Raw honey apple rose

Sometimes I wonder if I have some kind of a masochistic streak. I can’t seem to back down from a challenge. A friend of mine knows this and decided to get me to bake. She is so clever and knows that I would never go for something I wouldn’t eat. I don’t really have much of a sweet tooth and I almost always stay away from cakes to make room for cheese.

This time she sent me a challenge to make an apple rose. It was so pretty I just couldn’t resist! You can see the original here, and for a first attempt I think it was ok!

 

I read the recipe and it didn’t offer much detail of how to actually do it. I got ready made puff pastry. I had some left from Jus Rol who had asked me to try their pastry. They supplied the pastry for me to make something creative and share it and all opinions are my own.

 

The recipe said pull the dough so I did and it was a bit of a strange experience but it seemed to work! Did you know you can pull puff pastry and it will still puff? I think you might, to me it was a bit of a revelation!

 

I exchanged the apricot jam for raw honey, one of my latest favourite things. Raw honey seems to have a lot of amazing qualities, here is one article of many about the benefits.

 

05May_RawHoneyJar

 

I got this in my local deli, Isaura’s , a bit of a treasure trove when it comes to finding deli ingredients. This honey is amazing, it has a slight hint of citrus, it is soft and the colour is amazing.

 

05May_RawHoney

 

I thought the apple would be nice with the honey and I always prefer a natural sweetener.

 

Apple roses

preparation time 10 minutes (using pre made puff pastry)

cooking time 40-45 minutes

oven 200C or 390F

serves 5

Ingredients

  • pre made and rolled puff pastry
  • raw honey
  • 1 firm red apple
  • 1 whisked egg
  • cinnamon
  • cocoa powder for dusting

For my first attempt I cut the apple. I added apricot jam to the dough and dusted the apple with cinnamon and thought it looked quite ok.

It was ok until I tried to roll the apple roses together and realised that the apple slices were way too thick! I should have thought of that but it didn’t say anywhere!

 

21April_MishapAppleRose

 

I have to admit this brought out some unpleasant words about baking but after I calmed down I reached for the potato peeler and like magic I had no problems rolling the pastry at all!

 

05May_AppleRoll

 

21April_AppleRoseUnbaked

 

I baked them for about 45 minutes, perhaps a tad longer, until the pastry was crispy and made a “hollow”sound when I tapped it. The pastry puffed up nicely and I guess it sort of looks like a rose, not too shabby I think.

 

05May_AppleRozse2

 

I had a little cream left over that I used to go with it but ice cream or creme anglais would go just as well. The honey added a great sweetness with the slightly tart apple, in a crispy, baked, puff pastry. Now all I have to do is show the blog to my friend and see what she says as sadly she is in another country.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
15 Responses to “Raw honey apple rose”
  1. I saw that video and promised myself I would give it a go! Your roses look fab ๐Ÿ™‚ well done!

  2. This is very cool. You are a very patient baker. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • petra08 says:

      Thank you! The pre made pastry made it easy and I will make them again for sure! They would be perfect for a dinner party I think ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Very dainty-looking! Shall give this a try soon ๐Ÿ™‚

    • petra08 says:

      hi Geri
      It is so easy (once you make thin enough apple or fruit pieces) ๐Ÿ™‚ Let me know how it goes! I also think it would be nice with an apricot and toasted hazelnut glaze on top! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. coconutcraze says:

    Lovely apple roses! I have come across pastry apple roses but this is different! This resemble more like roses and with raw honey they would be amazing!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Sridevi
      I am so glad you like them ๐Ÿ™‚ The raw honey was nice but I will use more next time! Raw honey has a lovely flavour ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Corina says:

    So pretty and it actually sounds like they might be a little easier to make than they look – as long as the apple is thin enough! Well done for taking on the challenge

    • petra08 says:

      hi Corina
      They were easy to make I have to admit! The original recipe called for apricot jam and I am sure that would be delicious too! If you use honey I would make a glaze on top, perhaps honey and nuts or an apricot glaze. I did see another similar recipe using nectarines, the possibilities are endless! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. trishlee75 says:

    WOW! Gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

