Spicy tomato soup

The holidays are over, the winds are getting colder and it is time for soup. I went to see a friend the other day and she made lunch, tomato soup with a cheesy toast. It made me remember a tomato soup I used to make and all of the sudden I felt an urge to make tomato soup. I think it is one of those soups that is so hearty and easy to make. I went to the shop and bought the tomatoes the same day, next time I will buy them a few days ahead and let them ripen on my kitchen counter for extra flavour. I read two recipes, one from chef Gordon Ramsay and one from Tom Kerridge, two chefs that make wonderful food and really know about flavour. This recipe is a mix of their recipes and it worked out really well. I like this recipe as it is quite lean but it is rich in taste and is wonderfully thick.

 

Tomato soup

preparation time 5 minutes

cooking time 25 minutes

oven 180C or 360F

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 5 tomatoes
  • 2 dried sprigs of thyme, leaves only
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 onion
  • 1 dried chilli (I used quite a hot chilli and left the seeds in)
  • 4 cherry tomatoes
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • black pepper
  • 1 tbsp olive oil

For the blender

  • a good, thick slice of white bread
  • 1 tbsp honey

When blended

  • 2 dl or 1 cup of chicken or vegetable stock

Cut the tomatoes and remove the core. Chop the onion and place in an oven roasting dish. Peel and chop the garlic and add with the tomatoes. Scatter over the dried thyme and salt, add the cinnamon stick, break up the dried chilli and drizzle over the olive oil.

 

17Dec_PreppedTomatoes

 

Roast in the oven for 25 minutes. It should start smelling lovely from the onions, tomatoes and the cinnamon. Cut the crust of the bread and set aside.

 

17Dec_RoastedTomatoes

 

Remove the cinnamon stick and place all of the ingredients together with white bread, torn in pieces and the honey in the blender. Blend until smooth. Loosen the soup with the stock if needed but it should have a quite thick consistency. The chilli was hotter than I had expected so I served the soup with some low fat yoghurt and more of the white bread.

 

17Dec_TomatoSoup

 

I had a small bowl of soup left and I put it in the fridge, it was too good to waste.

 

I wanted to make dumplings for dinner and went to the fishmongers for some cod. I was planning to make cod and feta cheese dumplings. I got completely side tracked by fresh crab and came home with a crab and no cod. I had a new idea for crab and avocado. There were a couple of avocados that needed to be eaten and they would be perfect with the crab.

 

Crab and avocado dumplings

preparation time 20 minutes

cooking time 10 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • crab meat from 1 cooked crab, brown and white meat separated (remove the gills, they are poisonous)
  • 1 large or 2 small avocados
  • 1/2 tomato
  • 1 small carrot
  • 1 red chilli, de seeded
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • juice of 1/4 lemon
  • 1 garlic clove
  • wonton wrappers

Peel and cube the avocado. Peel and cut the carrot and the chilli in to fine cubes. Grate the lemon zest and crush the garlic clove. Mix the ingredients with the brown crab meat and the lemon juice. Cut the tomato in to cubes and add.

 

17Dec_BrownCrabMeatMix

 

Taste and add more lemon juice, salt or pepper if needed. Brown crab meat isn’t a looker but it has tons of flavour.

 

Place a teaspoon of filling on a wonton wrapper. I did two different kinds, one where I folded the dumplings.

 

17Dec_Filling

 

17Dec_Dumplings

 

I crimped the other dumplings.

 

Place the folded dumplings to steam. My bamboo basket is too small so I used the vegetable steamer.

 

17Dec_DumplingsForSteaming

 

I steamed half of the dumplings with bok choy and made pot sticker dumplings from the rest. Heat up the remaining hot tomato soup and serve with the dumplings. It makes for a different sauce to the usual soy based sauce but crab and chilli is such a great combination.

 

17Dec_DumplingDinner

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
2 Responses to “Spicy tomato soup”
  1. Corina says:

    I love a spicy tomato soup. It’s definitely the time to be healthy now and this sounds like jsut the type of soup I’d love to make and eat.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Corina
      It was so easy to make and the bread made it nice and thick as well! Chilli and tomato is a great combo isn’t it? 🙂

Leave a Reply

