Earl Grey tea and orange glazed duck

Do you have any foods you like but only in small doses and not too often? I have a split relationship with duck. I like crispy duck but am not to keen on duck otherwise. It is a very rich meat and I don’t eat it very often but when I saw duck legs for sale I knew I had to get some. I usually cook it in the oven and infuse it with rosemary.This time I wanted a different flavour. Needless to say the legs were cooked crispy.

I got four teas from Dragonfly Tea to test, Classic Earl Grey, Moonlight Jasmine, Mountain Honeybush and Skinny Dragon, a Pu’er tea. I have not been paid to write this, Dragonfly Teas simply wanted me to sample their teas and give my opinion. I wanted to do something different and see how I could incorporate the teas in to food.

As I looked through the selection over a cup of the Earl Grey I thought I would use tea to make a glaze for the duck and I picked the Earl Grey. I love the slight hint of bitterness and the citrus notes of bergamot.

 

13Jan_EarlGrey

 

I started with the duck legs as they would take the longest. Set the oven to 150C or 300F. Salt and pepper the duck legs, place on a rack in an oven proof dish and roast for 2 hours. Whilst that is roasting make the glaze.

 

Earl Grey tea and orange glaze

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 30 minutes 

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 2 dl or 1 cup Earl Grey Tea
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup freshly squeezed orange juice, I used fresh to control the sugar added
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup of raw cane caster sugar
  • 1/2 tsp chilli flakes

Boil water and add a tea bag and steep for 3-4 minutes.

 

13Jan_Tea

 

Squeeze the oranges 13Jan_Oranges

 

Crush the chilli 13Jan_ChilliFlakes

 

Place all of the ingredients and the sugar in a pan and bring to a boil. Skim and boil down until you get a syrup consistency. When 30 minutes remains of the roasting of the duck legs baste them with the glaze once or twice and once more before serving.

 

Mix the remaining glaze once cooled with low fat yoghurt and serve on the side.

 

13Jan_DippingSauce

 

I had a request for mash to go with the duck and opted for cauliflower mash, lighter and a little healthier.

 

Cauliflower mash with fennel pollen

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 15-20 minutes, or until the the cauliflower is cooked through

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1/2 head of cauliflower
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 2-3 tbsp low fat yoghurt
  • salt to taste
  • fennel pollen to sprinkle over the mash
  • pumpkin seeds
  • chia seeds
  • 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper

Separate the florets and cut the biggest ones in half. I used the best looking leaves as well.

 

13Jan_Cauliflower

 

Once cooked place the cauliflower in the blender with the butter and yoghurt. Blend until smooth, place in a pan and keep warm. Taste with salt. Roast the pumpkin and chia seeds. Before serving give it a generous sprinkle of fennel pollen and serve the seeds on the side.

 

13Jan_CauliflowerMash

 

When the duck was cooked I took it out of the oven and added the last glaze.

 

13Jan_GlazedDuck

 

The fennel pollen enhanced the cauliflower mash and it was delicious. There is a lot of wild fennel growing here and after the summer I will make sure to collect some.

 

13Jan_Duck&Mash

 

The cauliflower mash is so soft it needs the crunch and texture from the seeds.

The glaze added a citrus note, the Earl Grey added depth to the flavour and the chilli flakes gave a warm background note. I didn’t want to make the glaze hot, just enhance the flavours. I was so happy with the result and will try the glaze with chicken or pork next time.

 

I am bringing a big plate of the glazed duck legs to Angie’s foodie party, Fiesta Friday. It might be the most diverse and fun filled party around so head over there for some seriously delicious foods and inspiration!

This week her co hosts are Jhuls, The Not so Creative Cook, and Juju, Cooking with a Juju. They make wonderful food so have a look at their blogs and get inspired! 🙂

FoodFiestaFriday

 

 

 

Comments
22 Responses to “Earl Grey tea and orange glazed duck”
  1. Where was this recipe when I was researching duck for Christmas dinner?! Cauliflower is all over the place isn’t it. What an amazing and versatile vegetable.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Liz
      Thank you!
      I love cauliflower! You can do almost anything with it 🙂 I have childhood memories of an over boiled and tasteless veggie, a bit of a crime to cook it that way isn’t it?
      Glad you like the recipe, if you get some duck legs it is well worth making! Don’t wait until Christmas! 🙂

  2. Loretta says:

    Earl Grey is my favorite tea, quite intrigued how you used it in your duck glaze. I’ve never cooked duck before, but have enjoyed it every so often, yours looks wonderful!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      Thank you! I am more fond of the legs than the breast and this is a super easy way to cook it. It is great like here with mash, or in the summer in a crunchy salad. I love Earl Grey and I was wondering if it would get bitter being boiled down but it gave the glaze a rich background note. 🙂

  3. I agree with you when it comes to duck – once in awhile but your legs look great especially with the glaze. I used tea recently in some rice I made. Thanks for bringing this dish to the party at Angie’s. See you next week for the first anniversary of FF 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Juju
      Glad you like it 🙂 The glaze worked.
      I will try the rice with tea, it sounds delicious!
      Happy FF and thanks for co hosting 🙂

  4. That duck looks great! I do like duck but kind of agree, you can’t have it too often. This looks a good idea for one of the times you do, though.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Caroline
      Duck is such a rich meat but lovely every now and then. Glad you like it and thanks for stopping by 🙂

  5. I’m with you, Petra. Duck in small doses…but this? Well, it looks fabulous. Perfectly crispy and delicious! ❤

  6. Hilda says:

    Two great recipes here. I love the idea of fennel pollen with the cauliflower and will look to see if we have any growing around here. As for the tea in the glaze and the sauce, simply brilliant.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Hilda
      Thank you 🙂
      Fennel pollen is funny, it sorts of lifts other flavours. It was lovely with the mild cauliflower. There is wild fennel around but I didn’t pick any last year so will try this year instead, I bought this batch and it is quite expensive! The tea glaze will be tried on other meats, fish and maybe tofu as well! Have a great weekend 🙂

  7. Your duck is just beautiful. The skin looks perfect. I’ve never used fennel pollen before. Intriguing.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julie
      Thank you! The duck worked out nice. Fennel pollen is a wonderful addition, it sort of like just enhances the flavours of other things. It can be quite expensive to buy (or at least I seems to have bought an expensive kind) but a sprinkle goes a long way, perfect on pasta dishes! 🙂

  8. Mandi says:

    The concept of using earl grey tea (my favourite tea by the way) is amazing – I never thought of doing that and I think I will definitely try it sometime soon – with duck or maybe some pork like you suggested. Nice!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Mandi

      I am glad you like it, I am sure any citrus would be great for the glaze. I agree with you that Earl Grey is a wonderful tea! 🙂

  9. That duck just looks incredibly perfect! I nearly had to wipe away the drool… I haven’t had duck in so long, and your recipe just made me want it even more! I love eating duck with the crispy skin too 🙂
    The glaze and the cauliflower looks and sounds brilliant! I will be using that glaze on chicken at some point because I love the sound of the flavours together 🙂 Sharing it with my sister too, because she will love it just as much as me!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Dini
      Thank you! I did eat all of the skin I have to confess! No point not to really 🙂 I am sure it would really well on chicken, the glaze was so easy to make and I hope both you and your sister will like it 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and your lovely comment! x

  10. chefjulianna says:

    Wow, Petra! As usual you bowl me over with your amazing creativity! This recipe is so refined! So much flavour – I will be dreaming of this for awhile!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a Reply

