippine dish and the basics is meat or seafood in a marinade of garlic, vinegar and soy sauce. The meat or seafood is then cooked in the marinade. I had never heard of this dish before and couldn’t wait to try it when I found a recipe on saveur.com that I couldn’t resist cooking. This was made of short ribs. Short ribs aren’t too easy to get a hold of here but I had some pork chops, off the bone, in the fridge and I thought this would be good as well. I made some changes to the recipe so here is my version.

 

Spicy pork adobo

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 1 ½ hours 

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 800 gr or 28 oz of pork loin steaks
  • oil to brown the meat
  • 3 chipotle chiles
  • 24 garlic cloves
  • 4 fresh bayleaves
  • 4 dl or 2 cups of chicken stock
  • 4 dl or 2 cups of lightcoconut milk
  • 1 ½ dl or 3/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1 dl or ½ cup rice wine vinegar
  • ½ dl or 1/4 cup fig vinegar
  • 1 tsp fresh ground black pepper
  • salt
  • 1 handful of kale
  • 200 gr or 7 oz sweetcorn
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup caster sugar

The many garlic cloves gives the dish a wonderful aroma.

 

28Dec_Ingredients

 

Chipotles have an amazing smokiness about them and they have a heat that gives a nice kick. I used three of them and it gave the dish such a heat kick M said he felt chillified and had a nice red, warm glow on him! Perhaps two will be enough next time.

 

28Dec_Chipotles

 

Peel the garlic cloves, give the chipotles a rough chop. Salt and pepper the pork whilst heating oil in a frying pan. Brown the pork chops and place in a pan with a lid. Add the garlic, bay leaves and chipotles. The chipotles will start giving off the smokiness as they heat up and it smells great.

 

28Dec_PanFriedChops

 

 

Add the soy sauce, the vinegars, the chicken stock and the coconut milk and bring to a boil. Turn the heat down and let simmer under lid for an hour or until the meat is tender.

 

28Dec_Cooking

 

Rinse the kale and remove the stems. This was the last of the kale from the garden.

 

28Dec_Kale

 

Remove the meat and keep it warm, add the sugar and reduce the sauce to half. When five minutes remain add the kale and the sweetcorn. Last add the meat and serve.

 

The recipe suggested rice to go with the adobo but the Swede (we are mad about potatoes) in me chose roasted potato wedges for extra texture.

 

28Dec_Abodo

 

Besides chillyfying M (a little entertaining) this dish is delicious. I did some research and there seem to be different variations but the base, garlic, soy sauce and vinegar is the same across. I did more sauce than the original recipe called for but I like plenty of it and what a delicious dish! Any left over sauce would be great the next day, just add some chicken if there is no meat left and you will have a quick and very flavoursome meal.

 

As the weather today is so windy and rainy I am bring this very warming dish to Angie’s always great foodie party Fiesta Friday, the first of the year!

This time she has 2 great co hosts,  Mr Fitz who cooks the most amazing foods, have a look around his blog and be inspired and Kalia who shares great Gluten Free recipes!

FoodFiestaFriday

 

 

Comments
15 Responses to “Spicy Chipotle chile pork adobo the Philippine way”
  1. Ginger says:

    This looks amazing! I’ll have to get back to this once I’m finished with my Mexican wave 😉

    • petra08 says:

      hi Ginger
      Thank you! I was so intrigued when I read the original recipe I knew I had to make it. I love chipotle chiles so I couldn’t resist a bit of Mexican heat in there as well. I love cooking new things when it is so nice 🙂

  2. Mr Fitz says:

    loving that dish! those waves look cool too! Happy FF49! Thanks for bringing this to the party!

  3. Having had a bad cold for over a week, your soup looks like it would be the cure. I think I will follow your example.

    Happy New Year.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Liz
      So sorry to hear you are not feeling well 😦 I hope the soup might help and that you feel better soon! Happy New Year! 🙂

  4. Kaila511 says:

    Every time I find a new soup that I love, I could eat it three meals a day, so I completely understand. Thank you so much for bringing this warm treat to Fiesta Friday; I’m sure it will be a hit! Happy 2015! 😀

    • petra08 says:

      hi Kalia
      The soup is so great, filling and still light! if I eat it for lunch I simply add a little more hot sauce! Happy 2015! 🙂

  5. andy says:

    fantastic dish !! can we substitute the pork with goat meat ?
    happy 2015 Petra 🙂

  6. This sounds fantastic, just the thing to warm us up at this time of year!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a Reply

