Coconut curry in a hurry

I forgot to eat lunch and all of the sudden I had that really hungry feeling that I have to eat NOW! I considered the fastest options but with the fridge fairly empty at the moment, I should have gone to the shops but forgot. I was working on a document and got so in to it, before I knew it, it was afternoon and time to take the dogs for a walk and the main part of the day was gone.

 

I did a quick inventory and decided that the fastest and healthiest option would be a vegetarian coconut curry. I used pretty much what was left of the vegetables in the fridge for a quick curry. It was ready to eat in less than twenty minutes. Very straight forward and easy to make.

 

At the end of the summer I had a glut of chillies. I already had three large bunches drying and hot sauce for the whole year so I decided to make a paste to preserve them and to have something quick and easy to add to my cooking. I mixed chilli, ginger and garlic with some secret ingredients and it really preserved the lovely taste and smell of the chilli.

 

27Jan_SpicePaste

 

Coconut curry 

preparation time 5-10 minutes 

cooking time 10 minutes 

serves 2-3

Ingredients

  • 1 tin of light coconut milk
  • 1/2 tin of water
  • 1 carrot
  • 2 spring onions/scallions
  • 2 slices of butternut squash
  • 5 Brussels sprouts
  • 6 mushrooms
  • 1 piece of ginger
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 2 tsp chilli paste
  • 1 tbsp fish sauce
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup of Mung Dal lentils
  • 1 portion of flat rice noodles
  • 1 cube vegetable stock

Last minute additions

  • 2 spring onions/scallions
  • 1/4 pepper
  • zest and juice of 1 lemon
  • chilli flakes (optional)

Peel and cut the carrot julienne, or slice it if you prefer. Peel and cube the butternut squash. Brush and slice the mushrooms and remove the outer leaves of the Brussels sprouts and slice them. Peel the garlic and the ginger.

 

27Jan_Veg

 

Open the coconut milk and pour in to a pan, add another 1/2 tin of water and the stock cube.

Add the Brussels sprouts, the lentils, the butternut squash, mushrooms and the carrot. Let simmer for five minutes.

After five minutes add the fish sauce, the chilli paste, grated ginger and crushed garlic. Let simmer for a minute and add the noodles. When the noodles are cooked add the lemon zest and juice, scatter over the sliced spring onion and the chopped paprika. Add more salt to taste if wished.

 

I am sure that lime would work very well instead of lemon but the sourness was needed to bring out the flavours and balance the dish.

Last add a sprinkle of chilli flakes if you like and enjoy.

 

27jan_Curry

 

The curry was incredibly filling and for having such a short cooking time it had lots of flavour. Any left over vegetables would work I am sure, it is great for clearing out the fridge and still have a hearty dinner.

 

 

 

Comments
6 Responses to “Coconut curry in a hurry”
  1. What a lovely quick curry and a great way to use the vegetables in the fridge. It looks wonderful and I love how easy and quick it is.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Suzanne
      Thank you 🙂 I agree that it is great when you use all the left over veg and make a great dish! And nice and hot food when it is so cold! It was super filling as well, yay! 🙂

  2. Thank you for this quick and easy recipe ! I will make sure to have those ingredients in the fridge next time I work from home 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Camille
      Many thanks for stopping by 🙂 Am so glad you like it, it as super quick and easy and I hope you will like it 🙂

  3. petra08 says:

    hi Jack
    If you try any of the curries this is stunning! 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Love also has these great looking recipes; Julianna’s delicious Japanese curry, a vegetarian coconut curry in a hurry, (I am certain my friend from SoCal could try this ‘what’s in the fridge’ dish), […]



Leave a Reply

