Hot and sour coconut chicken

I really fancied a Thai green curry. What I didn’t fancy was going to the shops to get the ingredients. I did a stock take at home and decided to make a hot and sour dish instead. I had all of the ingredients for it so I thought I would give it a go. In my cupboard I also found a Toff. I was given one and haven’t used it until today. My mother had one and she used to cook chicken in it. I had a whole chicken and I thought why not use it. I have meant to for a long time.

 

I found a lemon, a handful of grapes a lime and a chilli and decided to use this as a base for the dish. It isn’t a looker but it tasted great and this is why I want to share the recipe.

 

Hot and sour coconut chicken

preparation time 15 minutes

cooking time 1 Β½ hour

oven 160C or 320F

serves 3-4

Ingredients

  • 1 whole chicken, medium sized
  • 1 hot red chilli or 2 medium chillies
  • fresh ginger
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 4 dl or 2 cups of chicken stock
  • 1/2 large lemon
  • 1 lime
  • 1 good handful of grapes
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup Mung Dal lentils
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 1 Β½ dl or3-4 cup light coconut milk
  • 1 tbsp light brown sugar
  • a handful of mange tout

Rinse the chicken and pat it dry. Cut the lemons in to eight pieces and slice the lime. Peel the ginger and garlic. Cut the ginger fine julienne and roughly chop the garlic. Slice the chilli with seeds in. Place the chicken in the toff. Add the garlic, lemon, chilli, ginger and chicken stock. Salt and pepper the chicken and add slices of lime on top.

 

23_April_PreppedChicken

 

Put the lid on and place in a cold oven, turn it on and and leave to cook for an hour. Then add the lentils and let cook for another half hour or until the chicken is cooked through.

 

23_April_CookedChicken

 

When the chicken is cooked remove it from the Toff and let it rest. Pour juices and the fruit and veg in to a pan. Add coconut milk and boil down by about one third. Add the sugar and salt and pepper to taste. The lentils should be cooked through and tender. Slice the mange tout across and add. Spoon some of the lentil sauce in to a deep plate and add a piece of chicken.

 

23_April_Hot&SourChicken

 

The lentils thickened the sauce and I didn’t need any rice. I hadn’t added any additional fat and the dish was light but full of flavour. The chilli gave it a nice heat, the ginger was warming and the lemon and lime added acidity. It had clear Asian influence, the chicken was tender and this recipe is a keeper.

 

Better late than never I am bringing this to Fiesta Friday! The best foodie party around! Hosted by the very talented and lovely Angie, The Novice Gardener. This time she is joined by co host Anna, Anna International.Β Anna brought Tuscan wild boar papardelle pasta, check it out, it looks amazing!

FoodFiestaFriday

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
10 Responses to “Hot and sour coconut chicken”
  1. I have not had this dish, but it has everything I love! You made me smile when you said you didn’t fancy going to the store! Me either! πŸ™‚

    • petra08 says:

      hello πŸ™‚

      Isn’t it boring sometimes to go shopping just when you are about to start cooking?
      This was so easy but full of flavour and tender chicken, hitting my craving for Thai inspired food! πŸ™‚

  2. I sometimes think that the best recipes are devised when you decide to throw something together from what you have! Does that phrase ‘necessity is the mother of invention’ cover it? No, that sounds more like you had no options on what to include – maybe in our case ‘grocery store avoidance is the mother of inspiration’!. Either way, I am glad you decided to give this a go and it turned out so well. It certainly sounds like something I want to eat!
    Just one question (and it may be totally embarrassing that I don’t know, but I’m going to ask anyway!) – what is a toff?!
    Thanks so much for joining the party at Fiesta Friday this week!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Anna
      Thank is so nice of you! Am so glad you like it! A toff looks like this http://www.ecookshop.co.uk/ecookshop/product.asp?pid=2001410 I did some research and this is apparently what it is called in English. It is just a clay pot that is completely sealed and keeps all the moisture within the meat or fish cooking in it.
      I love to cook from what I have and sometimes it works a treat like this time, other times can be more interesting! πŸ™‚
      Thanks for co hosting Fiesta Friday! πŸ™‚

  3. skd says:

    Very subtle yet amazing flavorsβ˜ΊπŸ‘

Leave a Reply

