Gravlax sushi with quinoa

The question I get the most when I tell people that I have moved out of London is do I miss it. London is unique and there is something for everyone. I love going food shopping, there is plenty of everything from all corners of the world and the quality is good because there is a market for all of it. It is the same with restaurants, you can get any type of food you want, sometimes you need to do a little research but I have never been disappointed.

This is what I miss the most, I always do some food shopping when I go but it is not quite the same. When I was in town last I begged my friend to come with me to one of my favourite Vietnamese restaurants, Cay Tre. Their food is delicious and as far as I can taste, very authentic.

 

A friend of mine was talking about sushi the other day and all of the sudden I had a craving. Sometimes the fishmonger has sushi grade tuna but I was after salmon. I couldn’t find any that I was 100% sure that I could use, I didn’t fancy food poisoning, so I decided to use gravlax and to make my first attempt at making sushi. I took to youtube to see how complicated this would be, one of the chefs did beautiful sushi, he made it look like a breeze and I thought why not? Needless to say I was no where near as fast as he is and I am sure his sushi is more delicate!

 

Gravlax sushi with quinoa

preparation time 5 minutes

cooking time 10 mins + 25 mins

serves 2

Ingredients

The rice

  • 250 gr sushi rice
  • 2 heaped tbsp quinoa
  • 3 1/2 dl or 1 + 3/4 cup cold water

For when it is cooked

  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup rice wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp sugar

For the sushiย 

  • 100 gr or 3.5 oz gravlax, cured salmon
  • cucumber
  • avocado
  • sesame seeds
  • nori sheets (seaweed)
  • wasabi

To serveย 

  • wasabi
  • soy sauce

Rinse the rice at least 4 times. I did it under a running tap for 5 minutes. Add the quinoa and place in a pot with lid, add the water and bring to a boil. Cook on low heat for 10 minutes and then turn the heat off. Leave to cool completely.

Mix the rice wine vinegar with the salt and sugar, stir to dissolve and set aside until the rice is cold. When the rice is cold add the rice wine vinegar mixture on top and let stand for an additional hour or over night.

 

I added the quinoa to make it healthier and because I like the flavour. Before I started I checked that I had everything lined up. I had asabi in a small bowl, the nori sheets lined up, the salmon slices cut and separated. I cling filmed my sushi rolling mat and was ready to give it a go. The rice was nice and sticky, a good consistency. I am saying good because I know how important the rice is. I am not sure if this was the absolute correct proportions but it worked for me.

 

Shape a handful of rice to make salmon nigiri.

 

13Feb_SushiQuinoaRice

 

The salmon was cut a lot thicker than I had anticipated but it still worked, it just didn’t look quite like it does when done by the pro’s!

I added as mall amount of wasabi to the back of the fish and placed it on the rice.

 

13Feb_PreppedSalmonNigiri

 

Before serving it I garnished the sushi with creme fraiche and dill, I just couldn’t help myself!

 

13Feb_Nigiri

 

I made 12 of these, put them in a cool storage and started on my rolls. The first set was California roll, vegetarian for those who didn’t want fish.

 

I started by adding the rice to the nori sheet.

 

13Feb_SushiRiceOnSeaweed

 

I sprinkled it with sesame seeds.ย 13Feb_RiceSesameSeeds

 

I turned the sheet around so that the rice was face down. I added cucumber and avocado before gently rolling it and finally shaping it with my bamboo mat. I then cut of the ends and sliced it.

 

13Feb_CaliforniaRoll

 

It really highlighted the cucumber and avocado.

 

13Feb_CutCaliforniaRoll

 

For the last roll I did, I used the cucumber and avocado again but added some pickled chilli for a little extra heat, it was so little it didn’t make it hot but added a little kick when eating it.

 

13Feb_CutRoll

 

I served it with soy sauce and wasabi, I love wasabi so I used quite a lot. It was easier than I thought, especially as I boiled the rice the day before. otherwise you have to take the rice boiling and cooling in to consideration for the cooking process. I was already thinking of how I can make exciting sushi now when I have realised that it is easy and fairly quick. The rolls and nigiri will look better when I have practised a bit more but it tasted good.

 

I am bringing a plate of sushi (better late than never) to Angies lovely Fiesta Friday party! If you have cooked come and join us, Angie hosts the most amazing foodie parties and they are always great fun!

This week she has two co hosts, Suzanne, A Pug in the Kitchen and Sue, Birgerbird. Sue brought one of my favourite dishes, Korean kimchi pancake. She also brought eggy goodness with noodles, have a look! Suzanne treated us to a sweet Valentines treat, tartlets with blood orange curd, whipped cream AND Nutella, what is there not to love?

FoodFiestaFriday

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
19 Responses to “Gravlax sushi with quinoa”
  1. Hilda says:

    Love the use of quinoa with the salmon. Your sushi look excellent. Well done!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Hilda
      Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ I am not sure I could taste the quinoa but I like to try and make everything a little bit healthier even if it wasn’t too much this time. Glad you like it! I will it again! ๐Ÿ™‚ x

  2. Loretta says:

    Petra, wonderful, I’m such a sushi lover, but I don’t make it as often as I should. I love your sashimi too, I haven’t tried to make that at home, I guess I just did not know what kind of fish to buy, as I know it’s a special type that one uses. Your post had me pondering about the first time I made sushi too, youTube is the best isn’t it? It looked so complicated, but when I made it, I thought it was a cinch! I love your black sesame seed garnish, it looks so attractive. Large cities do boast all the international cuisines don’t they?

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      I adore sushi! I am always worried that the fish will not be good enough quality so the gravlax (bought) was a great option. YouTube is great, I have just watched how to make prawn nigiri, I have so many plans!
      You do get spoilt in big cities when it comes to food, luckily the fish here is great and I have finally realised that it isn’t that hard to make sushi! Yay! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Your sushi looks nice. I never tried it before, actually dont have the courage to try it. Wont it smell like raw fish? Dats my fear.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Saida
      Thank you. I am sure when you make sushi it will be stunningly beautiful and delicious ๐Ÿ™‚
      If you buy fresh fish (if I am not sure it is fresh I always ask if I can smell it), it shouldn’t smell of fish at all! So no smell and if you can, buy sushi grade fish, especially tuna.

  4. Sue says:

    Yum! and how special to make sushi for us at Fiesta Friday. I love your creativity, too, that you’ve used gravlax (I’m not a big raw salmon fan although I do adore hamachi) and some quinoa. I must try this at home it is so special!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Sue
      Am glad you like it ๐Ÿ™‚ If you are not a fan of salmon try cooked prawns, or any fish that you like. Salmon has a very distinct flavour. I would have used tuna as well if I had found any! Next time ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Petra, this is such a lovely and romantic meal. Yes I think it’s romantic and a perfect Valentines meal. Thank you for bringing this to the party!!

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Suzanne
      I agree with you, sushi is romantic isn’t it? I didn’t think about it but it is perfect for sharing, lots of flavour and no too many dishes for washing up! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. chefjulianna says:

    Your sushi is so beautiful, Petra! I took a little course on making sushi last year, but mine never looked as nice as yours! Maybe I just need to practice more! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julianna
      Thank you! I am sure your sushi is beautiful and tastes divine! I will for sure practice more and get more creative! ๐Ÿ™‚ x

  7. Love that you added Quinoa into the rice, fantastic idea Petra!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. milkandbun says:

    I love sushi! It’s such an interesting and great idea! ๐Ÿ™‚

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a Reply

