A Dutch, foodie visit, crab sushi and a roasted dinner

Last week I had a cold that didn’t quite want to give way despite my steak. I think I have consumed a whole jar of honey, lemons and fresh ginger in large quantities. I am not much for pills if I can avoid it and it seems that the cold has finally gone. It went last minute as I had friends visiting from The Netherlands and I didn’t want to miss this for anything, least of all a poxy cold. There was just one afternoon where they got a cup of tea and a movie whilst I had a nap, luckily they are super chilled out and loved the movie. We still had lots of time to catch up, it is so great to just talk sometimes and feel like you have all the time in the world.

 

They arrived fairly late and when I was out shopping for their arrival (for food), I bought some crab claws. I have never seen them just crab claws for sale before and they were from local crabs. I got a bunch and went home to cook them.

 

27Feb_CrabClaws

 

I rinsed them and boiled them for five minutes in salted water. I then removed the meat from the claws and mixed it with a little lemon mayonnaise and some chilli flakes. I had an un ripe mango and cut it up for a crunchy addition to the roll.

I boiled the rice as last time with some quinoa and flavoured it the same way. I used the mango, chives and the crab for the rolls.

 

27Feb_ChiveRoll

 

27Feb_ChiveRollStanding

 

My friend arrived with her daughter, Rose. Rose is only fourteen years old and already a budding photographer. She took a lot of great pictures and she has taken all the pictures for the next dish, she is so talented.

Cooking and eating food together was a big part of our catch up time. I kept the food fairly simple and for our last dinner I made a blue cheese and endive, also called chicory salad and oven roasted chicken and vegetables.

 

Endive and blood orange salad with blue cheese dressing and maple glazed pecans

preparation time 10 minutes

cooking time 0 minutes

serves 5

Ingredients

  • 1 large head of endive
  • 1/4 head romaine lettuce (the kind used for Caesar salad)
  • 1 spring onion
  • 100 gr or 3.5 oz blue cheese, I used Stilton but use any blue cheese you like
  • 2 heaped tbsp light creme fraiche
  • zest of 1/2 lemon
  • juice of 1/4 lemon
  • milk to loosen up the dressing
  • black pepper to taste
  • a handful of pecan nuts
  • 1-2 tbsp maple syrup

Slice the endive and romaine lettuce. Slice the spring onion fine. Cut the peel of the blood orange and cut in to segments.

Place the remaining ingredients in the blender and blend until it is mixed but not quite smooth. Mix the dressing with the leaves, orange and spring onion.

Toast the pecan nuts in a hot pan and add the maple syrup. bring to a boil, make sore the nuts are coated and remove from the heat. When slightly cooled sprinkle over the salad before serving.

 

28Feb_Salad2

28Feb_Salad

 

28Feb_MaplePecanNuts

 

 

Before I made the salad I peeled a butternut and a few potatoes for roasting. They would take longer than the chicken to cook. I did a spice mix with oil, crushed garlic and spices.

 

Butternut squash

28Feb_Butternut

 

 

Roasted veg 28Feb_RoastButternut

 

Oven roasted chicken 28Feb_Chicken

 

Last I steamed kale and spinach in two tablespoons of cream, when just wilted I added salt and pepper and finally grated cured egg yolk on top before serving.

 

28Feb_Greens2

28Feb_Greens

 

It was a great dinner, simple and delicious, I made quite a lot and all but a small piece of chicken went, no matter how I tried to get anyone to eat it it there wasn’t any room. It was perfect the next day on a sandwich!

 

28Feb_Dinner

 

I can’t wait to see more of Roses’ pictures, she took so many and videos as well! I hope they will come back soon, it would be lovely to show them around when the sun is out and it is warm!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

