Orzo prawn “risotto”

I eat most foods and enjoy them but there are a few things I don’t eat very often, I don’t cook them and I would lost likely not order them and risotto is one of these dishes. I often find them a bit too starchy and heavy, perhaps sometimes there is too much cream, or to much cheese, I don’t know. I have had some outstanding risottos, one of the best one in my life at 10 Greek Street, it was wild mushrooms and it was so delicate it just melted in my mouth. It still didn’t convince me to eat my way through the risottos I am not so fond of. One day I was discussing this with my friend Sus who promptly mentioned that I should try to make an orzo pasta risotto. Orzo, also called risoni is pasta cut to the shape of a large grain of rice.

 

As it happens orzo pasta is perfect for a quick “risotto”, it is lighter and I really enjoy it.

 

Orzo prawn risotto

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 15-18 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 dl orzo pasta
  • 4 1/2 dl water
  • 1/4 tspsalt for the pasta water
  • 175 gr or 6 oz cooked and peeled prawns, chopped
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 6 mushrooms, cleaned and sliced
  • 1 celery stalk
  • 3 sprigs of lemon thyme
  • 1/4 red pepper, cut in to cubes
  • 2 spring onions, sliced
  • 1 small bunch of chives but fine
  • up to 1 dl or 1/2 cup boiling water
  • 1 heaped tbsp garlic and herb cream cheese
  • 1/2 tsp dried chilli flakes
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tbsp oil

Bring the water and pasta to a boil. Stir to release the starch. Add the salt and the mushrooms after 5 minutes.

 

15April_Ingredients

 

Heat oil and fry the onion and celery until just soft, add the lemon thyme and set aside with the lid on for the lemon thyme to infuse. Add more boiling water to the risotto if needed and stir every now and then.

When the pasta is just cooked through add cream cheese, the red pepper, the spring onion, prawns and chives. Put the lid on and let stand for a few minutes.

 

15April_RIisotto

 

Garnish with a few prawns and give it another sprinkle of chives before serving.

 

15April_RisottoFinal

 

The result is lighter than most risottos but it still has the risotto quality. I have done it a few times and it is so easy. The chives and lemon thyme lifted the flavours and worked really well with the prawns.

 

I am bringing this dish to Fiesta Friday. I am terribly late again but I really don’t want to miss out as Angie, The Novice Gardener, has created the most fun filled and delicious foodie party around! This week she has two lovely co hosts, Ginger, Ginger and Bread and Loretta, Safari of the Mind. Ginger has brought lovely looking sourdough breads, I would love to have a chunk, smother it with butter and just eat it, go on, have a look here! Loretta is treating us to a marbled cheesecake. I love cheesecake and oh, Loretta’s looks so delicious!

FoodFiestaFriday

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
19 Responses to “Orzo prawn “risotto””
  1. Orzo is my favorite! So glad to have another way to cook it. 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Molly
      Am glad you like it 🙂 How do you cook it? I have only ever used it to make risotto, don’t ask me why!

      • Hi!

        I really am looking forward to trying your recipe!

        Sometimes I use orzo to make a dish similar to fried rice. For a lot of recipes, I use it as a replacement for rice or grains. You can either cook it the same way you would pasta or you can cook it like rice where all the water gets absorbed (if you do it this way, add some seasonings and it will be very flavorful). It is great for chilled pasta salads as well. 😀

      • petra08 says:

        Oh, I must try that! I know it is pasta but it never occurred to me to use it as, well, pasta! 🙂 I like the idea of an orzo pasta salad! I feel ready for summer, picnics and pasta salads! Living in the UK we get so excited about the slightest hit of summer! Got a bit carried away there, I felt inspired 🙂

      • That sounds tasty. Let me know how it turns out!

        I remember that feeling of excitement waiting for the warmth from before I moved here. Now I measure seasons in the types of fruit trees that are producing! 🙂

      • petra08 says:

        you are soooo lucky! and you have a great blog! 🙂

  2. Loretta says:

    Welcome Petra, you’re never too late, not you! 🙂 You always bring such unusual dishes, we would always let you in :)). Love the freshness of this orzo prawn risotto. I’m sure it will go down real well with the warmer weather coming up. Do you get a good supply of prawns there? I know when my folks from England visit, they always marvel at the fresh, jumbo prawns over here. Thanks for bringing this to FF, I know it will be a bit :).

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      many thanks for your lovely comment! 🙂 You always make me smile!
      the fishmonger has cold water, salty prawns, just like the ones I grew up with in Sweden and it is such a treat! They aren’t jumbo but delicious, and yes, perfect when it gets warmer, I can’t wait for the summer to arrive full on! 🙂 x

      • Loretta says:

        Ahh you grew up in Sweden? It’s just wonderful to meet so many interesting folks via blogging doesn’t it? Oh and thanks so much for the shout out on your post, that’s awfully sweet 🙂

  3. Lovely post today! I have a shrimp pasta recipe on my blog today. ☺️

    Emory
    helloscarlettblog.com

  4. I would definitely enjoy this recipe Petra (love shrimp) and would substitute the mushrooms with another veggie. I have printed it out… 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Juju

      I think perhaps courgette would be nice 🙂 But any vegetable you like really, I did sort of a fridge clear out! 🙂 I hope you will like it!

  5. skd says:

    Hi Petra! I Need your review on Korean fried chicken especially Four fingers. What do you think of it. Please let me know if you have tried it.

Leave a Reply

