Very juicy pork chops

I can’t tell you how many times I have set out to make pork chops and they ended up dry and to be honest, quite boring. I have tried various ways of cooking them but I have always ended up ever so slightly disappointed even if they were good. After some experimenting I think I might have found a good recipe and I wanted to share it. I got the idea from The Kitchn. As for all recipes it is about enchaining the flavours and making it as good as possible so I made some changes. In order for my pork chops to qualify I wanted to make them so good I didn’t need plenty of sauce. I am a very saucy girl so this would really be a test.

 

I love the combination of pork and star anise and I started by doing a brine. I only had 3 hours but I am sure it will taste even better over night.

 

I cooked a pasta bake, see recipe here to go with it.

 

Pork chop brine

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes, 3 hr minimum in the fridge

serves I used this for 8 boneless pork chops 

Ingredients

  • 8 pork chops
  • 6 dl or 3 cups of water
  • 3 tbsp salt
  • 1 tbsp sugar (optional)
  • 2 star anise
  • 3 crushed garlic cloves

Place all the ingredients in a pan and bring to a boil. Let stand until cool.

 

16March_Brine

 

Rinse the pork chops and pat them dry. Place them in the brine and put in the fridge until you are ready to cook them.

Once you are ready to cook the pork chops turn the oven on to 200C or 400F and remove them from the brine and pat them dry. Rub them with oil and add salt and pepper before placing in a hot pan. Sear until brown, I did this in batches and then I placed the pan in the oven for six minutes.

 

16March_Chops

 

The chops rested on a chopping board for 5 minutes and I added 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup of cold water to the pan and boiled the juices down. I served the pork chops with the pasta bake and a little jus.

 

16March_Dish

 

 

The chops did turn out very juicy, I am not sure if it was the brine or the cooking method or both but if you have any pork chops around this is well worth a try!

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
5 Responses to “Very juicy pork chops”
  1. I wish I had seen this before I made very dry pork chops yesterday! 😂

Leave a Reply

