Tian of crab with mango and wasabi salsa

I was on my way to a meeting today and walked past the fishmongers. A bunch of crabs caught my eye and the fishmonger informed me that crabs are particularly good at this time of the year!

I asked him to set one aside for me to pick up after my meeting, how perfect is that? I felt quite efficient and happy to pick up my crab on the way back.

 

I met someone who showed me a dish where he used crab and horseradish. I thought it sounded intriguing, I would never have thought of this combination and decided to give it a go, sort of. I like the combination of crab and mango and I had a mango that was just about ripe, a bit firmer and perfect to go with the crab.

 

Tian of crab with mango and wasabi salsa

preparation time 15 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

Mango and wasabi salsa

  • 1/4 large mango
  • 1 small bunch of chives
  • 1/2 tsp wasabi
  • 1 tsp ginger jam
  • juice of 1/2 lime
  • a pinch of sea salt

Cube the mango and chop the chives fine.

Mix the lime juice, the wasabi and the ginger jam. Last add a pinch of sea salt. Taste the dressing and set aside.

 

Ginger jam 05May_GingerJam

 

Add the dressing to the mango and chive mix just before dressing the crab.

 

Tian of crab

  • the white meat of 1 crab, about 2 dl or 1 cup
  • 2 tbsp creme fraiche
  • 1 crushed garlic clove
  • 1/2 shallot onion
  • 1 tsp crushed chilli
  • juice of 1/2 lime
  • 1/2 peeled tomato, seeds removed
  • 1 quails egg

Break up the white crab meat gently. Chop shallot onion fine.

 

05May_ShalottenOnion

 

Mix it with the shallot onion, creme fraiche, chilli, garlic and lime. Place the tomato in boiling water for a minute. Remove it, cut it in half and remove the skin and the seeds. Use the mould to cut out a round as a base. Keep the round mould and fill it with crab. Gently press it.

Mix the mango and chives with the wasabi dressing and place on top.

 

Boil quails eggs for exactly two minutes. It is always a good idea to boil a couple of extra as they break so easily, and they are so nice to just peel and eat. Cut the egg in half and place on top.

 

05May_CrabTian

 

 

Grate over some lime zest and serve.

I love the sweet flavour of crab with a hint of garlic and the heat of the chilli. The mango and wasabi worked really well with the crab, what a great combo.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
2 Responses to “Tian of crab with mango and wasabi salsa”
  1. Looks really lovely and beautifully presented.

Leave a Reply

