Crab stick cakes

The other day I was talking to the fishmonger. As we spoke I couldn’t stop looking at some crab sticks that he had. I actually like crab stick but I wasn’t sure if M would agree. I thought if I bought some and made something interesting with them he might not object. I haven’t eaten crab sticks for many years and all of the sudden they seemed irresistible and I had to buy some.

I decided to make “crab” cakes. I was pretty sure it would work with the sticks as well as with crab meat. I found a recipe from one of my favourite chefs, Edinburgh based Martin Wishart that I decided to use as a base.

 

Crab stick cakes 

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 8 minutes 

serves 2 as a starter or a light meal

Ingredients

  • 14 crab sticks
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup bread crumbs
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp fish sauce
  • 1 heaped tsp grated ginger
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1/2 de seeded red chilli, chopped fine
  • 1 spring onion
  • a pinch of salt
  • oil for cooking

Cut the crab sticks in 3 and flake the meat. Place in a bowl and add the rest of the ingredients except the oil. Add more breadcrumbs if the mixture is too loose.

Shape little crab cakes and cook them in a frying pan with hot oil, 4 minutes on each side.

 

08May_CrabCakesToCook

 

Don’t touch them until they have a nice crust or they will fall apart whilst cooking.

 

I did a nice salad to go with the crab cakes and I think they were delicious. I could easily have eaten the whole batch on my own for dinner with heaps of salad. Crab sticks are so cheap and what a great way to make something really nice from such a humble ingredients.

 

08May_CrabCakes2

 

08May_CrabCakes

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
3 Responses to “Crab stick cakes”
  1. Raymond says:

    Reblogged this on Encouraging Life and commented:
    Nice once I should try this.

  2. I dont really like the taste of crabsticks, but these crabcakes sure look good!!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Naina
      I like crab sticks but I know they have a special flavour. M doesn’t like them at all but happily ate these cakes! Saying that I bet they are lovely with white crab meat or perhaps raw prawns roughly chopped instead 🙂

Leave a Reply

