Valentines dinner, prawn mousse with mango and soy

I don’t know how a dish sometimes appear in my thoughts but lately prawn mousse has been on my mind. It might have been a conversation with a friend about seafood and what goes with it. Once the thought appeared I then had to think of how to make it, should I stuff something, dumplings, a fish, a vegetable? In the end I was after quite a “clean” prawn flavour. I decided to get my moulds out and make steamed prawn mousse.

I wanted to create something different, something that would complement the prawns and wake up my taste buds. After a lot of thinking and cupboard and fridge searching I went for a prawn mousse with mango and a light soy based sauce. Sweet mango and salty soy sauce sounded like a nice combination with the prawns.

There is no time for a romantic meal on the 14th so here, and a little early, is our Valentines dinner! The prawn mousse was a great starter and for main nothing does it like a rib of beef.

 

Prawn mousse with mango and soy

preparation time 10 minutesΒ 

cooking time 20 minutesΒ 

oven 140C or 280F

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 225 gr or 8 oz peeled, raw prawns
  • 1 tbsp cream
  • 1 egg white from a goose egg or a large hens egg
  • 1 tsp chopped parsley
  • zest of 1/2 lemon
  • a pinch of salt
  • a pinch of ground white pepper

Serve with

  • sliced ripe mango
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • fresh grated ginger
  • chilli flakes

Mince about 2/3 of the prawns. Chop the rest quite fine. Add the egg white, the cream, lemon and parsley. Last add the salt and the pepper. Keep the mixture on ice or in the fridge,it needs to be as cold as possible.

 

07Feb_PrawnMousseMix

 

Place moulds in an oven proof dish in tinfoil. You need to steam the prawn mousse in a bain marie. Boil water, add the prawn mousse to the tins and close the tin foil around it, leave just a small opening for the steam to escape.

 

07Feb_PrawnMousseToCook

 

 

Cook in a bain marie, Place the prawns mousse in the oven and pour boiling water in to the oven proof dish, around the tin foil.

 

The mousse is ready when set, it will be slightly firm to touch. Loosen the edges with a sharp knife, lift and place on a plate. Slice the mango thin and place on top. Mix the soy based sauce and pour it on to the plate. Last I added some chilli flakes to add a little bit of heat.

 

07Feb_PrawnMousseServed

 

The prawn taste really came out and I liked the mix of the minced prawn and the chopped pieces running through. The sweet mango, the hot chilli and the salty soy helped emphasize the prawn flavour and I think the recipe is a keeper.

 

A rib of beef is always a treat. I cooked it in the oven at 180C or 350F until it had an inner temperature of 57 C/135 F. After that I let it rest for 20 minutes before cutting it. The meat will continue to cook and the beef ended up with an inner temperature of 62 C/144 F. I served it with roasted potato wedges and Brussels sprouts, onion butter and blue cheese stuffed smoked chestnut mushrooms.

 

07Feb_SmokedMushroms

 

To finish it off I quickly stir fried some cabbage with garlic, ginger and a hint of chilli.

 

07Feb_RibOfBeef

 

07Feb_RibOfBeef&Trimmings

 

 

I almost never make desserts but no Valentines meal is complete without one. I had a goose egg white left over and did chocolate mousses and served it with segmented satsuma. I had cheese and fruit on stand by but I have to admit we never made it that far!

 

07Feb_ChocolateMousse

 

Food can tell so much and in this case it worked perfectly to create a romantic feeling. Happy Valentines everyone!

Speaking of happy, every week I look forward to participating in Angie’s, authors of the blog The Novice Gardener, Fiesta Friday, an amazingly fun and delicious foodie party! If you haven’t checked out the blog and the party head over there now! Angie has two co hosts, Sonal, simplyvegetarian777 and Josette, The Brook Cook. Sonal has brought the prettiest chocolate covered strawberries I have ever seen to the party! Josette treated us to green empanadas, they look so good I would have a hard time refraining from having a second one, perhaps even a third! What a happy, early Valentine!

FoodFiestaFriday

 

 

 

 

Comments
33 Responses to “Valentines dinner, prawn mousse with mango and soy”
  1. This is amazing share Petra. I am a Vegetarain but that doesn’t stop me from admiring such a beauty. The thought itself for the dish is beautiful. Soy mango sounds delightful. Making a mousse with prawns is another excellent execution of this dish. I am just bowled over this dish. Now I am scratching my head as to how I perceive this into a vegetarian dish… Mushrooms? Tofu? Suggest me something…
    Love it!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Sonal
      Thank you for your lovely comment πŸ™‚ I am so glad you like it.
      I would use button mushrooms (white ones for the colour), if you can find them, perhaps smoked ones for extra flavour? I would cook them and blitz 2/3 in a blender and mix with a spoonful or so silken tofu for stability, chop the rest for texture and then cook like the recipe. Saying this I will have to try to make some, it never occurred to me to make a vegetarian version but I am sure it would be lovely! Let me know if you make it πŸ™‚

  2. thebrookcook says:

    What a beautiful presentation of a special dish πŸ™‚ The mango garnish is lovely!! πŸ™‚ Josette

  3. Everything on that plate is calling out to me Petra! What lovely flavors!!

  4. Corina says:

    The mousse looks so pretty and the rib of beef looks amazing!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Corina
      Am so glad you like it. The rib of beef was great, it is so worth getting really good meat sometimes isn’t it? πŸ™‚

  5. varinaj says:

    Wait, what? You had goose egg white leftovers? #soimpressed

    • petra08 says:

      hi Varina
      have to admit it isn’t often I have duck eggs at all lingering but I think they are a lovely treat every now and then! πŸ™‚

  6. Looks lovely! What a great idea to do a prawn mousse! And love the mangoes!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Indu
      Thank you so much πŸ™‚ Am goad you like it! The mango worked really well and I was so happy with the result. πŸ™‚

  7. Loved the recipe. So gourmet! πŸ™‚
    -Anugya

  8. Lori says:

    I’ve never heard of anything like this! Impressive!

  9. coconutcraze says:

    Looks amazing! What a creative mousse! A most satisfying dinner! Enjoy Valentine’s day!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Sridevi

      Thank you so much for stopping by and I am glad you liked it πŸ™‚ The starter was super light, nice with all that (yummy) red meat to follow! πŸ™‚

  10. Loretta says:

    Congrats on your feature Petra, and deservedly so :)Happy V-Day!

    • petra08 says:

      Oh Loretta
      I just saw this, thank you so much! πŸ™‚ It makes me so happy!
      Have a lovely, lovely Valentines day and a great weekend! πŸ™‚

  11. This looks absolutely delicious Petra! I love the carved mango for the culminating presentation wow!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Joanne
      Thank you πŸ™‚ It was easy to make and am now just hunting for some diners to come and try it so I get an excuse to make it again! πŸ™‚

  12. Victoria says:

    What a fabulous recipe and looks scrumptious!!

  13. Petra, this looks like a 4 star restaurant meal! How beautiful. Congratulations on being featured on FF!

  14. Sandhya says:

    Congratulations Petra! What a fabulous dish!

  15. Dear gawd. The way you decorate that prawn mousse with the mangoes is so artistic. Amazing! Love it! Have you had professional training at all?

    • petra08 says:

      hi Ka
      Thank you so much πŸ™‚ I am glad you like it and your comment is so lovely and really made me smile! I don’t have any professional training but between us I have worked on my food presentation, magazines, online, especially Instagram! πŸ™‚

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Prawn Mousse with Mango and Soy from Petra @Food Eat Love. […]



Leave a Reply

