A chat with Lizzy the butcher and skirt steak with kholrabi slaw

This is a post for the true carnivore and anyone else who appreciates really good meat. When we moved out of London I was truly sad to leave Robson’s Butcher behind. They are so lovely and shopping with them I learnt a lot about cuts of meat I had never used before. Zack even took me to Smithfield market very early one morning. It was fascinating to see the streets of London so empty and Smithfield is an institution, so well worth a visit if you can! You can read about it here.

 

It took me a while to find a new butcher, I quickly found the fishmonger and a favourite veg shop but I had to wait for Lizzy to open up The Black Pig. I found her selling her produce in the market and quickly established that this is where you get the best bacon around. Once the shop had opened I knew this would be a favourite. The meat is all local and free range and you can really taste the quality.

 

The produce is seasonal, you can get hand made sausages flavoured with delicacies such as wild garlic, wild fennel and other herbs.

 

29May_BlackPig52

 

Lamb has grown up to mutton and after grazing on the salt marches it is packed with flavour.

 

29May_Mutton

 

Lizzy buys the whole pig, lamb and beef and the actual butchering is done in the shop.

 

29May_BlackPig59

 

The shop is full of quirky details and butchers tools.

 

29May_BlackPig3

 

29May_BlackPig57

 

I was curious how Lizzy became a butcher, Zack at Robson’s comes from a family of butchers and it was a natural step for him to take it on. Lizzy has a different background and started when the, then, local butcher closed and she decided to take the shop over together with her husband. The Black Pig has moved location since and is now well established, and much appreciated in Deal, Kent. I love this story and the fact that they went for it and built a successful business.

 

All this meat inspired the carnivore in me and when I saw a skirt steak being cut out I knew I wanted to eat some red meat. I don’t eat it too often but every now and then a steak has it’s pull on me.

 

Skirt steak is full of flavour and thin so it cooked very quickly, two minutes on each side is enough and you have the most amazing meat. Needless to say it is perfect on the bbq!

 

Prepared skirt steak for pan frying

29May_PreppeedSkirt

 

Let the steak rest for about five minutes before cutting.

29May_SkirtSteak

 

Cut it against the grain and you will have tender, juicy and delicious strips of beef.

29May_SlicedSteak

 

It was meant to be a quick meal but I couldn’t resist making some roasted potato wedges. I added cumin and I am not sure why I didn’t do that before, I loved the flavour.

 

29May_RoastWedges

 

I did a watermelon and feta cheese salad with chilli. I only added a pinch of seasalt and a twist of black pepper.

 

29May_Watermelon

 

I had a kholrabi that I wanted to use, I prefer it raw and decided to make a slaw.

 

 

Kholrabi slaw

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 kholrabi, peeled
  • 3 tbsp low fat natural yoghurt
  • 2 spring onions
  • 1 pinch of sumac
  • 1 tsp sesame seeds

Grate the kholrabi and slice the spring onions. Mix it with the yoghurt and sprinkle over the sumac and the sesame seeds.

 

29May_KholrabiSlaw

 

Steak is always a treat and skirt is one of my favourite cuts. It was nice and light with the watermelon salad and the slaw. The potato wedges were cooked with a minimum of oil in the oven. It wasn’t as quick as I had planned with the potato wedges but well worth the time.

 

I am bringing this Angie’s rocking foodie party, Fiesta Friday! If you have b=cooked something come and join us, co hosted this week by two very talented and inspirational bloggers Dini, Giramuks Kitchen and Mollie, The Frugal Hausfrau. 

FoodFiestaFriday

 

 

Comments
14 Responses to “A chat with Lizzy the butcher and skirt steak with kholrabi slaw”
  1. Angie says:

    I wanna move next door to you! Your meals always make me drool! Don’t worry I’ll bring the wines! I also grilled steaks and roasted potatoes last night, btw. I mean I roasted the potatoes and the husband grilled the steak. But I also tossed the salad! It was a pre-mix salad bag from the store. Dessert was Haagen Dazs 😃😃

    • petra08 says:

      That sounds like my kind of meal! I didn’t provide for any dessert at all! Haagen Dazs cookies & cream is one of my all time favourites! Yum!
      Being neighbours would be so great! Lovely meals, lovely wine and lots of fun! 🙂 xx

  2. wheelie38 says:

    My father was a butcher all his working life and even now in retirement is still my meat guru, this post is excellent. It is great that you support your local butcher, too often people go to supermarkets for meat and that can cause butcheries to close 😦 ! Top post 😀

    • petra08 says:

      Thank you Richard!
      I love my local butcher and there are so many cuts you won’t get from the supermarket!
      Being a butcher is a true skill and I agree, too many are closing down!

  3. Another wonderful dinner! I love skirt steak and we NEVER see it in our stores like that here – a butcher is the way to go! My mouth is watering! Happy Fiesta Friday!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Mollie
      Thank you!Skirt steak is one of my favourite cuts and always buy it when I find it. It is so thin it doesn’t take long to de frost! Am so glad you like it! Thank you for co hosting my fave foodie party!! 🙂 Happy FF!

  4. Petra this whole meal looks amazing! I love skirt steak for mann dishes, especially stir fries. A butcher has a very physical job. Good for Lizzy to take it on.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julie

      Am lad you like it! Skirt steak is so delicious! This skirt was very small but I could have eaten more! 🙂 Happy FF!

  5. It’s always good to have a fab butcher to talk to. I love the sound of this, great use for skirt steak and your watermelon and feta salad sounds amazing!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Caroline
      A good butcher is so important I agree! It makes shopping so much more fun as well doesn’t it? The watermelon salad is a favourite, I usually save it for BBQ but couldn’t resist making it with the steak 🙂

  6. tentimestea says:

    Skirt steak is difficult to find here. My dad once went on a quest to find skirt steak and mostly just got “did you mean flank steak?” When he did finally manage to order some, it came from a rather bloody butcher and ended up being a very curious 5 lb bag of odds and ends. So I’m very glad to hear you were able to source skirt steak from a reliable and wonderful butcher….I’ll have to send this post to him as he’ll be very jealous of how beautiful your steak is!

    • petra08 says:

      hello 🙂
      I agree skirt steak can be difficult to find, The Black pig gets the whole animal but you have to be there on time to get it! The 5lb bag did make me smile, before I also got the question re flank steak! I hope there was something good in there for your dad! I love to try new things and skirt steak very quickly made it’s way up there as one of my favourite cuts! 🙂

  7. petra08 says:

    hi Jack
    thank you for the feature and what a nice mix of steaks! The carnivore inside of me is drooling!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Finally for this week, if you are doubt about the kind of steak you want, what it’s called, and where it came from, perhaps find yourself a good butcher rather than buying your meat at the supermarket.  But, a word of warning, independent butchers can be patronising and over-friendly ~ so choose with care.  English girl Petra from Food Eat Love seems to have found herself a good butcher, and gives us a post called a chat with Lizzie the butcher and skirt steak with kholrabi slaw. […]



Leave a Reply

