Chicken with tomato and goats cheese tart

Lately time has gone by very fast I feel as if I am behind on everything. The laundry if doing it’s best to become a small mountain, the house needs a deep clean and I feel like I might be in need of a girlie night out with a good few glasses of wine. In short I am feeling time challenged so I did what always works, I decided to make dinner. I find cooking so relaxing.

 

I was asked by Jus Rol to test their ready made pastry. After my olive and grape tart I am all in favour of using ready made puff pastry. I had some at home and decided to make another tart to go with my left over chicken. Ok, it is a little bit of cheating and it didn’t take me very long to make and it tasted great.

 

Tomato and goats cheese tart

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 40 minutes 

oven 200C or 400F

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1/3 roll of pre made puff pastry
  • about 5 tbsp hot tomato jam, or use what you prefer
  • 1 beaten egg
  • 10 slices of goats cheese
  • 10 slices mushrooms
  • 10 slices of tomato

Make a cut almost all the way through on the inside of the edge of the pastry rectangle. Brush the pastry edges with the beaten egg. Add the hot tomato jam before placing the slices of goats cheese, mushroom and tomato.

Place in the oven and bake for 40-45 minutes or until the pastry is cooked through.

 

04May_TomatoTartClose

 

04May_TomatoTart

 

Whilst the tart was cooking I made a slaw to go with the tart and the chicken.

 

Carrot slaw 

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 carrots, peeled
  • 1 clove of garlic, peeled
  • 2 tbsp creme fraiche
  • 1 tbsp thinly sliced leek
  • sliced and diced red pepper
  • a pinch of salt

Grate the carrot, crush the garlic and mix everything. Set aside until you are ready to eat.

 

I sliced the cold chicken and grilled some gem lettuce and served with a little vinaigrette, the slaw,the chicken and the tart. The garlic in the slaw came through and added a nice, fresh vegetable crunch.

 

04May_Tomato&Chicken

 

The pre made puff pastry was so easy to use and it was great with the hot jam and the mellow cheese. I will make it again and use pre made puff pastry more often!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
4 Responses to “Chicken with tomato and goats cheese tart”
  1. kunstkitchen says:

    A great recipe for quick and delicious results.

  2. Lovely tart!! I have a laundry mountain too, every day!!

Leave a Reply

