Being social with little bites and truffle toasties

We are surrounded by very social neighbours. We all love a glass or two of wine and good food and we meet up at any given opportunity to enjoy this together. The last time was a birthday, what better time to celebrate?!

I wanted to make something special and decided to go for a few small dishes and to spread them out over the evening. They are all easy to prepare before and put together last minute, great party food.

 

I started during the day to prepare a cauliflower. A while back I did twice fried chicken and cauliflower with a Korean inspired Maple glaze. I know it isn’t the healthiest dish but it was so good I couldn’t resist making them again. This time I only did the cauliflower and if I may say so myself, it is so delicious. I fried the cauliflowers the first time a couple of hours before. As they are twice fried this is fine and they will be great and crispy before serving.

 

Twice fried cauliflower and Maple glaze

19March_TwiceFriedCauliflower

 

Dill and garlic prawns with crispy rye crumbs

preparation time 15 minutes (including peeling the prawns)

cooking time 5 minutes 

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 slice of dark rye bread
  • 1 pint of shell on prawns
  • 1 bunch of fresh dill
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1/4 lemon
  • 1 pinch of chilli flakes
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 3 tbsp low fat creme fraiche
  • 1 tbsp sesame seeds
  • 1 tbsp oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

Crumb the rye bread. Heat the oil in a frying pan and toast the crumbs and the sesame seeds. Taste with salt and pepper.

 

19March_Crumbs

 

Set the crumbs aside and peel the prawns. Chop the dill and cube the avocado, crush the garlic and mix all the remaining ingredients and taste with salt and pepper. Place the toasted crumbs on a plate and then add the prawn mixture on top.

 

19March_Prawns&Crumbs

 

When I was at Borough market I got an amazing cheese, studded with truffle. It is so delicious and I knew it would make a great toastie.

 

19March_TommeALaTruffe

 

I had wholemeal bread that I cut up together with cheese and Parma ham. I pan fried the bread, added the cheese and the ham before serving. I was thinking of adding some herbs but it wasn’t necessary and this was all about the delicious, melted, oozing cheese!

 

19March_Toastie

 

We had a great evening, we ate everything and got through quite a few bottles of wine before we parted our merry way. One of the best things of all is that you fall out of one door and a few steps later you are home after a fun evening with friends, wine and good food, another happy birthday.

 

 

 

Comments
4 Responses to “Being social with little bites and truffle toasties”
  1. This looks and sounds absolutely delicious! Very elegant. I love the idea of using rye bread crumbs. Not sure I could make it look as beautiful as you have, but I bet it would still taste just as delicious. Cheers!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Mae

      Am sure you would make it looks even better! And the taste is great, I have never served it to anyone who didn’t like it. It is easy to prepare beforehand as well 🙂

  2. trucvert says:

    Looks like fantastic party food. Easy to prepare but definitely not the same old same old. 🙂

Leave a Reply

