Long and slow cooked, pulled brisket

It has been busy here lately. The little dog was sick but finally on the mend and there has been something going on every day. I didn’t cook much for a few days and I really wanted to slow cook something. I did go through a few options, lamb, pork or beef. A trip to the butchers solved it for me and I came home with brisket. I never used to cook brisket, cooked wrong it can be dry and a bit boring but with a bit of spices and patience it becomes and beautiful cut of beef. I decided to try and slow cook it on very low. It was a bit of a long process but well worth it. I decided to experiment on my neighbours and this made me extra nervous as I didn’t have a back up. It was make or break time.

 

I wanted to cook the brisket on very low heat and after quite a lot of research I decided to go for a ten hour pot roast. To get as much flavour in there as possible I did a dry spice rub. I looked at my spices and first I got the usual suspects out, paprika, cayenne pepper and ground coriander. I got mustard powder out but then I changed my mind and used wasabi powder instead.

 

08Feb_SpiceMix

 

14 hours slow cooked pulled brisket

preparation time 10 minutes

cooking time 24 hour + 14 hours

oven 100 C/210 F for 10 hours and 120 C/250 F for 4 hours

serves 8-10

Ingredients 

  • 1.4 kg / 49.5 oz brisket
  • 2 tbsp paprika powder
  • 2 tbsp sea salt
  • 2 tbsp molasses
  • 1 tbsp ground coriander
  • 2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp wasabi powder
  • 1 tbsp chilli flakes
  • 4 dl / 2 cups of beef stock

For the barbecue glaze

  • The stock that the beef cooked in
  • 1 dl ketchup
  • 1 tsp Worcester sauce

Trim the brisket if necessary, you need to keep some fat for flavour. Mix all the spices for a dry rub.

 

08Feb_MixedSpices

 

When the spices are mixed rub it in to all sides of the brisket. Wrap the brisket tight in cling film. Place it in a plastic bag on a plate and refrigerate for 24 hours. Turn after half time. This might seem like a long time but you will be rewarded with lots of flavour in the end.

 

08Feb_WarppedBrisket

 

When the meat has marinated place it in an oven proof pot with a tight lid. If your lid is not tight fitting you will need to keep an eye on the beef so it doesn’t cook dry. Add the stock and place in the oven, turn every now and then. My research said it would be falling apart tender by then but I got a solid piece of meat out. I had a mild panic attack and had visions of serving rubbery, rock hard slices of meat. I kept it in the oven and kept an eye on it. I checked about once/hour. This was a large piece of meat and I cooked it whole so it would take a little longer. I am happy to say that I was right and after 14 hours in the oven the meat was ready. I rested it over night and pulled it the following morning. I was going to make a barbecue glaze for the brisket but the stock was delicious. I reduced it by about one third to further intensify the favours before adding the ketchup and Worcester sauce. It simmered for a few minutes and was then left to cool.

 

The brisket was now so tender it was easy to pull it. I scraped off all visible fat before pulling the meat.

 

08Feb_CookedBrisket

 

I roasted potatoes, onion and pepper, flavoured with a mix of garlic, salt and pepper. Whilst that was cooking I used my smoking gun and smoked the meat with hickory wood. It gave a nice smoky hint of flavour. When it was cooked I mixed the pulled meat with the barbecue glaze and added on top of the potatoes.

 

08Feb_PulledBrisket

 

I served it with baby kale, kale pesto, guacamole and soured cream. I used the recipe for wild rocket pesto, it is so easy and takes very little time, here is the recipe. A few fronds of wild fennel and some parsley from the greenhouse also made it’s way to the pesto.

 

Baby kale pesto in the making 08Feb_KalePestoIngredients

 

I am happy to say that the beef all went and it seems to have been much appreciated. It was served as a part of a prosecco brunch and we all decided that we are looking forward to the summer and many barbecues.

 

 

 

 

Comments
4 Responses to “Long and slow cooked, pulled brisket”
  1. This is my idea of perfect. So good for lazy, cold weekends.

  2. Jing says:

    I just had a slow cooked brisket dish in a restaurant a few days ago and I’m thinking about it all the time. I guess when you think about red cars, you see red cars on the road 😉 This looks like a great recipe for my next brisket dish. Please let me feel the tenderness again!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Jing
      Good brisket is such a treat!This looks good already at the butchers and it was so nice when cooked and even better when covered with the “barbecue” sauce made from the cooking juices 🙂

Leave a Reply

