Wild garlic faggot (a very British dish) for dinner

I went to the butcher and something I have never seen before caught my eye, faggots. I have never seen them before or even heard of them. From my year in the USA I associate the word faggot with something completely different. Needless to say I was so curious I had to buy a couple and give them a go. These had wild garlic in them and they looked interesting. I only got a couple to try them and I actually had no idea what was in them besides the wild garlic.

 

I bought three and brought them home. I did some research and I found out what they are here. The butcher I buy them from has amazing meat and she does a lot herself. I know she makes her own haggis but I have never bought any. Haggis is a Scottish delicacy of sort and faggots are not that different in flavour.

 

Braised wild garlic faggots 

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 25 minutes 

oven 180C or 350F

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 3 wild garlic faggots
  • 1 good handful of kale
  • 3 dl chicken stock
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 sprig of rosemary
  • potatoes, peeled and cubed, enough for two
  • 1/2 tsp paprika powder
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • oil

Salt and pepper the faggots and place them in a hot pan. Brown all around. Bring chicken stock to a boil and place in an oven proof dish with the kale, stems removed. Place the browned faggots on top of the kale and cook in the oven for up to 25 minutes.

 

20April_faggotstoBeBraised

 

Heat oil in a frying pan and pan fry the cubed potatoes crispy with rosemary. Add salt, pepper and paprika powder. The kale will be perfectly cooked when the faggots are ready. Pan fry an egg to place on top and it is ready to serve.

 

20April_Faggots

 

This was a very simple but tasty meal.

 

20April_FaggotDinner

 

I would buy faggots again and I think they would make a perfect brunch for a lazy weekend. I can imagine them finished off on the barbecue with a slight hint of smoke.

 

 

Comments
10 Responses to “Wild garlic faggot (a very British dish) for dinner”
  1. Interesting indeed Petra!! 🙂

  2. soullfire says:

    Very interesting indeed. Being from the US, my first reference to the word was from its pejorative slang meaning, later learning that in England, it original meaning referred to a bundle of sticks/twigs. I had no idea there was also a food dish reference such as you wrote about.

    • petra08 says:

      I have never seen them before and I did the same association as you! As I had no idea what they were I of course had to buy one and liked it so much I had to make a blog about them! 🙂 They seem to originate from the north of England so that might be why I didn’t know about them. The butcher had made them herself and they are delicious 🙂

  3. varinaj says:

    wait, so can you update us on what this food item (goodness i am having a hard time even typing that word) is and what it tastes like?

    • petra08 says:

      hi Varina
      ha ha yes I wasn’t quite sure what to name this blog without offending anyone! A faggot (in this sense) is offal.
      “A faggot is traditionally made from pig’s heart, liver and fatty belly meat or bacon minced together, with herbs added for flavouring and sometimes bread crumbs.”
      It is a little bit heavy so you don’t need a lot. The texture is soft but full of flavour and the wild garlic added a nice herb inspired flavour. 🙂

      • varinaj says:

        thanks for the explanation! probably won’t find that anytime soon stateside, but always curious to read about other people’s plates…

      • petra08 says:

        hi Varina
        I am not sure I will find it again! The wild garlic is seasonal and I haven’t seen them anywhere else! 🙂

Leave a Reply

