A burger and lots of veg

I love a good burger and I love good beef. I wanted to make a burger so healthy it would make me feel great eating it. To achieve this I used the best minced beef and lots of veggies. I haven’t been that unhealthy lately but every now and then I get a craving for vegetables.

I went to the vegmongers and got a bunch of stuff, pretty much at random. Once home I unpacked all of the vegetables and decided what to make. I had also picked up some gorgeous Dolcelatte, a soft, blue veined Italian cow’s cheese.

 

Cut one large, skin on, sweetpotato in to match stick sized and add oil, salt, pepper, sesame seeds and a pinch of crushed chilli. Bake in the oven for 20-25 minutes or until cooked and slightly crispy in 190C or 370F.

 

Cucumber and garlic salad 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cucumber
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • salt
  • the petals from 2 marigold flowers

Slice the cucumber with a potato peeler. Salt it and set aside for 10 minutes. As soon as the cucumber is wilted rinse the salt off it and squeeze out as much water as is possible. Crush the clove of garlic and add the marigold petals.

 

27April_CucumberSalad

 

Mix and set aside.

 

Red cabbage, carrot and avocado slaw

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 avocado
  • 1/4 small head of red cabbage
  • 1 carrot
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 small frond of (wild) fennel
  • 1 pinch of crushed chilli
  • rosemary flowers

Cut the avocado in to squares, slice the red cabbage and grate the carrot. Place in a bowl and squeeze over the lemon juice, add the olive oil and crushed chilli. Mix and last add rosemary flowers. Set aside until ready to serve.

 

27April_Slaw

 

Heat a pan and add oil. Don’t add the burgers until the oil is hot to make sure you get a lovely and caramelized surface. I didn’t add anything to the mince but salt and pepper before placing them in the pan. When you have turned the burgers add dolcelatte on top whilst the burgers are cooking on the other side until they are cooked medium. Spend a little extra making sure you get really good mince. It is worth the visit to a good butcher.

 

27April_FryingBurgers

 

When the burgers were cooked I placed slaw on the plate. I added American yellow mustard, cottage cheese and cucumber on top. Serve with the fries.

 

27April_BurgerCloseUp

 

27April_BurgerServed

 

It was a delicious burger, light despite the cheese. Full of crunchy veg and served with crispy sweetpotato fries, hitting my burger spot.

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
19 Responses to “A burger and lots of veg”
  1. Whisked Away says:

    Well now, doesn’t that just look divine?! I love the healthy twist to the traditional burger!

  2. Yes!! It’s gorgeous and I love it. I wish I had one right now. 🙂

  3. J Seaton says:

    Wonderful presentation – it all looks amazing!

  4. skd says:

    Love the beautiful pictures. makes me hungry…yum…

  5. I love that you didn’t use a bun. I prefer my burgers without buns and with all the fixins’ you’ve added to it are so tasty. Perfect dinner.

    • petra08 says:

      Thank you so much! I am glad you like it 🙂 It made the burger light and the veg gave a nice crunch.

  6. Emma S. says:

    Wow, looks like the burger of my dreams!

Leave a Reply

