Cod cooked two ways

After having eaten a bit too much meat lately I needed something light. I was in the supermarket and a lady turned around and spoke to me (no one usually does this!) about an offer on the beef. She tried to get me to buy a piece, she wasn’t staff, and when I explained that I was after something lighter and not red meat she looked like I was some modern diet crazed person. I did actually, in a friendly manner, explain that I had eaten quite a lot of meat the previous days and I was off to the fishmongers after this. The lady then gave me a slight lecture inspired speech about that this was rubbish and I should eat the beef. This is where it got too weird for me, I slowly backed off with a smile and then legged it and hid in another isle until I was fairly sure she wouldn’t come after me and continue! It was a random experience and I was pleased to check out and head to the fishmongers who is very friendly and well, normal!

 

I got a lovely piece of cod, one of my favourite fishes, I set out to buy it often and then get side tracked, I think last time by just caught herrings, pretty and silver shining but not this time. I went past the veg man who had vibrant, orange peppers for sale and a plan started to form. I am not always fond of cooked peppers, I love them raw but these were sort of oblong shaped with a quite thin skin and they would be perfect to bake. I decided to stuff them with the cod. At first I was thinking of feta cheese but once home I realised I didn’t have any. I didn’t want to go back out so I opted for an egg white instead. I didn’t use the cod loin for the stuffing, I simply pan fried it as it is one of my favourite ways to eat it.

 

Cod stuffed peppers

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 15 minutes 

oven 200 C / 390F

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 small peppers
  • about 100 gr cod
  • 1 egg, yolk and white separated
  • 1/8 courgette
  • 2 spring onions
  • 1 tbsp chopped parsley
  • 1 tbsp corn starch
  • salt
  • white pepper

Cut the peppers in half and remove the membrane and seeds. Cut the cod in to fine pieces. Cube the courgette small and slice the spring onion thin. Mix with the egg white, corn starch, salt and pepper. I didn’t want to use any other spices so the flavour of the cod and the courgette would come through.

When I had done this M poked his face in to the kitchen, wrinkled his nose at the cod mixture and did a kind of rude description of what is looked like. I couldn’t actually disagree, I took pictures but no matter how I tried it was unattractive! Pour the filling in to the peppers and place them in an oven proof dish and bake for 15 minutes, or until the filling is firm to touch.

 

Whilst that was cooking I boiled some potatoes for mash that I mixed with grated carrot. I sliced the other half of the courgette and placed it in a pattern on the plate.

 

10Feb_Courgette

 

Pan frying the loin of cod in olive oil with salt and white pepper. I served the cod with the egg yolk and creme fraiche, there was no need for a sauce. It was as light as I had in mind and just what I needed.

 

12Feb_CodCooked2Ways

 

 

I know this is a bit of a picture poor post but it was such quick and simple way of cooking it was quite quick to cook. I am glad I didn’t take the crazy beef lady’s advice but I will another time.

 

I am bringing this healthy dish to Angie’s always so lovely party Fiesta Friday.  Angie has brought two co hosts, Juju, Cooking With Aunt Juju, who brought beautiful dried, candied fruits that looks delicious. Tina, Mademoiselle Gourmande has brought us macadamia cookies, what is there not to love?!

FoodFiestaFriday

 

 

Comments
18 Responses to “Cod cooked two ways”
  1. That is crazy that you were confronted by the beef police at the grocery store. It would never occur to me to make a suggestion to what other people eat. I live cod, and love the simple delicious way you have prepared it. I sure wish we could get fresher fish. Most of ours is frozen but still good.

    • petra08 says:

      Ha ha it was so strange! Maybe all her marbles wasn’t quite there, I didn’t hang around to check! 🙂 Cod is wonderful and it was so nice and light! If the fish doesn’t look fresh I always buy frozen, I agree still good!

  2. I love it. I never prepare a lot of fish meals really except for seafood, which I love. However, your presentation is perfect, looks like a perfect high end restaurant meal really. I would totally go for this.
    And brave you standing up to that woman and not buying the beef. 🙂
    Something appears to be wrong with your link, a 404 site appeared. Maybe you should check that. Apart from that, happy Fiesta Friday. 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Tina
      Thank you so much 🙂 I am glad you like it!
      The crazy beef lady was a slightly strange experience!
      Thank you for letting me know re the link, I have re submitted it and left a note to Angie! Happy Fiesta Friday!

  3. What a pretty presentation Petra – like the idea of stuffing the peppers with cod, very creative! That lady in the store must not have heard that fish is much healthier for you and red meat needs to be eaten in moderation. Thanks for bringing this fish recipe to Fiesta Friday 🙂

  4. Loretta says:

    Wow Petra, just amazing! What a brilliant idea. I think I’m going to stuff peppers with fish from now on. You’ve dressed up the entire plate so beautifully. Art on a plate should I say?

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      Thank you! Food art! What a compliment 🙂 Am so glad you like it. It was great to stuff the pepper with the cod, and healthy as well! ha ha x

  5. Oh petra! What a beauty you have brought here. Love the idea you have used here. And the presentation, no words!

  6. Sue says:

    Petra, this is funny! I sometimes always feel like I have to “leg it” away from people! I really love this creative, fun, happy and beautiful dish you’ve created and especially the little “quilted” courgettes at the bottom of the plate!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Sue
      Oh don’t we just want to run away sometimes? I have never actually done it before but I felt it was too much to ask to stay and listen! 🙂 Glad you like the dish! Have a lovely weekend!

  7. I am happy you passed on the beef. This is so gorgeous and tasty! Love the courgette weave!

  8. Hi Petra – my post for FF is Black Bean Chili not the candied fruits if you read the posts. I often post more than 1 recipe a week. No problem… 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a Reply

