Steak with black olive and garlic sauce

Every time I feel a cold coming on I want to eat steak. This time, and I can’t even remember when I was last sick all of the sudden I got a very sore throat and I went down for a whole day, doing a shuffle between my bed and the sofa. Luckily I kept my appetite and it was time for steak. I needed flavours, garlic to fend this cold off and red meat.

I cooked a skirt steak, , my favourite cut. It is full of flavour and it cooked very quickly. I usually eat it with garlic butter, sometimes garlic and onion butter but I wanted to make it healthier and got black pitted olives out. I roasted butternut squash with garlic and spices and started on my steak and salad.

 

Endive and orange salad

preparation time 5 minutes

cooking time 0 minutes

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 small head of endive
  • 1 orange
  • 1 tbsp citrus vinegar
  • parmesan shavings
  • 1/2 tsp sesame seeds
  • 1 pinch of sea salt

Cut the peel off the orange and slice it. Just before serving slice the endive in to thick slices, add the vinegar, salt and sesame seeds.

 

25Feb_Salad

 

I was looking at the olives and was thinking of what they would go with, and ended up mixing them with garlic, chilli and extra virgin olive oil. It wasn’t strictly a sauce, perhaps more of a paste but it works as a perfect substitute for butter!

 

Black olive and garlic sauce

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 180 gr or 6.3 oz pitted black olives
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 pinch of crushed chilli
  • extra virgin olive oil

Place all of the ingredients in a blender, add olive oil, a little at the time until you have a quite smooth paste. Add more chilli if you want more heat.

 

I trimmed any visible fat of the skirt steak and added salt and pepper before searing for a minute on each side in a little oil in a hot frying pan. I let it rest before cutting it against the grain.

 

25Feb_RestingSteak

 

I plated up the cut strips with the black olive paste and served it with the salad and roasted vegetables.

 

25Feb_Steak&Tapenade

 

The red meat injection helped but it still took a few fairly lethargic days before I felt back to normal, luckily the cold didn’t effect my appetite and I did my best to feed the cold.

 

I am bringing this to the lovely Angie’s Fiesta Friday party, the best and most fun foodie party around!

FoodFiestaFriday

 

 

 

 

Comments
7 Responses to “Steak with black olive and garlic sauce”
  1. I do too, crave red meat, beef when I am sick with a cold. I think it gives strength or somehow helps to fight off the onslaught of germs or bacteria and beefs up the immune system. Love the meal, everything.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Suzanne
      I think it is the iron in the meat I am craving! Or just the comfort! I am glad you like it 🙂 Agree that you need all the energy possible to fight evil colds! x

  2. Corina says:

    I love steak and I’ve got a cold at the moment so this is exactly what I need! I’m just not sure I’ll feel like cooking tonight and might go for a lazy option. This is definitely something I’m going to try and remember though.

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Corina
      If I hadn’t have had the steak in the freezer I would have gotten a takeaway! Sorry to hear about your cold I hope it will go away soon! I always find hot water with lemon, sliced ginger and lots of honey is soothing! Get better soon 🙂

  3. Wooow! This steak looks really yummy! Wish i could have them now.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a Reply

