Liver with onion, bacon and apple

There is food I like but don’t cook very often. One of these dishes is liver. I remember my mom used to cook calves liver and serve it with fried onions, apples, gravy and mash. As a child I ate pretty much anything and I didn’t give it a second thought.

A friend of ours loves liver but his wife doesn’t. As a result he almost never eats it. His wife was away, M has been talking about liver for quite some time and this time he also had a friend over who also loves liver. I took this as a sign that it was time to cook it.

 

I still can’t imagine eating liver without onions and apple. I decided to add the universal ingredient that makes pretty much anything taste better, bacon. It was pointed out that bacon goes very well with liver. What wasn’t pointed out was that it was crispy bacon.

 

Liver with bacon, onions and apple

preparation time 15 mins + 20 minutes for soaking in milk

cooking time 15 minutes for cooking the liver in batches

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 950 gr or 32 oz liver, I had a mix of calf and lamb
  • 1 dl corn starch
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • 2 onions
  • 1 firm apple
  • 5 slices of thinly sliced bacon
  • 1 tbsp Shaoxing rice wine
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 dl or 1 cup water
  • salt & pepper to taste

Trim and slice the liver and and place it in milk for at least 20 minutes. After that take it out and pat it dry. Chop the onion and cut the bacon in to pieces. Slice the apple and rub it with lemon if you do it in advance to avoid discolouring.

Mix the corn starch with the salt, pepper and ground coriander. Dust the liver with the corn starch. Shake off the excess and pan fry in oil.

 

24March_Liver

 

Add the onion and the bacon and fry until the onion is just cooked and translucent. Add the liver, the apple, the rice wine, soy sauce and put the lid on for 5 minutes. Taste the sauce with salt and pepper and thicken with some corn starch if necessary. Let it cook out and serve it with roasted potatoes.

 

24March_LiverDish2

 

24March_LiverDish

 

The bacon worked despite not being crispy and it was very nice with the onions and the apple. Despite the fact that I don’t eat liver very often I did enjoy it and my three diners, I have to say loved it.

 

 

 

 

Comments
8 Responses to “Liver with onion, bacon and apple”
  1. Loretta says:

    Wow, it’s been a while since I’ve eaten liver petra, but wow, this sure does look appetizing. I used to love calves liver myself. πŸ™‚

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      Thank you. I do like liver but I don’t cook it very often and this was a perfect opportunity and I am sure there will be more, well worth making πŸ™‚

  2. I haven’t had liver and onion since I was a child and it was not a pleasant experience. Maybe it’s time to get over my aversion and give it a try again. Have to admit yours looks delicious.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Suzanne
      I don’t mind it, I just never cook it. One of my friends claim that our tastebuds change every 7 year so perhaps it might be worth a go! I don know what you mean and I would never cook it for anyone before checking if they really like it. This was a nice way of eating it πŸ™‚

  3. It was a childhood thing as a child I didn’t like it and my parents made me eat it. I bet i would like it now.

  4. Corina says:

    My mum used to give us liver as a child and I didn’t like it but I’d love to have a go at cooking it and know that maybe i’d enjoy it now. Everything goes well with bacon and this sounds delicious.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Corina
      You could use trimmed chicken livers as well for this dish but calf liver is delicious and yes, especially with the apple and bacon! πŸ™‚ I hope you try it and enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

