Enoki and herb island in a dashi broth

As I mentioned in my previous blog I went to see The Alexander McQueen exhibition Savage Beauty at the Victoria & Albert museum last week. Even now, a week later images and impressions from the show keep coming back. It was very powerful and I wondered if I could cook something inspired by all of the tragedy and beauty I had seen and can’t stop thinking about.

I got inspired when I found golden enoki mushrooms, they looked so adorable and I knew I could make something interesting with them.

 

Golden enoki mushrooms 15March_Mushrooms1

 

15March_Mushrooms2

 

I also got some black trumpet mushrooms. I can’t find any of these ingredients easily so it is always a treat when you find them.

 

15March_TrumpetMushrooms

 

15March_TrumpetMushroom

 

I wanted something that would display the enoki mushrooms as well as something that showed the darkness of the black trumpets. A dish with strong contrast and of course flavour. I wanted something inspired by the sea, making the mushrooms seem ever so slightly surreal and I came up with a broth using bonito flakes, dashi and dried seaweed to give the broth flavour and colour.

 

Mushroom and herb island in broth

preparation time 15 minutes 

cooking time 20-25 minutes 

serves 2 as a starter

Ingredients

  • 50 gr or 1.7 oz firm silken tofu
  • 1 small bunch of curly leaf parsley
  • 1 tbsp dashi (I had bought dashi granules)
  • 1 small handful of bonito flakes
  • 1 small handful of dried seaweed
  • 1 tsp Maple syrup
  • 1 tsp fish sauce
  • 1 tbsp miso paste
  • 6 dl or 3 cups of water
  • 1 small handful of black trumpet mushrooms
  • about 1/4 of golden enoki mushroom piece
  • salt to taste

Gently brush the black trumpet mushrooms and shred with your hands. Set aside until you need them. In a pan place the water, dried seaweed, the dashi and the bonito flakes.

 

15March_BonitoBroth2

 

Bring to a boil and add fish sauce, miso paste and Maple syrup. Let simmer for 15 minutes and skim as it cooks. Drain the broth and place back in a clean pan. Taste with salt, add the shredded black trumpets and let simmer for 10-15 minutes.

 

Cut the tofu in to two rectangles, place in a deep plate and add the parsley and enoki mushrooms.

 

15March_Arrangement

 

Gently add the black trumpet broth to the plate and serve.

 

15March_Dish2

 

15March_Dish1

 

The parsley came from the greenhouse, it has been growing all winter and is so strong in flavour. It lent a beautiful herb note that was nice with the raw enoki mushroom taste, the dark broth and the soft tofu.

 

I am bringing this dish to Angie’s Fiesta Friday, a great foodie party for anyone who has cooked something they want to share! This week her co hosts are Tracy, Scratch It and Nancy, Feasting with friends. It has turned colder here again and I can’t stop, longingly looking at Tracy’s Boeuf Bourguignon, I would love to tuck in to a plate for lunch today, it looks so delicious! Nancy has brought us an exotic sounding Torta al Testo, head over to her blog and I couldn’t stop drooling over her quinoa crusted Spinach quiche either!

FoodFiestaFriday

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
37 Responses to “Enoki and herb island in a dashi broth”
  1. Irene Fogarty says:

    Oh my god that is beautiful!

  2. Loretta says:

    Great minds think alike… I’ve got a mushroom dish on tap too for FF. Yours is so elegant and rare. I’m just blown away by some of the types of mushrooms there are out there, some of which I have never even heard of.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      Ha ha we do! I did think the golden enoki mushrooms were just too pretty not to buy! And they taste great as well! Will have a look at your recipe! You can never have enough mushroom recipes 🙂

  3. dosirakbento says:

    Amazing Food Art! And I can imagine it tasted as beautiful as it looks ☺

    • petra08 says:

      Many thanks! 🙂 I am glad you like it did taste very good and I could have made slightly bigger portions! 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  4. Tracy says:

    Gorgeous. I’m such a sucker for an amazing broth and this looks so deep and rich! Simply beautiful! Thanks for sharing it at FF with us! 😀

    • petra08 says:

      hi Tracy
      Thank you so much! I love broth and it was fun to get inspired by the exhibition and the lovely mushrooms 🙂 Happy FF!

  5. trughost says:

    Wow! that looks yummy!

  6. andy says:

    spectacular !! ❤

  7. How utterly beautiful Petra! You are an artist!

  8. I love mushrooms and this looks amazing. When I first saw your photo, I did think it looked like an island!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julie
      When I was planning the dish I got the idea on the tube, I told my friend who simply gave me a blank stare, sometimes I forget that not everyone gets as excited about food as I do! 🙂 Glad to share it with foodie friends! Happy FF

  9. Nancy says:

    If I had those beautiful mushrooms in my kitchen, I would be inspired too. Beautiful dish, Petra. The flavors sound wonderful. 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Nancy
      Thank you so much. I love mushrooms and it was amazing to find such beautiful ones, even better that they tasted lovely too! 🙂 Have a lovely weekend 🙂

  10. tentimestea says:

    How incredible! And the broth sounds delicious 🙂 I’ve never considered using maple syrup before, that really surprised me! And somehow I can imagine it working subtly and very well

    • petra08 says:

      Thank you for stopping by and commenting! as I tasted the broth it was missing something. Maple syrup has a unique taste and it just added that little extra, plus I am having a bit of a Maple syrup crush at the moment! 🙂

      • tentimestea says:

        I agree, maple syrup is such a flavourful ingredient; I should take some inspiration from this and try to look beyond it’s use as a breakfast condiment! Speaking of which, I recall trying birch syrup once and I remember it tasting quite different as well 🙂

  11. chefjulianna says:

    Wow, wow, wow, Petra! Your creation is just over-the-top mind-blowing!! I know that the flavours here are beyond wonderful!

    So funny, but I just spent the afternoon looking for Dashi powder and then I open up your recipe and see that it is one of your ingredients! Could you pass some through the screen please? I promise to pay you back when I do locate some here! 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hello Julianna
      Thank you so much 🙂 Am so happy you like it. I have made a dashi broth before but this time it was a little bit more interesting and the trumpet mushrooms added a lovely depth of flavour and texture.
      I bought the mushrooms at Borough Market in London, every foodies destination (and all foodies always goes first thing in the morning). I wish In lived closer but at the same time it is quite expensive so much delicious artisan products if I actually lived closer I would most likely be broke 🙂
      Am passing over a sachet of dashi powder! You can give it back when we meet and cook together! 🙂 x

  12. skd says:

    The ingredients are any chef’s delight. The way you turned them all together in this beautiful dish is amazing.

    • petra08 says:

      Thank you so much! I love mushrooms but so often get stuck on button mushrooms and shitake, it is nice to use other kinds as well! Am glad you like the dish! 🙂

  13. That is just gorgeous! I would hesitate to cut it apart to eat. It looks like something you would be served in a very fancy restaurant.

  14. This is gorgeous! So inspiring.

  15. Petra, this is a work of art. It’s so pretty 🙂 I love the addition of maple syrup, too

  16. Angie says:

    Wow, those mushrooms look incredible! And what you did to them is just pure art! 🙂

Leave a Reply

